Too Long a Silence: Marilyn Monroe’s History of Sexual Abuse

When I first learned that Marilyn Monroe expressed openly that she was sexually abused as a child, I was surprised because I had heard no mention of it until I was healing from my own abuse. At the same time I was not shocked because I knew of her drug and alcohol problems, emotional problems and her need for sexual attention.

Marilyn’s demeanor, voice, and many other characteristics emulated a sexualized little girl. Her screen persona was childlike and innocent, but she gained attention and affection through a sexual persona. This is the epitome of many sexualized and sexually abused children –gaining attention and affection from their abuser and applying that behavior to obtain favors, attention from others, and some form of ‘love.’ This pattern often follows them into adulthood.

Marilyn Monroe was one of the first, if not the very first, celebrity to speak openly about being sexually abused as a child. She came out with her experience in an era when abuse was simply not discussed. No one really took her seriously and she was even mocked about it. However, some people, who knew her, say that during the weeks before her death Marilyn was still speaking of the abuse.

Norma Jeane

Norma Jeane

It is alleged that among several advances by adult men, a particular male boarder, who lived with Marilyn when she was a child in a foster home, had severely abused her for a long period of time. It is said this man paid her to keep the secret. Several sources say that when Marilyn disclosed the sexual abuse to a female authority figure, she was ostracized, not believed, and punished by the woman (According to Roy Turner in Saturday’s Child, the woman was Norma Jeane’s mother.) 1 The woman allegedly told Norma Jeane (Marilyn Monroe’s birth name) that her perpetrator was a “good Christian” and that his rent money was very important. Sounds true enough to me. Many abuse survivors have reported that their mothers told them their perpetrator’s income was more important than they were and my own mother insinuated this.

According to Barbara Leaming’s book Marilyn Monroe, Norma Jeane was moved from different foster families because men kept trying to, or succeeded, in sexually molesting her. 2 Each time, Marilyn was the one removed and placed elsewhere, not the abuser. So a very strong message was given to Marilyn and it stayed with her throughout her life. The message was that she was the bad one.

Private sources told me that, as an adult, Marilyn was horribly ridiculed for speaking publicly about the sexual abuse, and that both the molestation and the rejection she received from those she confided in, hurt her deeply throughout her life. Many of Marilyn’s male biographers have tried to discredit her disclosures and presented them as attention seeking. I believe that this stems from men not wanting to see Marilyn Monroe as a victim of horrible sexual abuse. Most men only want to imagine Marilyn as a sexed up vivacious woman who was turned on with an innocent sex drive. Most men do not want to know that she was sexually abused as a child. Most men would rather keep their fantasies about her.

Saturday’s Child portrays Marilyn as a woman, who in private had little or no interest in sex. Roy Turner writes that Marilyn’s psychiatrist said she found little desire for sex or any happiness from it. It is alleged that Marilyn even made a reference to her abuser paying her to be silent and that, as an adult, men who attempted to buy her financially had made her sick.

The evidence suggests that Marilyn Monroe was indeed molested and severely sexually abused as a child, and probably by more than one man. In the 1950’s, public allegations of abuse would have ended a career not enhance it, so Marilyn speaking openly about child molestation points to truth, not that she was making it up to gain attention. Marilyn Monroe did not need to make any extra effort in order to gain attention from anyone.

Skeptics have asked me why Marilyn did not disclose the abuse until much later in life. It is not unusual for a person who was abused to not tell people, or to only do so later in life. If the accounts are true, when Marilyn did try to tell someone as a child, she was told to stop telling lies. This alone would cause someone to not tell their secret again (if at all) until they become an adult. When the child’s mother is going to blame the victim, tell them they are a bad girl for speaking about such things, and smack them for it, then why on earth would the child or the adult survivor want to tell anyone else?

Disbelievers also ignorantly asked me, “Wouldn’t she have wanted to gain sympathy much sooner?” Most victims and survivors of child sexual abuse do not share their pain in order to gain sympathy. On the contrary, most are so full of fear, shame, and guilt about the abuse that they feel friends and loved ones will look down upon them or that they won’t be believed.

Marilyn Monroe’s child abuse experience may very well have been a key issue in her drug and alcohol addictions and possibly what caused her to commit suicide. According to Leaming’s book, Marilyn Monroe suffered many of the common symptoms of child sexual abuse. She had insomnia, insecurity, and an inability to trust. Marilyn was excessively weepy, people felt they had to walk on eggshells around her, and she had fits of rage. Some described her anger as “violent mood swings.” She suffered from depression, was very negative, and was such a perfectionist that it was psychologically debilitating for her. It was so excessive that when she could not get something right, Leaming says a “sense of desperation pervaded the room.” 3

Barbara Leaming’s book included research that was based on new interviews, thousands of primary documents (including letters from those close to Marilyn), and notes from Marilyn’s psychiatrist. According to Leaming’s book, Marilyn’s mother accused her of being a slut. At times Marilyn may have set out to subconsciously prove her mother’s claim. She was known for wearing paper thin, tight, low-cut dresses that provoked laughter from peers and caused journalists to write derogatory remarks about her. Women who have been sexually abused as children often dress provocatively.

