Mass Murderer and Manson Disciple, Patricia Krenwinkel, Denied Parole

In 1969, Patricia Krenwinkel, former follower of Charles Manson, willingly participated in one of the most notorious murder rampages in history. When the horrifying and shocking murders swept across the Los Angeles area, they instilled fear in most residents in the L.A. County area –especially those in the film and entertainment industry.

https://i1.wp.com/www.examiner.com/images/blog/EXID5590/images/Sharon_Tate_in_Eye_of_the_Devil_trailer_3.jpg

Sharon Tate (above) was an actress and the wife of director, Roman Polanski. She was one of eight victims, including her eight month-old unborn child. Krenwinkel and several other young “hippies” took part in several brutal, sadistic, and satanic murders spanning two consecutive nights. The murders were orchestrated by Charles Manson, but he was not there when they were committed.

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/9/9b/Hostile.JPG/220px-Hostile.JPG

Krenwinkel is now 63 years-old. She was only twenty-two at the time of the murders, and was convicted on seven counts of first-degree murder. Krenwinkel has been up for parole thirteen times.

“Tate’s sister, Debra Tate, was at the hearing and said Krenwinkel has never written a letter of apology to her family and the only time she hears Krenwinkel express remorse about the killings is during her parole hearings. “I don’t buy it. I personally don’t buy it,” said Tate, as she stared at the gray-haired inmate. “I want to believe the human condition is capable of change. I believe in the possibility of reform. But I know what I am looking at, and I don’t see it here.”

Krenwinkel stated at the hearing, “I’m just haunted each and every day by the unending suffering my participation in murder has caused the family and friends of my victims. The enormity of the grief I caused fills me with intense sorrow.”~CNN

https://i2.wp.com/latimesblogs.latimes.com/culturemonster/images/2008/10/30/mansongirls.jpg

(Susan Atkins, Patricia Krenwinkel, Leslie Van Houten)

In August of 1969, eight people, including Sharon Tate’s baby were stabbed, shot, bludgeoned, hanged, mutilated, and terrorized during the two-day murder spree. An innocent bystander, Steven Parent, a hair stylist to the stars, Jay Sebring, coffee heiress, Abigail Folger, and Wojciech Frykowsk were the victims who died at Sharon Tate’s home the first night.

The murders were carried out at Manson’s instruction. Charles Manson told Krenwinkel, Susan Atkins, Charles “Tex” Watson, Leslie Van Houten, and Linda Kasabian to carry out massive killings on upper class suburban white Americans. The victims did nothing but happen to live in the right house at the wrong time. Manson had a grudge with the previous owner of Sharon Tate’s home, and Manson family members had once been to a party in the neighborhood of the home of Leno and Rosemary La Bianca near Pasadena Calif. The La Biancas were murdered the night after the mayhem took place at the home of Sharon Tate.

The murderers inflicted 169 stab wounds on their victims.

https://i1.wp.com/estb.msn.com/i/95/3D4732D51881E1F9F164DA5A896B81.jpg

(Charles Manson, musician, poet, convicted murderer)

Some day I would love to write an article on the Manson followers because many of them came from middle to upper class seemingly “ordinary” families, and were fed up with the hypocrisy and lack of love in their biological families. Susan Atkins says she was sexually abused as a child. Krenwinkel had once taught in a Catholic School and wanted to become a nun.

https://i0.wp.com/www.law.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/manson/manson1.jpg

The Manson followers were once ordinary kids , who ended up hating their families and found someone who made them feel loved. Evil sits at the dinner table. Those kids turned evil, and remember, their “normal” American parents  sat at that same dinner table. Who was evil first?

Remember that true evil wears the face of goodness.

_________________________________________________________________________

CNN

examiner.com

ABC News

 

 

This entry was posted in child sexual abuse, Crime, evil, Headlines, News, rape and abuse, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mass Murderer and Manson Disciple, Patricia Krenwinkel, Denied Parole

  1. Great write up.
    I can not feel sympathy for these men and women.
    The destruction of life and the fear they inspired is not forgivable.
    They wanted to change the world,in a way they did and now they get their reward.
    I can not help but think of the victims, the screams, the cries, the fear and pain inflicted on them.
    In contrast the killers relished in the fame and fear. They followed the reports and bragged and laughed.
    As to the being products of society, that is a cheap excuse. There are so many more who are in such worse circumstances that do not take their hate out on others. I have read many books on the family as a group and as individuals and they were capable of making other choices. They chose to kill.
    Manson did not hold a gun to their heads (although I do not hold him innocent in anyway) and Linda and her refusal to kill is a testimony to how much of a choice the actions were.

