Father/Daughter Incestuous Affairs are Not Rare

There’s nothing bizarre about Mackenzie Phillip’s claims of incest with her father.  Why is America so shocked? Father/daughter and brother/sister incestuous relationships sometimes do develop into long term ‘love’ affairs. Most often, it begins when a father rapes his young child and eventually she gives in to the on-going abuse by accepting the dysfunctional bond, because with it, she enjoys the love and attention that she receives from her father. Sometimes these relationships continue until the daughter is in her thirties or forties. Although the ‘affair’ I was having with my father stopped when I was twelve (my age at the time of his death), who knows how long it would have continued? Probably at least into my teens, or when I started having menstrual cycles.

This entry was posted in child sexual abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.