I have often thought of the paradox that Marilyn Monroe has been labeled America’s sex symbol and remains so. Men’s fantasies have been of the sexualized and child-like manner in which she presented herself to the world. Those very fantasies may be based on a persona that was rooted in being sexually violated as a child.

Marilyn Monroe died on August 5th 1962. Her death was officially ruled as a suicide, although there are many fans who feel people with power and authority murdered her. I believe she was murdered, but I believe Marilyn was murdered by having her innocence stolen by men, who many years earlier, had decided that their sexual degeneracy was more important than the innocence of a child. Even if men in power did have Marilyn killed, it doesn’t really matter because, if she was sexually abused, she figuratively died somewhere in her childhood anyway.

May you rest in peace Marilyn.

 

 

 

 

 

___________________________________________________________

1. Saturday’s Child, Roy Turner

2.  Marilyn Monroe by Barbara Leaming, Three Rivers Press; Reprint edition (February 29, 2000)

3.  Marilyn Monroe by Barbara Leaming, Page 33

This entry was posted in child sexual abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Too Long a Silence: Marilyn Monroe’s History of Sexual Abuse

  1. ankita says:

    R.I.P Norma Jean. She was such a lovely woman outside and inside. How horrible people can be? They just ignored it as if it was the best thing to do rather than helping her.

  2. Emily says:

    Wow- that’s awful. I totally agree with pretty much everything you’ve said here – what a brave woman though – what she did took courage, and I’m sure it wasn’t easy, but safe to say it has made a huge difference in the lives of so many, although perhaps at too high a price.

  3. Mara says:

    MM had not only childhood trauma from the very beg. The only parents she knew cut her off with we are NOT your mother and father, her grandmother tried to murder her, her mother could not love her, broke her heart instead of helping her when men raped her. Those who said loved her always left her and would occasionally visit and then dump her all thru her childhood.
    She dreamed becoming a star as a way to be free. She had to endure the casting couches of men in power and their mean and demeaning actions in public. When short of funds, any job would require her to sexually satisfy her boss, since she was alone, no family to protect her (remember the 50′s). To get some cash she posed nude and tried to insure her safety by having the wife of the photographer present. She might have been a slave of Hollywood, but she fought to be free and this means made enemies, thus the negative stories, she was not perfect and had some negative effects on people but she also was extremely kind to all who suffered, and was known to begger herself to help them, remember she was not highly paid thought she was the golden goose. She did not see color or religion as a reason not to be a friend. Her friends spoke very highly of her. She kept her indigent mother in the best health care system of the time. She knew she needed help and sought it in her health, mental and emotional needs and work. She took the medications that Hollywoods bosses paid doctors to prescribe, and control her. Though she became addicted it was not by intention but need, since she could not sleep. She had physical problems which were atrouciosly painful every month and yet she tried to have children. There is no medical proof of abortions and yet many were billed to her, has anyone thoght it thru she probably helped women in need…She was open to sex as a means of reaching for human comfort and tried 3 times to give and receive care, love and hope for hapiness but was far too needy and emotionally stunted to have a lasting relationship. Though the men she married were themselves not very mature. She tried to have father figures in all of them and was looking for a man of power to protect her. Very true of her times. Again remember the 50 and 60 mean a single woman was meat. Hollywood heaped scandal on her and than gave her all the work back, since again, she was their golden goose. Difficult to work with but all wanted to endure it since she gave them the best she could and made money for them.
    Yes she was raped physically, mentally and emotionally all her life. Yes she spoke out about her childhood rapes and tried to get help others. Yes she spoke against racial hate. Yes she spoke against Nuclear testing. Yes she fought for indipendence and at the end lost Not bad for a child with no family or name, she achieved a type of immortality.

    • Alethea says:

      In my view, based on this comment, and my own research, MM was a beautiful human being (inside)…with one exception. I have NO IDEA if she paid for abortions or not. There is no proof of that. But the fact that you listed it as a good thing, I want to say that killing one’s own child is NEVER a good thing. If a woman is raped, it may be considered a cleansing for her and the soul of the child, but most abortions are not the result of rape, and the soul of the child feels the mother’s resentment and feels the negative energy of the people trying to kill it. This is a sad sad thing.

      Alethea

    • Andre' says:

      Maybe immortal but not on her terms and she is very much dead. She wasnt happy, and she was used and abused. Maybe she thought she was being loved, briefly while being used. She was a very talented, could act and could sing unlike the talentless actors of today. I will always despise Hollywood and the business in general what they did to MM, and do to many other women and men; sexual predation on the weak and broken. They will never get another dime from me.

  4. Mane says:

    It was really sad to read the article and the comments. I want all of you who went through that to find something that would bring you the colours of life and make you feel normal. I want to ask the author about the child of MM. I’ve read that she herself had a baby, but her handlers took it away from her just after after baby was born and she was even afraid to ask them what they were going to do with the baby, because she was too afraid to hear the truth…Maybe you know something about that???????????

  5. Mane says:

    I hope she’s found the peace now…

  6. Phoebe says:

    As a survivor of abuse and attempted assault as well, I searched for help and healing for years, while hiding from what happened to me. God finally brought me to a place where I could begin to get the help I was looking for. There’s a book called “Rid of My Disgrace: Hope and healing for victims of sexual assault” by Justin and Lindsey Holcomb. The book is not just written about assault, it’s written TO victims of assault and sexual abuse from a couple who have a great deal of experience ministering to victims. A lot of victims feel guilt and shame, as though somehow they’re to blame and they’re disgraced, and this is what that book speaks to. It helped me immensely.

