Haleigh Cummings: Cops Searching a River For Body

Investigators, cadaver dogs and dive teams are searching a Florida river just two miles from the home in which five year-old Haleigh Cummings disappeared.

FILE - This file photo released by the Putnam County Sheriff's  Office shows Haleigh Cummings, 5, of Satsuma, Fla. Investigators  searched a river Tuesday, April 13, 2010, for Cummings, who disappeared  from her father's mobile home more than a year ago. (AP Photo/Putnam  County Sheriff's Office, HO, File)

The case has officially been named a homicide investigation.

Misty Croslin’s brother is the key to what authorities are calling a major break in the case. It is being reported that Tommy Croslin has led investigators to a possible dumping site for sweet little Haleigh.

According to Nancy Grace, Misty Croslin’s cousin is being implicated in the possible murder.

Source: Nancy Grace CNN HLN News

This entry was posted in child sexual abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Haleigh Cummings: Cops Searching a River For Body

  1. maryjustice says:

    I think Ron had nothing to do with it. Why is it not out that cousin Joe is a sex offender as well as Donald Sapp who had just moved near Haleigh and had contact with her before she vanished? That is why she is dead they did their dirty deed and disposed of her.

    • aletheamarinanova says:

      Hi Mary. Thanks for posting. I agree that this scenario is much more plausible. I have always thought that one of Misty’s males relatives, who were reportedly in the home the night Haleigh disappeared, had seen that Misty was an inappropriate caretaker. They were taken by Haleigh’s innocence, realized she was vulnerable, and then went back to the home and took her for sexual purposes while Misty was passed out. They then then killed her. That is a more logical story than this gun theory.

  2. aletheamarinanova says:

    Lona, thank you. I have to admit ignorance with regards to some of the Haleigh Cummings case because I did not follow it as closely as some other cases. I didn’t know that Ronald did not put much effort forth in the search for his daughter.

    N.G bothered me when she -to my knowledge- never re-addressed the arrest and charges against Tammi Smith in the Gabriel Johnson case. Smith and her husband appeared on Grace’s show more than once and Nancy always catered to them –even though anyone with two degrees of intelligence could see that they were hiding something. Why didn’t she ever talk about the arrest of Tammi? Is it because like you say about Ronald, Smith also gave her good ratings?

    I am going to check out that link. Thank you.

  3. Lona1 says:

    Michelle….DUDE, yes he is!

  4. Lona1 says:

    about Ronald Cummings, a must read!

    http://patbrownprofiling.blogspot.com/

  5. knight owl says:

    Hi Alethea, i have always thought Haleigh was dead from the time they called in 911 and i felt like Ronald was responsible and i still think he is until i finally hear otherwise. Reason i do is because Misty always looked to Ron everytime she was asked a question with that look,”What am i suppose to say”. There are other reasons as well. That is strange to say the least to me and Ronald’s crying didn’t seem real to me either. I may be wrong as who really knows what is going on for sure. I hate to think this too but i don’t believe this new search is going to produce any results. I don’t believe having Misty out of jail taken to the lake by cops is gonna get anywhere either. I noticed Ron has gained weight since he has been incarcerated, no drugs to take to keep him hyped up. Poor Haleigh.

    • aletheamarinanova says:

      I think Ronald might have known what happened after the fact but I feel his despair was real on the 911 tape when Haleigh first went missing. But if he knew after the fact, I can’t imagine that he would have allowed the person responsible to roam free without wanting to kill him. Ronald seems like a guy that might have just killed the man who took Haleigh, not let him get away with it.

      So in my mind, if he knew, it was from the very beginning and was somehow a part of it all.

  6. jon says:

    I’m no NG defender as I find her abrasive to say the least, but she has been the victim of a crime. Let’s not forget that her fiance was murdered shortly before she was to have been married.

  7. Ideas says:

    What about Joe being cleared early on?? Could this case have been solved earlier?

  8. aletheamarinanova says:

    Nancy Grace is now reporting that the biological mother of Haleigh Cummings was seen exiting the sheriff’s office crying and distraught. It is being reported that she told a friend, “Joe [Misty’s cousin] killed my baby.”

    As sad as this report is, if true, I am not surprised. I never felt that Haleigh was still alive somewhere. Closure and justice for Haleigh in this case is SO NEEDED.

    I know a lot of people don’t like Ronald Cummings but I do feel sorry for him.

    • aletheamarinanova says:

      I meant closure in the sense of the family finally knowing where Haleigh is and who was responsible. Not emotional closure.

  9. aletheamarinanova says:

    This is SO interesting to me because from day one of this case, I felt that the relatives of Misty had been involved in Haleigh’s abduction. I remember hearing that Misty had male relatives over to the house that night and I remember thinking to myself that it must be one of them. When police never mentioned them as suspects I figured that they were totally cleared.

    What gives???

Comments are closed.