    • Alethea says:

      Hi Psychowatcher. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t find the Manson girls and Tex Watson to be victims AT ALL. No excuses meant in my comment. I just always like to look to a root cause of what can create evil.

      I don’t know what to think about Linda Kasabian. I have mixed feelings. Yes, she chose not to kill, but she went knowing full well what they were going to do. She also left her child with them for a while AFTER the murders.

  2. Serieve Marie Elizabeth Andrews says:

    Is it possible on the internet to read about Sharon Tate and NOT have to also be ‘reminded’ – rather, not have to read about her former husband as if he was a ‘normal,’ grieving man?

    I felt/feel sorry for Sharon and her son. NOT the pedophile and rapist. Can Sharon not stand alone for WHO she was and what she did rather than what she was married to or how she died?

    At the same time, it IS hard to mention anything related to manson and not mention Sharon. But how many people out there remember Mrs. LaBianca, who was stabbed 41 times and was ‘one of eight victims?’

    Why is it always about Sharon and what she was married too? (He’s not a man, therefore, ‘it’ is not a ‘who.’)

    • Alethea says:

      Hey Serieve.

      I put Polanski in my article, briefly, so that I could also add the link to an article about raping that 13 year-old girl. If you notice, his name is in a different color on this article and if you click on it, you are taken to the article on Polanski’s crime.

      I could have left his name out, but to me, it was the same as saying “coffee heiress” and “hairstylist to the stars.” It is just facts. Sharon Tate was married to Polanski, who is a director. “Just the facts mam” is what I was going for in this article here.

      Peace.
      Alethea

      • Serieve Marie Elizabeth Andrews says:

        It might be disturbing to read, but I’ve wondered if Tate was also in some way an abuser. Their are countless women out there that willingly get pregnant so they can hand their children literally over so their husbands can use them for sexual gratification, prostitution, etc. I’ve wondered if Sharon knew her husband was a pedophile and was either okay with it or if she was in denial or, perhaps like Hailey Dunn’s mother, incredibly foolish and selfish (he’s not ‘really’ a pedophile, it’s okay if my boyfriend threatens to kill me, he never mentioned my 13-year-old).

        • Alethea says:

          I don’t think this is the case Serieve. From what I read about Sharon Tate, she seemed to be more clueless about Polanski than anything. I think she loved that child very much and looked forward to giving it love.

          Remember, Polanski was not a pedophile, he raped a 13 year-old. Pedophiles are attracted to pre-pubescent children.

          • Serieve Marie Elizabeth Andrews says:

            And a 13 year-old can look pre-pubescent. I was sexually assaulted by a woman when I was 25, last year. She chose me in part because she was attracted to females ages 12-22, with a particular ‘love’ of those who were or looked 15 or 16.

            I look 16 at the age of 26.

            According to a Canadian definition, a pedophile is someone sexually attracted to children ages THIRTEEN AND UNDER.

            But it’s just words here. Pedophile. Rapist. Sex offender. She still might have known.

            • Alethea says:

              Below is a link to a photo of Samantha Geimer at age 13. I read the court transcripts, and she had already had sex with a boy her age. As I understand it from people in the industry at that time (I grew up a few miles from where the rapes took place), Samantha’s mother may have set her daughter up in order to get a monetary settlement. If you read the article below, he took half-naked photos of Samantha before he was allowed to be with her again. I don’t think her mother was innocent, and maybe Samantha had an idea of what her mother had planned? Polanski is a rapist because it was against Samantha’s will, but I don’t put her in the same category as a pre-pubescent child that is completely 100% innocent (with no guilt in any part of setting a pervert up).

              Also, the rape happened after Sharon Tate was already dead, so maybe she had no idea that her husband had such a strong attraction to young teens.

              Geimer has all too easily spoken of forgiveness and ‘let’s move on,’ and ‘he’s already paid for the crime’ etc. So it seems that her willingness to move on and her dislike at the way Polanski is being treated, indicates that he might very well have been set up and she feels badly. I say this only because all the facts about this case are unclear, not that I don’t think Polanski is guilty of rape (oh sorry, “sex with a child”).

              http://www.mirror.co.uk/celebs/news/2005/07/25/exclusive-polanski-raped-me-when-i-was-13-he-is-a-creep-115875-15775812/

  3. Darrell Williams says:

    I remember the beast and his pack of animals very well. I had just returned from Californa after having thumbed across county to see what L.A. was all about. Back then you could actually thumb across country with out being murdered. I would certainly strongly advise against it now days. It was a time when everyone left their doors unlocked and their windows open all night. A time when people actually had respect for one another, familys and property. The day the news broke on this case a blanket of fear,and horror fell across america. The days of open windows and unlocked doors came to an end and the flower child days were over. Manson who would appear to be crazy is anything but. He is a master manipulator and has the ability to read a person’s personality at a glance. He took his followers so easy because they came from disfunctional homes, Homes probably where the words I love you son or daughter were never said or shown.
    With his drugs and constant babble he slowly but surely brain washed the low self worth pack in to believeing anything he said and they did.