  7. Anonymous says:

    It sickens me how people ridiculed Marilyn because of her sexuality. Marilyn was a very beautiful and a stunning young woman. I have watched two of her movies so far; Seven Year Itch and Monkey Business. I feel Marilyn’s characters was not appropriate because they portrayed her as a blonde with limited intelligence, but only worthy of a sex object for men. I found further readings stating Marilyn Monroe was not a dumb individual. She can read and write and was capable of making decisions on her own.

    As for her death, I believe she was murdered to forever silence her. I have watched different videos and read more than enough articles suggesting that her untimely death was not “probable suicide.” She was starting to get back her life together and considered remarrying Joe DiMaggio again. So why would she kill herself?????

    • Andre' says:

      That is Hollywood, they turn the most beautiful broken women from broken homes, usually from sexual abuse, into shiksas. That is the ONLY reason why Hollywood exists – to sexually predate on weak broken individuals. She had tried telling ANYONE about her sexual abuse, but nobody wanted to listen, they just kept feeding her mental pills to keep her maintained in sex slave status.
      Of course she was murdered, the cops, the coroners, and whatever other mob element was involved to cover it up, because she started speaking up and out. This includes the Kennedys, Sinatra, and other scum.
      This also goes for women like Scarlett Johansson; gracious, very smart and very talented, but she is only hired for her beauty and sex appeal alone, for the stupidest parts. Hollywood will never knowingly get another dime from me. I despise them all.

  8. Angie Ford says:

    I was also sexually molested from three to seventeen by my first stepfather,he killed himself when i was 17.Reading this article about Marylyn`s personality i found similarities with mine although i have never wanted to kill myself.I feel so horrible about the abuse i feel equally horrible when i hear of other`s who have suffered.This article brought tears and reminder`s flooding in. I too,wish there was some way to stop it. Angie.

  9. Tom says:

    Hi there, I was very moved by your writing and even though the topic is truly sad and scaring. There is a sense of strength throughout the words. Marilyn was a victim, but she had some muscle of strength to carry on as long as she did, and even though that time was short, she did find moments of believing in herself, as I believe we all should. Thank you for sharing your message, it gives hope to those who are weak, but know they have that power deep down inside.

  10. Andre' says:

    Hollywood isnt about making movies for our entertainment, it is about the sexual predation of the innocent, weak and broken. They specifically recruit from broken homes knowing that they will be easy prey for exploitation. Hollywood will never knowingly get another cent from me.

  11. Hosanna says:

    youre talented writer. Thank you for bringing l light to where some might try to deminish it. I lost a sister to molestation through suicide and believe youre right about marilyn . Its so sad and awful. May they finally be at peace. <3

    • Alethea says:

      Hosanna, I am so very sorry about your sister. Countless people kill themselves due to child sexual abuse. It makes me angry whenever I hear of another person succumbing to the pain and suffering. It angers me because of the uselessness of it all. The abusers have no understanding of what it does to the child. At one time, I contemplated suicide. I was pretty desperate, so I can understand how and why people feel that way.

      So sad. It makes me want to stop it. Don’t know how.

    • nancykern says:

      I also lost a sister to suicide because of sexual abuse in the family and rape by a stranger in a foreign country. She is at peace now but I’m here doing recovery. How many times I’ve wished she was here with me, and we could share recovering together…..she was my ally.

      • Alethea says:

        Hi Nancy. My heart goes out to you for the tragic loss of your sister. So many lives have been taken by sexual abusers. I don’t think society in general has any clue how much pain there is out there, and how many people have committed suicide because of the after-effects of child sexual abuse and rape.

  12. Anonymous says:

    What peeps have a difficult time understanding is that MM was not a sexual being. She was an innocent child locked deep inside a traumatized woman.

    • Anonymous says:

      I strongly believe that up and coming actressess and actors suffered severe….child abuse…in order to make it big! I believe…this is why ALL the money in the world…would NEVER…make a difference! I too…..have suffered from sexual childhood abuse! But I dont care….as I drink….and too.. do other things…and yes I am…..permisscouis! These people succeed…and then die! Are you kidding me? THIS NEEDS TO BE EXPOSSED! SO SAD….IT IS 2012….SADDLE UP…LETS TALK ABOUT THIS….AND NOT LET 1 MORE PERSON DIE…FAMOUS OR NOT!!! GET A GRIP! WHAT-THE-FUCK! CANT STAND IT!

      • Alethea says:

        Anonymous,

        I love your passion. Thanks for a driven comment. Have you read Cathy O’Brien’s books?

  13. kittycatgurl says:

    My heart really goes out to her. I just started researching her today! And its amazing and heartbreaking what I have been finding on her. I was also abused,and my mom was very severely abused
    in all ways possible as a child,and then by my father(her ex husband) so I really didn’t tell her and she didn’t see the signs.Because I never she was never very attentive,caring,or protective. She proved that to me so many times before. I
    really relate with MM about going to different foster homes and more and more guys coming on to her. Its seems no matter where I went,no matter how old I was I always,always had some creep of
    any age coming after me and yes I wasn’t touched by all of them,it is still very traumatizing to be so afraid of it happening again.

