Bones Found: Linked to Haleigh Cummings Case

Nancy Grace is reporting that Misty Croslin was taken to the Saint John’s River search site and shown bones. It is unclear at this time if the bones are that of missing and presumed dead Haleigh Cummings, but it is being reported that the bones are probably Haleigh’s.

Misty Croslin’s Grandmother, who is also the grandmother of Tommy Croslin and Joe Overstreet, has appeared on the Nancy Grace show and she says that she feels all three of her grandchildren were involved in the disappearance and possible murder of little Haleigh.

I have to say, three cheers for grandma. Most family members in cases of rape, incest or murder, vehemently defend the accused. Most of the time, family members are either deep in denial or simply covering up for their loved ones. Grandma said that she was sorry she had to say that about her grandchildren but that “Haleigh has grandparents too.” This grandmother should be applauded for being truthful, even when the truth is that her grandchildren could have murdered a child or been part of an accidental homicide and disposal of the body.

The bones that were found are being tested for a DNA match to Haleigh Cummings.

https://i2.wp.com/www2.tbo.com/exposure/full/2009/07/16/6898_haleigh-cummings-ronald.jpg

Photo: Associated Press

Source: Nancy Grace Headline News, CNN, 4-20-2010

This entry was posted in child sexual abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Bones Found: Linked to Haleigh Cummings Case

  1. pamela brown says:

    I agree with C~A, Grandma knows more. She may know the WHY, and the HOW. HOW did these children learn such horrific behavior? Is violence and hate apart of these children or learned behavior? What ever the answer is we need to ask can these children ever be alone with other children again, do they understand what they have done? I truly feel for Haleigh’s family, the loss of a child is the most painful, and the not knowing, I hope they have answers soon. I pray for all of the families in this devastating situation.

  2. sophie says:

    Three cheers to Grandma. I know there have been naysayers who’ve pointed a finger at her for doing this for attention…

    But really, it takes a lot of strength to admit that someone you love is not right.

    My son was in trouble as a juvenile and during a visit to his probation officer, I couldn’t believe what I was hearing in the cubicle next to me. A young man, who was a gang member, was in trouble yet again for violating his probation.

    And the mother was screaming “oh no…not MY baby!” and so forth.

    I didn’t know anything about the situation and I believed the kid had done exactly what he was caught doing.

    It was the mother’s resolute denial of her well established criminal child that ensured that by now, (15 years later) this kid is dead or in prison.

    My kid threw a lawn chair into a commercial pool. He was the legal ringleader for the two huge strapping friends who then struggled to toss a concrete trashcan holder into the pool next. This cracked the pool lining causing excess of $5000, which is a felony. My son could have thrown a napkin into the pool and been in as much trouble. He started the behavior that resulted in the pool damage.

    While this cost me a pretty penny in fines and lost wages going to court, I figured my son should be inconvenienced as well.

    The judge sentenced him to 5 hours community service. FIVE hours!!! It took a lot more than 5 hours of labor on my part to pay one third of the pool damage and the court costs and fine.

    I raised my hand and asked the judge for more community service time. My sons eyes almost popped out of his head. As did the judge’s. He then assigned 40 hours. Which was still not enough in my opinion to persuade my child not to be so stupid in the future. My son didn’t speak to me for some time but so what. He’s a great guy and he loves me, and I think ALL kids go through a period where they firmly believe they absolutely despise their parents and give them the cold shoulder.

    I think if a lot more parents ‘manned up’ about what their kids are capable of behind their backs, and DID something about it from the get go, we’d have a lot less crimes like those committed by the Overstreet and Croslin families.

    Accept that your kids are human, that they will try to get away with what they think they can get away with, and not only admit this, but act on it.

    • aletheamarinanova says:

      Thanks Sophie for being so open and for being a great mom. I think that most children and teens, deep down, WANT discipline. These days, with so many divorces, many parents are catering to their children’s wants and dysfunction -out of guilt- because of the divorce. This is leading many children and teens to becoming self-centered, impulse-driven kids who get into a lot of trouble and sometimes it’s criminal behavior.