    He turned them into a pack of animals willing to murder to please him. I also remember that if a certain Beach Boy had been home at the time of the murders he would have been a victom also just because Manson was mad at him.

    As far as I am concerned Manson may not have been actually there who really knows but he planned and conducted this mass murder like a general from a top a hill. Manson should have been fried many many years ago right along with his pack. I have no pitty at all for people who are so mindless that they would allow a monster like Manson rule their lives.

    Msnbc just aired the story of Manson and his pack this evening as a matter of fact.

    • Alethea says:

      Hi Darrell. I don’t remember the crimes, but I remmeber growing up in the aftermath of it all. In my late teens, I read Helter Skelter many times.

      I sort of knew Steve Railsback. He used to come into my work. He played Manson in the 70’s movie Helter Skelter (played him a little too well maybe), and the man who found the gun that killed Steven Parent also used to come into my work.

      I drove up to Sharon Tate’s house with a bunch of friends in my twenties, just to see what it would ‘feel’ like to walk on that street. One of the neighbors came out, and he had lived there at the time of the murders. He said that he understood our fascination but could we please go away. I was young and didn’t realize that we were bothering the neighbors.

      Also in my twenties, I drove out to Spahn Ranch a few times just to see where it had been (it was burned down by then).

      A close friend of my family met Manson once, and described him as very polite. In the late 60’s, another close friend of mine was invited to dinner at Spahn Ranch to meet these “really righteous hippies.” She didn’t go. (She told me this a few years ago).

      Yes, the Beach Boy was Dennis Wilson.

      Manson is not only a master manipulator and, as you say, has the ability to read a person’s personality at a glance, but he also is very intelligent (wisdom intelligence, not book knowledge). He is a calculating killer, but he also spoke the truth at his trial, in a statement outside the presence of the jury:

      “You eat meat and you kill things that are better than you are, and then you say how bad, and even killers, your children are. You made your children what they are. . . .”

      “Most of the people at the ranch that you call the Family were just people that you did not want, people that were alongside the road, that their parents had kicked out, that did not want to go to Juvenile Hall.”

      “I was working at cleaning up my house, something that Nixon should have been doing. He should have been on the side of the road, picking up his children, but he wasn’t. He was in the White House, sending them off to war. . . .”

      “I don’t understand you, but I don’t try. I don’t try to judge nobody. I know that the only person I can judge is me . . . But I know this: that in your hearts and your own souls, you are as much responsible for the Vietnam war as I am for killing these people. . . I can’t judge any of you. I have no malice against you and no ribbons for you. But I think that it is high time that you all start looking at yourselves, and judging the lie that you live in.

      I can’t dislike you, but I will say this to you: you haven’t got long before you are all going to kill yourselves, because you are all crazy. And you can project it back at me . . . but I am only what lives inside each and everyone of you.

      My father is the jailhouse. My father is your system. . . I am only what you made me. I am only a reflection of you.”

      “I have ate out of your garbage cans to stay out of jail. I have wore your second-hand clothes. . . I have done my best to get along in your world and now you want to kill me, and I look at you, and then I say to myself, You want to kill me? Ha! I’m already dead, have been all my life. I’ve spent twenty-three years in tombs that you built.”

      “It’s all your fear. You look for something to project it on, and you pick out a little old scroungy nobody that eats out of a garbage can, and that nobody wants, that was kicked out of the penitentiary, that has been dragged through every hellhole that you can think of, and you drag him and put him in a courtroom.

      You expect to break me? Impossible! You broke me years ago. You killed me years ago. . . .”

      “Helter Skelter is confusion. Confusion is coming down around you fast. If you can’t see the confusion coming down around you fast, you can call it what you wish. . Is it a conspiracy that the music is telling the youth to rise up against the establishment because the establishment is rapidly destroying things? Is that a conspiracy?”

      I too find it hard to have pity for these people, but like Manson said, they were all (including him, a product of our society. Manson’s mother was a whore and he spent most of his young life in jail. His father was unknown to him. What does society do with these kind of kids? Do they help them? No. They kick them on the side of the road and make them eat out of garbage cans. Manson was a murderer, but society made him that way.

      I especially felt compassion for seeing Susan Atkins dying of cancer. Karma comes back in hard harsh ways.

Comments are closed.