    I wish I could say that after what happened to me when I was 4-6 never happened again and that I was able to protect myself but I wasn’t. It happened again at age 14 because one of my best friends who was also touched once thought if she got me hurt that I’d join her as a prostitute. So I have to say there is really two sides to every coin. Some abused people move on like me,some also become abusers/victimizes like my ex friend,and apparently 2/3 of men who are abused. I also know it is not just men who hurt women,boys who have witnessed women get hurt do it,so do teens,and other women. I know this from experience.

    Anyways I am researching MM as stated before. And sometimes I admit I get sort of get PTSD when I see her and her behavior because it reminds me of the girl who betrayed me. This is part of the reason why I feel I have to research her so that I can let my mind know that this is not the chase. No I am not insulting MM at all. In fact so far I’d say I can really relate with her in some ways. Especially when I herd that she actually didn’t have much desire for sex,or satisfaction. Yes that is me.

    I am not sure how much our sexual abuse/rape/molest varies as opposed to others countries but I do know it needs to stop. I probably have a somewhat unhealthy hate for unfit parents and abusers. I also found it interested about what was said about some political members being involved in such acts. Because I have always thought that there were creeps who are higher in power. Otherwise why is the world the way it is?

    • Andre' says:

      to kittycatgurl – its hard following thread now but, the first and only book or even movie that revealed MM’s childhood abuse was “Goddess” which is a very good book on the behind the scenes machinations of Hollywood and political intrigue. A more genuine look at MM’s childhood. She lived in an orphanage right near the Hollywood studios, which makes me wonder how much was she profiled and targeted very early on. Very much like The Finders group, which actively seeks out children for abduction and kidnaps them for whatever nefarious means. To me , prostitution and childhood rape has been fully integrated into American and world society, and people barely bat an eye.

    • Alethea says:

      “I also found it interested about what was said about some political members being involved in such acts. Because I have always thought that there were creeps who are higher in power. Otherwise why is the world the way it is?”

      you are a smart girl Kitty Cat.

  14. kittycatgurl says:

    My heart really goes out to her. I just started researching her today! And its amazing and heartbreaking what I have been finding on her. I was also abused,and my mom was very severely abused
    in all ways possible as a child,and then by my father(her ex husband) so I really didn’t tell her and she didn’t see the signs.Because I never she was never very attentive,caring,or protective. She proved that to me so many times before. I
    really relate with MM about going to different foster homes and more and more guys coming on to her. Its seems no matter where I went,no matter how old I was I always,always had some creep of
    any age coming after me and yes I wasn’t touched by all of them,it is still very traumatizing to be so afraid of it happening again. I wish
    I could say that after what happened to me when I was 4-6 never happened again and that I was able to protect myself but I wasn’t. It happened again at age 14 because one of my best friends who was also touched once thought if she got me hurt that I’d join her
    as a prostitute. So I have to say there is really two sides to every coin. Some abused people move on like me,some also become
    abusers/victimizes like my ex friend,and apparently 2/3 of men who are abused. I also know it is not just men who hurt women,boys who have witnessed women get hurt do it,so do teens,and other women. I know this from experience. Anyways I am researching MM as stated before. And sometimes I admit I get sort of get PTSD when I see her and her behavior because it reminds me of the girl who betrayed me. This is part of the reason why I feel I have to research her so that I can let my mind know that this is not the chase. No I am not insulting MM at all. In fact so far I’d say I can really relate with her in some ways. Especially when I herd that she
    actually didn’t have much desire for sex,or satisfaction. Yes that is me.

    • Alethea says:

      Hi there. Kitty cat girl.

      I felt the same way when I read about Marilyn. I saw myself in her in many ways. Especially her thinking that her self-worth was based in attention from men.

      It’s true, she did not have much interest in sex. How ironic is that? The biggest sex symbol in history, had little desire for sex.

  15. Alethea says:

    Razelle,

    Firstly: There is a vast difference between hypnosis and hypnoanalysis. The ex-CIA agent who saved Cathy O’Brien and her daughter, has used hypnoanalysis. The latter is an extremely well-tested and reliable form of trauma therapy.

    Cathy O’brien has documentation in her book. In addition, she is being supported by the very man who rescued her from the child sexual abusing ring. She has taken her evidence to congress and gone extremely public, without any lawsuits being filed against her.

    If someone who looked like a child sexual abuser had been accused by Cathy O’Brien, society would support her. But because it is people like Reagan, Bush, Cheney, Clinton, and others, people say: “oh, now wait a minute, she could have false memories. Someone could be implanting this into her mind or distorting her memory. She can’t be trusted.”

    “Kathy seems to have had sex with everyone including Hilary Clinton!”

    Had sex with????? Um, do you mean sexually abused by Clinton? Do you think that because Hillary Clinton is a woman, she is not capable of child sexual abuse, or being turned on by little girl’s?

    “If I was being accused of something as terrible as these people were accused of and I knew was a lie, I would sue the person.”

    Well, there you go.

