Mackenzie Phillips Admits to Years of Sex with Her Father, John Phillips, the Famous Singer of the Mamas and Papas Band

I think I will spend the week posting about the accusations being made by Mackenzie Phillips. It’s an interesting story and well worth discussion:

From The Los Angeles Times Blog by Elizabeth Snead:

Mackenzie Phillips’ shocked half-sisters — Bijou and Chynna Phillips — are very upset. Her skeptical stepmother, Michelle Phillips, calls her a liar with mental and drug problems.

But Mackenzie is standing strong about her admission to a decade long sick sexual affair with her drug addicted father, John Phillips.

My notes: It always amuses me when a drug-addicted father is believed over the child or adult making accusations of incest.

“If I’ve started a national dialogue that’s going to help people face these issues, then I’m forever grateful,” Phillips said Friday during a live broadcast of “The Oprah Winfrey Show.”

This is a very balanced comment.

Winfrey read comments on the show made by Michelle Phillips, John Phillips’ former wife and a member of the Mamas and the Papas. “I have every reason to believe it’s untrue,” Michelle has said, claiming that Mackenzie has a history of mental illness and drug abuse.”

Gee, I wonder where her mental issues and drug problems stem from –if not the result of the very sexual abuse that she is claiming?

But Mackenzie stood her ground with Oprah. “When Michelle found out I was writing the book, she vowed to do everything she could to discredit me. … She’s either protecting the Mamas and Papas brand or is having a textbook reaction: She’s embarrassed, sweep it under the carpet, protect the abuser,” Phillips told Winfrey.

Mackenzie’s reaction sounds like that of a true victim. She knows that the family of the accused would rather protect the abuser and are more concerned with shame than with truth.

Chynna Phillips appeared live with Winfrey and explained her mom’s reaction. “It’s not something that my mom wants plastered all over the papers.”

I saw Chynna’ s interview and I did not like the way she spoke about the matter. She was putting off a very hypocritical vibe to her sister Mackenzie. She seemed to be saying to her, ‘It’s okay that you spoke of this, if that’s what you need to do…but how dare you air our family’s dirty laundry in public?!” Chynna, in my opinion of the interview, was sending her sister a double message.

Chynna admitted she wasn’t thrilled about the incest allegation being public knowledge either. “Am I exceedingly joyful that my family secret that I told maybe my therapist, my husband and my very best friend in the whole word [is now public]? No.” However, she admits knowing for 12 years and says she believes Mac’s claim.

Once again, family shame is more important than truth and allowing a victim to speak her mind. Mackenzie Phillips was the victim of her father and she has a right to speak about it.

But yet another Phillips sib, Bijou Phillips, who has NOT appeared on Oprah, is a disbeliever. She’s released a statement that says, in part: “When I was 13, Mackenzie told me that she had a consensual sexual relationship with our father. This news was confusing and scary, as I lived alone with my father since I was 3, I didn’t know what to believe and it didn’t help that shortly there after Mackenzie told me it didn’t happen … .” Why did she Mackenzie tell Bijou and Michelle that it wasn’t true? Was she trying to keep the peace in the family?

If people did their research, they would find that the statistics for a victim of child abuse disclosing, and then recanting the allegations, is very high. Once the victim sees that she or he is not receiving any support for their claims and that they are being ostracized or vilified for telling their secret, they find that “peace” can be re-established in the family by recanting the abuse allegations. But it is a false peace and the family will always suffer from the truth not being out in the open. In addition, and more importantly, when a victim of child sexual abuse hides the truth within themselves, the victim will always be a lie to his or her self, and will always suffer from that lie.

Source:

Click here

This entry was posted in child molestation, child sexual abuse, Denial, dissociative amnesia, evil, false memory syndrome, female sexual offenders, rape and abuse, repressed memory and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.