“I need to be able to say that I was wearing blue pajamas that night.”

Supporters of the mythical “False Memory Syndrome” mock those who have the feeling, or even the circumstantial evidence, that they were abused and who express a need to uncover the memories.  FMS proponents scoff at those who wish to find their past, saying that it ‘will not do them any good to go looking for repressed memories.’  Maybe if the advocates of FMS suffered from multiple unexplained physical problems, severe emotional disturbances, PTSD symptoms, panic attacks, and showed signs of having been abused, then they might not be so quick to judge what might help liberate a person from their pain.

One sexual abuse survivor, whose mother confirmed the abuse, says she still needed some kind of memory. She said, “I need to be able to say that I was wearing blue pajamas that night, or that I slept with a stuffed panda. I need to be able to say that I could hear footsteps or the wind blowing. I need to link, once and for all, those few moments so many years ago to the woman I’ve become.”1

1. The Voice of Memory: One Woman’s Journey to Reclaim the Past, Beatriz Terrazas, Dallas Morning News, June 11, 2000

This entry was posted in child sexual abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I need to be able to say that I was wearing blue pajamas that night.”

  1. Anne Grant says:

    Thank you so much for your website! I want to feature it at http://writingtruthtopower.blogspot.com/

    I agree completely that incest must never be considered unspeakable.

    • aletheamarinanova says:

      Your welcome. Yes, please pass along my Blogsite or use it as a feature at yours. Thank you, and I love the title “Writing Truth to Power.”

Comments are closed.