    • Razelle says:

      thanks Alethea, I stand corrected. I have no problem with the idea of female abusers as they do exist. I was just having trouble with the extent of the pedophile ring. At least Carter was not one of them.

      • Alethea says:

        Thank you Razelle. I appreciate your ability to recognize truth.

        The problem is that there are child sexual abusing Satanists running much of our county.

        The entire thing is protected because it is too monstrous to be believed.

        If you ever feel up to it, look into Bohemian Grove, a Satanic ritual that the Bush family and other presidents, and big names in Govt., attend every year in the woods of Washington State. They liken it to a “frat party” but if you ever see footage of it, you would be very aware that it is not a frat party, but some kind of Satanic ritual sacrifice. It’s very frightening.

  16. mel says:

    It amazes me that people are so quick to stigmatize survivors the label, “borderline personality disorder.” Borderlines deliberately hurt others, and lack the ability to empathize with others. That is NOT Marilyn Monroe. Marilyn was groomed to be a victim, and the public added to that victimization by ridiculing her openess about her sexual abuse… Neither Norman Jean nor Marilyn would have a hurt a fly! Don’t be so quick to jump on the Borderline Personality Disorder bandwagon until you actually know what you’re talking about. Further, PTSD (post-traumatic-stress disorder) from which she no-doubt suffered, is often confused with BPD to those who know little, if anything, about a BPD diagnosis.

    • Alethea says:

      Mel Thank you. I agree.

    • Razelle says:

      Hello Mel

      Your comments raise an important issue related to the stigmatizing of sexual abuse victims and I agree that the diagnostic label of Borderline PD (BPD) contributes to this. Yes, MM was suffering from PTSD but I also think it affected her personality development. Actually, I don’t like the BPD term as it fails to identify the person’s suffering which is more to do with chronic feelings of emptiness and an inability to control their moods and form relationships.

      I have known many people with BPD and only one deliberately hurt other people but all had been sexually abused as children.

  17. Razele Warren says:

    Hi Andre

    Thanks for your reply. The double life is a feature of child sexual abuse victims in that as adults they do not trust their own bodies but also unable to protect themselves. The person you speak of is probably trying to control her abuse through acting out. I also had such a life but it was not until I challenged my abuse was I able to live a normal life.

  18. Razele Warren says:

    I am interested in commenting on Marilyn Monroe’s child sexual abuse. This would be closely linked to her behaviour but I think the mother is the key factor. The mother’s betrayal of her and refusal to protect her would have given clear messages that she was to blame and that she was no good. There was no-one to protect her – she must have felt like a worthless piece of meat, at the mercy of abusers and that she had to have sex with them – how terrifying. In line with the behaviour of child victims of sexual assault, she would have needed to control men’s sexual urges and the only way to do this was to be sexy and attract them so she could control them. This seems to have happened a great deal in Marilyn’s case. She would have been the driven to have sex, even if she did not particularly want it. There is evidence of this.

    Her mother’s abuse led to a severe form of abandonment which she could not deal with. This represents the second form of abuse in her life and this happened when she was a child and it was probably more crushing than the molesters. It makes sense that her personality was affected by the abuse and that she developed a Borderline Personality Disorder which has features of marked mood disruptions and psychotic states- they are often diagnosed as schizophrenic and manic depressives. They are typically impulsive, angry with turbulent mood swings that push others away. This has been a feature of her life. She described her feelings as being empty inside (typical of abuse victims) and this was accompanied by violent outbursts.

    She was beautiful for sure, but this beauty only made it easy for her to act out her needs. It seems that any person subjected to child sexual abuse over a long period, is likely to develop manipulative skills to help deal with abusers and her terrifying world. It is no wonder that Marilyn was manipulative with her sexy child-like appeal that attracted just about every man she came into contact with. The threat of aging would have been terrifying for her – her beauty was her only weapon – without it she was defenceless. She committed suicide at an age when her looks would have begun to fade.

    I am just beginning to understand Marilyn and the way her abusive early life affected her and I feel a great empathy for her.

    • Alethea says:

      Hi Razele,

      “Her mother’s abuse led to a severe form of abandonment which she could not deal with. This represents the second form of abuse in her life and this happened when she was a child and it was probably more crushing than the molesters.”

      People who are pretty in tune understand this fact. You are right, it probably was more crushing to her. I speak from experience.

      Thanks for posting.

      • Razele Warren says:

        Thanks for your reply Alethea.
        Not being believed is catastrophic for victims and when this is combined with a failure to protect the child, it leads to severe trauma that could be worse than the sexual abuse. My own sexual abuse by my father was scary but when my mother told me to stay away from him making it clear that she would not support me, I was terrified and quite unable to deal with what was happening to me. My mother made it clear that I was the guilty one and I believe this created more psychological damage – she abandoned me. At the age of 63 I am still coming to terms with it but I am a long way from when I was a teenager with low self-esteem. But I do know that I was not to blame.

      • Andre' says:

        Ladies, as a man, I need advice on how to treat women who have been “abused”. I dont really like the word because I think it down plays the criminality and depravity of it.
        ANY advice would be greatly appreciated.
        Andre’

        • Razele Warren says:

          Hi Andrea

          I prefer the term survivor to victim as this implies the abuser did not win in totally controlling them. It also implies that the survivor just might destroy them for example through the court. It further implies that the family they tried to control may just see through their falseness.