  3. ~ANGEL~ says:

    FINALLY GOD HAS INTERVENED AND LED OFFICIALS STRAIGHT TO POOR LITTLE HALEIGH’S REMAINS. MAYBE NOW SHE CAN REST IN PEACE WHILE THE BABYSITTER, ALONG WITH HER BROTHER, REMAINS LOCKED UP. MY HEART GOES OUT TO RONALD CUMMINGS AND THE REST OF HALEIGH’S FAMILY! I PRAISE MISTY’S GRANDMOTHER FOR COMING FORTH WITH ALL THAT SHE KNOWS. HOW MANY MORE CASES LIKE THIS MUST WE ENDURE? CASES LIKE HALEIGH’S, CAYLEE ANTHONY’S AND EVEN MORE THAT JUST ARE NOT MADE AS PUBLIC AS THESE 2 WERE?!? I HOPE ALL THE CULPRITS, RESPONSIBLE FOR CHILD HOMICIDE, FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENS TO PPL WHO COMMIT CRIMES AGAINST CHILDREN SERVING TIME BEHIND BARS!!!

  4. Sherri Moran says:

    My Heart Breaks So Much For This Child And Her Family I Know The Grandmother Of This Child Marie.She Is One Of The Strongest People I Know.And I Feel Her Pain But Believe This God Says Vengence Is His There Is A Payday Waiting For hose Who did This To This Angel.I Love You HaleighBug And Marie,Crystal Heart Goes Out To You All And Im Still Praying For That Miracle..

    • aletheamarinanova says:

      Thanks Sherri. Miracles do happen. I pray for the peace of all those who miss and love Haleigh, and for justice to be served.

  5. Hilde says:

    I am outraged and very sad at the same time.
    My Gut Feeling let me know right from the Beginning something terrible happened to Haleigh and she wasn’t coming back. To think how she must have died and how her little Body was disposed of, I just can’t imagine what kind of Monster would do that! 😦

    • aletheamarinanova says:

      Hi Hilde. I too think about what little Haleigh went through that night. I pray she wasn’t molested or raped and that she died quickly. How anyone can just toss the body of an innocent child over a railing into dark and alligator infested waters is beyond me.

  6. Teraisa says:

    Thanks for the cheers to grandma. My children, in the court system for ten years now, and no end in sight, watched their family get up and deny everything, even though they were there when this sick man did the same things to another family in the 80’s, on court records. To me, friends and family who cover up are worse than the offender. At least the offender is SICK. Three cheers added to yours for the courage this woman has and the pain she must be feeling.

    • aletheamarinanova says:

      Teraisa,

      You are correct, family and friends who protect the perpetrator are worse than the abuse itself. At least, that’s been my experience.

  7. aletheamarinanova says:

    I thought the same thing Ideas. My thought was that they found some bones -any bones- and took Misty down to the river to see if she would crack.

  8. Ideas says:

    Thanks for the info. I hope these bones provide closure, altho’ I think the river would be full of them. So many have clung to this case, waiting for the truth, which we may never know.

    Grandma has helped find answers though, no matter her motives. She is getting reamed from all sides.

    • C~A says:

      Granny may derserve praise for what she HAS SAID…but it is what she hasn’t said that is what we want to know…WHY WHY WHY…She has one story..says misty says joe and tommy did it…NOW ALL THREE ARE IMPLICATED…BUT WHY HAS SHE NO ANSWERS AT ALL ON WHY?
      BECAUSE SHE DOES NOT WANT TO BE THE ONE TO SEND ONE OF H ER GRANDCHILDREN TO PRISON FOR PROB. DEATH PENALTY..AND THE THE OTHER TWO FOR ACCESSORY TO MURDER

      • aletheamarinanova says:

        Good points. She may very well be leaving out WHY……..

        But I still applaud her for at least saying WHO……..

Comments are closed.