          I realised a long time ago that the family is difficult to deal with, as many members want to protect their fantasy family. I came to realise that I did not have a family even though I was one of five siblings. I found this liberating.

        • Alethea says:

          Treat her with dignity, respect, and as you would want to be treated.

          Don’t cross boundaries, do not make her feel like she is being abused all over again. What I mean is: Don’t push her, pressure her, or try to force her against her own will. And I mean with ANY small thing. Even trying to talk a person who has been abused into buying a certain brand of cereal when they like another brand. This seemingly harmless thing can cause a previously abused person’s subconscious to feel like they are being forced (and thus, abused).

          Using the golden rule with all human beings, regardless of abuse or not, is always the best route.

    • Andre' says:

      Razele, I agree with %100 and our conclusion are the same, Ive been researching abuse for close to 30 years, I know someone just like her, everyone thinks she is a celebrity but leads a double life and cant seem to break the “spell”. I appreciate your sensitive observations. Nobody listed to MM.

      • Alethea says:

        “Nobody listed to MM.”

        That’s right, on the contrary, they laughed at her, and told her she was trying to gain attention.

        • Razele says:

          Hi Anthea
          I don’t think people can deal with such openness about sexual abuse. Not now, not in MM’s time. We have to remember that psychiatrists at that time, believed Freud’s ideas that the child was fantasising. It has taken many years to tear down this the ultimate lie against the child. But I forgive Freud as he was a child sexual abuse victim himself.

          MM suffered on every level and strangely she seems to have been a champion for those abused. By having the guts to speak up, she probably helped others realise that even someone as beautiful as her could have suffered a similar fate.Ultimately, thought, she was not strong enough to succeed and was crushed by the weight of it all.

  19. Eve says:

    I believe that MM had a lot of psychological and mental problems which were not only bacause of the sexual abuse she suffered as a child. She was severely manic depressive, opsessive, and manipulative. It is well known that she had periods when she liked to pretend to be a victim in order to cause sympathy, but at the same time she slept with every married man who would come near her, even if it was her best friend’s husband. Ok, a lot of people have a sad story and have been abused (myself too), but not all of them are so cunning, manipulative, dishonest and deceitful.

    • Alethea says:

      Dear Eve,

      MM’s manic depression (now known as Bipolar Disorder), obsessiveness, and any other mental health issues, including being “manipulative,” ARE BECAUSE of the child sexual abuse, not separate from it.

      I don’t know what you mean by MM “pretended to be a victim” in order to “create sympathy” for herself, but people who were once victims often keep that persona, but not due to their own fault. It is a part of them that was *put on them as a child* and they might behave like a victim because that is all they know.

      And sleeping with married men is very much indicative of someone who, as a child, was abused and used by older men, married men, men in general….and indicative of a child who had no loving father figure, and indicative of a woman who is completely insecure and has no self worth. Low self-worth are BECAUSE she was sexually abused. The bottom line is that the ROOT cause of all of her issues, weaknesses, mental health problems, etc etc, are due to the child sexual abuse.

      You are labeling her as “cunning, manipulative, dishonest and deceitful” but you are merely placing judgments on her for problems that stemmed from her own personal experience with having been abused, how it shaped her personality, and how she dealt with the world.

      You can’t say that just because you were abused and don’t think you manipulate or deceive,, or are not dishonest, that she is any less of a person than yourself –or that she had a different choice. For all you know, the abuse that happened to you has caused you to be a person who is difficult to get along with, or very judgmental, or jealous, or overly distrustful, or someone who gets on people’s nerves in some way. Who knows? But NO ONE is perfect that’s for sure, so whatever personality or behavior problems you have, might very well be from your own abuse as a child.

      In addition, everyone is abused to a different degree, or by more than one abuser, or, in addition to the sexual abuse, they also did not have any loving parents at all. Everyone has a different experience in life, you can’t judge her for her problems; she could not help herself. She was driven from her inner problems.

      • Eve says:

        I understand all that but we are all driven by our inner problems, but have some selfcontrol. She must have been aware of how she was deliberately hurting other people (close to her) and she did so many things in a very calculated way. Sorry, but i can’t justify her.

  20. The Diva says:

    I thought this was a good article. And you very right. She died ,as so many children and teens do along the way,being sexually abused and bullied.
    She was quite smart though. The woman ever to own her own production company in Hollywood. That is quite impressive. She also wasn’t the sexual revolution but certainly epitomied it. So very feminine and being so very strong. She pushed the envelope of “Order” for this,she died questionably. The same people who assasinated everyone else did this to her. She died in fear and that is so very sad. She brought smiles to almost everyone she met. The revolution did not stop and she will always be immortally beautiful. RIP

    • ann says:

      Sexual revolution isn’t about the woman becoming an object as she portayed herself, it’s about becoming independent from the desparate need for male attention, and to be happy with your own sexuality. She was far from being an emancipated woman, but it was hardly to be expected back then when women had no idea what it meant. I think she generally had a deep inferiority complex for being a woman so she thought she shoul use sex as a power weapon (as she once said to her friend Brando). I don’t think all the things she did come from her childhood abuse because she didn;t remain 12 years old, she has matured and used her sex image very cunningly for self interest, so ok she was a victim as a child, but later in life she refused to accept responsibility for anything she did, she was very self centered, arrogant, and not a helpless vistim like people like to think of her. As for her telling other people about being abused it also depends how she told them. I met a girl who told me a story that she was abused after seeing me twice in her life and then began to blackmail me that i should do everythig she asks from me or she will create serious problems in my life. Later i heard she was bipolar and psychotic and she did the same thing to other people. she accused one guy that he tried to rape her, and everyone present said that she was the one trying to seduce him and he rejected nad her revenge was to say he wanted to do smt to her. So, don’t believe everything you read.

      • Alethea says:

        Ann, these comments are based in nothingness. You have no basis for any of this, and you are using an experience with someone in your life to disregard MM’s persona and history, and using it to practically call her a liar when she found the courage to speak about her childhood.

        MM is a brave and strong person with a lot of problems –problems that have a link to child sexual abuse.

  21. Andre' says:

    I know too many women personally and a few boys too, who have been raped growing up as children. This completely and totally unacceptable to me, and I want to know, where are all the adults ? I think America is mentally ill in so many regards. Broken homes make for broken children to be harvested by those whose intentions are far less than honorable. No wonder I see so many angry women. Apparently MM was trying to tell people and they wouldnt listen. I dont get it. I wouldve listened, as a matter of fact, if I think you were abused as child, I as a man cannot “move” on the woman. Its as if my intuitive body knows of the assault. And yes, a woman as of recent late, who I suspected of being sexually abused; I had finally gotten proof. It was something she couldnt talk about. I also suspected her of being a prostitute. As she was also accused of being, by the courts, without saying much more. If you wanna email me, Ill tell you who under the strictest of confidence.

    • Alethea says:

      “… and I want to know, where are all the adults?”

      Looking the other way, covering their ears, and in denial.

      “I think America is mentally ill in so many regards.”

      You got that right!

      “Apparently MM was trying to tell people and they wouldnt listen.”

      That’s right, because no one wants to hear about, know about, or talk about child sexual abuse. They would rather talk about their day or the superbowl, or the latest on their favorite TV show. They ESPECIALLY did not want to know or hear about it in the 1950′s.

      Some people are very intuitive about who has been sexually abused as a child. Usually abuse survivors are very intuitive about that. You sound like a sensitive guy.

      There are quite a few actresses who I feel were sexually abused as children but who don’t discuss it with anyone, or have repressed it. I won’t say who, except for Farrah Fawcett, because she is now departed from this earth. I think her cancer was decades of repressed pain from childhood sexual abuse by someone. That’s just my opinion.

    • Tami says:

      I completely loathe parents and caretakers who do not listen and/or believe a child when they come to them stating that they have been or are being abused … or when they damm well know it is the truth and turn the other way … it is pathetic. Healing begins when someone is there to comfort, care, nuture and protect the child from further abuse. Child sexual abuse is completely unacceptable in any way, shape or form. The perps get away with it more often than not. My heart goes out to them and my heart goes out to MM for all that she endured. God Bless you Norma Jeane and Marilyn and all those who have suffered abuse.

  22. Andre' says:

    This goes for the modeling/acting professions too, where the girls give a “little on the side” as was stated in “Goddess” that all the models did prostitution. Somebody gets to these children and breaks that bond of trust between adult and child. I am thoroughly disgusted with Hollywood and Park Ave. These producers and directors dont make movies for our entertainment, they do it so they have an endless line of broken young women to exploit. I hate their guts.

    • Alethea says:

      “These producers and directors dont make movies for our entertainment, they do it so they have an endless line of broken young women to exploit.”

      So very true.

      “I hate their guts.”

      It sounds like you have had personal experience in this, in some way.

      • Tami says:

        … broken young women and children. Did you ever wonder why some stars are out there adopting children from other countries? Some adopting several from other countries? Did it ever occur to you that there is major underground child sexual slavery going on and that Hollywood may be a huge part of it? I am not saying that all stars who adopt from other countries are a part of this, but after reading “Tranz-Formation of America” by Cathy O’Brien, it really made me think about this. My stomach and mind were twisted for weeks after reading her story. It will make you think and start noticing things that you would have NEVER noticed before. In any case, it was disturbing. I do not like what is going on in our country in regard to sexual abuse or abuse of any kind … Thanks Marilyn, for letting us know the truth. To hell with other’s who are to ignorant or arrogant to believe.

        • Alethea says:

          Tami, good for you that you read Cathy O’Brien’s book. Have you read the one about one of Bob Hope’s alleged victims? “Thanks for the Memories” by Brice Taylor?

          I get sick when I see Bob Hope’s name being honored. Check out Myley Cyrus’s photo with daddy:

          http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/features/2008/06/miley200806

          • Razelle says:

            Hi Alethea

            I was horrified when I looked at the picture of Myley and her dad. This picture is highly suggestive that sex between a parent and daughter is ok. His arm is on her hip while his arms seem to claim her. He looks like her lover. I wonder what she thinks?

            We should be appalled and say it out loud. Silence is too easily mistaken for a blessing.

            I have not read anything about Bob Hope but will look into it.

            In Australia, we had a long running TV sitcom ‘Hey Dad’. Long after the show finished, the child star has accused the adult male star (Dad) of sexually molesting her throughout the show. It made me feel sick as the producers were informed but refused to do anything – leaving the child to defend herself. I’m glad she has now found a voice to accuse him of his crime.

          • Razelle says:

            I’ve just read some online articles by Brice Taylor. She describes a CIA group that exploits children. I does seem far fetched when she describes George Bush senior, Ronald Reagan, Henry Kissinger as well as Bob Hope being involved in the group. It is almost impossible to verify. However, since these men were closely involved in American politics at the time she claims the incidents happened, she provides some legitimacy to her claims.

            It is always difficult to accept about so many ‘good guys’. She claims she slept with them to get access to information.

            I would put nothing past pedophiles to use a child in this way. Especially if they had her in a mind control which she claims.

            • Alethea says:

              Razelle,

              I understand that your denial system wants to reject this kind of information, but this is their best form of protection –No one can believe that such men would sexually abuse a child, much less be involved in a huge pedophile ring. But Cathy O’Brien, who was rescued by a CIA agent who knows mind control and helped to de-program her, has accused George Bush Senior, Senator Byrd, Reagan, Hillary Clinton, Dick Cheney, and many others. She has supplied some pretty convincing proof in her book. She took her claims to the United States Congress and was told they could not investigate, “due to reasons of national security.”

              In addition, not one of the people Cathy O’Brien has accused, has EVER filed a lawsuit against her. That speaks volumes. If you were wrongly accused of such heinous crimes, would you just be silent about it?

              I don’t know about Brice Taylor and any lawsuit, but my guess is that no one has tried to sue her either.

              Some of the reviews at Amazon might be helpful to you. And seeing Cathy O’Brien speeches helps too.

              http://www.google.com/#q=cathy+o%27brien&hl=en&newwindow=1&prmd=ivnsob&source=univ&tbs=vid:1&tbo=u&sa=X&ei=oXmUTfSACNC4tgeX3fiSDA&ved=0CEgQqwQ&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&fp=aa4f836cd174769e

              • Razele says:

                I don’t know about denial but I do know that many people who have had their memories restored also have those memories tampered with to include false memories by the therapist suggesting missing parts. This is why hypnosis is not used to suggest ideas as this could induce the acquisition of false memories.

                Both Brice and Kathy could just as easily had their memories interfered with through suggestion. Did Brice and Kathy know one another or know of each others stories? Their stories are so similar.

                Nonetheless, I found their stories compelling and disturbing. I just wish I could ask questions.

                Kathy seems to have had sex with everyone including Hilary Clinton!

                If I was being accused of something as terrible as these people were accused of and I knew was a lie, I would sue the person.

  23. Andre' says:

    Excellent article. Ive been reading about MM, mostly to get a handle on the “sexual abuse” she endured , lets call it what it is, rape. I have to say, this is a far more common problem in America’s sick society than is being addressed. The whole MM story is a cast of self serving immoral ghouls, who just preyed on this woman, who basically had no control over herself emotionally and psychologically. Also the more professional the more destructive; the help she got was moronic. I know too many women already who have suffered abuse, and I ask now, and I get the “I never told anyone before”. To hold MM up as a star is to condone childhood rape of women/children. Her along with many other starlets with drug and addiction problems.

    • Alethea says:

      Thanks Andre’.

      Yes, let’s call it what it is, RAPE. Thank you!

      I can only imagine the male psychiatrists that MM had to endure to try and get help for herself. Most of them probably got off on her talking of being raped and sexually abused as a child, or if she didn’t tell them, they were most likely imagining themselves with her sexually.

      “To hold MM up as a star is to condone childhood rape of women/children.”

      Pretty profound statement.

      • ann says:

        Ectually, it is said that MM desperatelly, wanted to seduce doctor Greenson and after being rejected twice by him, she fell into rage, and the trird time she finally succeeded. So, if you came to a psychiatrist for help, why do you want sex with him? it makes no sense. It was men who should have been careful about her, and not the opposite. Maybe she was a victim, but eventually became the abuser also.

        • Alethea says:

          “So, if you came to a psychiatrist for help, why do you want sex with him? it makes no sense.”

          Oh please. Are you kidding? Do you not understand the high rate of promiscuity in those who have been sexually abused as a child? MM probably had the same problem that COUNTLESS other survivors of child sexual abuse have….they think that giving sex, getting sex, having sex, and being sexually desirable is the only way they can get love, attention, or self-worth.

    • Tami says:

      Andre … I agree with all that you have to say here, but the truth is that to “hold MM up as a star” is not to condone childhood rape of women/children.” I am very thankful that she spoke the truth … regardless. I admire her and her strength regardless of how most portray her as weak. Anybody who survived Hollywood under her circumstances for as long as she did, has an incredible amount of strength regardless her complexes. She was stronger than she knew. Hollywood and most of what Hollywood stands for is laced sexual exploitation in some fashion. We may not see it in all circumstances that are placed before us, but I am quite sure that we would throw-up if we truly knew what goes on behind the scenes.

Comments are Welcome, Appreciated and Discussed

