Grandfather Molesting 6-year-old Grandaughter While Parents On Active Duty

Anyone who tries to say that elderly people aren’t capable of, or interested in, raping and molesting children, need a reality check. But in light of the article I posted this morning, the real story here is not that an old man was sexually abusing a small child but that, yet again, the victim was punished and the abuse not stopped.

“The parents of a 6-year-old girl left their daughter in the care of her paternal grandparents while they went away on active duty. They thought she was safe.

But for three years, the little girl’s grandfather molested her in exchange for cookies and candy.

A Fulton County jury found Mr. Clarence Williams guilty of aggravated child molestation, child molestation and first-degree cruelty to children, the district attorney’s spokeswoman Ms. Yvette Brown said Friday.

But it would be nine years after the abuse of his granddaughter began.

In 2002, the girl’s parents left her and her brother in their grandparents’ custody. They were on active duty in the U.S. Army and were deployed overseas. They were gone for three years.

“During the three-year span, the defendant forced his then six-year-old granddaughter to engage in sexual acts with him in exchange for candy, chips and cookies,” Ms. Brown said.

When the girl turned to her grandmother for help, the woman spanked her and forced her to write a letter of apology to her grandfather, Ms. Brown said.

Several years later, at 12 years old and once again in the custody of her parents, the girl told her parents her grandfather abused her, the spokeswoman said.

The parents confronted the grandparents who denied the accusations, stating that the girl was lying and that she had a problem with lying when she lived with them.

But the parents didn’t drop the matter.

Later, investigators discovered that Mr. Williams had allegedly molested two of his wife’s nieces when they were between the ages of 7 and 8 years old – one in 1975 and the other in 1982 or 1983, Ms. Brown said.

Although those incidents were never reported to the police, both women now ages, 45 and 36 years old, testified during the trial on the granddaughter’s case about their own abuse.

The victim, now 15-years-old, also testified against her grandfather.”

81 year-old Williams was sentenced to life in prison. But what about the grandmother? She should also be sitting in a prison cell.

__________________________________________________________________________

Examiner.com

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse, Crime, Denial, evil, Headlines, News, rape and abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grandfather Molesting 6-year-old Grandaughter While Parents On Active Duty

  1. Kathleen Neuland says:

    On February 16th 2012 I checked my husbands Facebook page to see who had sent him birthday wishes. It was his 85th birthday. There in the private messages I found a message from him daughter Roxanne. She accused him of several counts of child molestation. With so many names listed fear overcame me. I contacted everyone I could think of on Facebook and by text message to see what they knew. To my horror I discovered he has molested his daughters and his grandson. He also molested a step brother of his grandson. I called my oldest granddaughter and she told me he molested her. How many more children he molested we will never know. Those that knew kept it a secret. The only one that spoke up was his daughter who sent her children to be with us every weekend for five years. Every time I told her to stand on her own feet and we were not sending her any more money she would say he molested her. I didn’t believe her because who would send their children to be with a pedophile every weekend. Well I will tell you who would do that a money hungry mother would do that. When I found out what he did I called the police and child protective service. He is eighty five years old and they didn’t want to do anything. We finally got the district attorney to agree to take the case to the grand jury but there have been three delays that could have been avoided if they had been doing their job correctly. After our first trip to the district attorney’s office we agreed that we would settle for shock probation. That is six months in jail and out in four. Plus he would have been on sex offender probation. They sent him a letter to get an attorney. His son called the DA and told them that he was too sick and they were not getting him an attorney. The DA said they would give him two months, and then go after him. Three months later we went down to the grand jury again. This time we were told they need pictures of my home and the girls needed forensic interviews and physicals. Then they lost the paper work for this to happen. Delay after delay. The photos interviews and physicals should have been done before the first trip to the DA. To top it all off he is suing me for divorce. He doesn’t need the money but his family wants it. His family is also threatening me with law suits saying it was my fault because I had power of attorney. That it happened in my home. He confessed to the police but his family says the psychiatrist will say he was not in his right mind. The psychiatrist did not see him around that time. I was with him when he saw the psychiatrist and I know what was said in his office before this came to light and I know he is not crazy. After this all came out he confessed to me. He never accepted responsibility it was always the children’s fault. He never went into details about my granddaughters but he did admit two putting one girls hand on his penis and exposing himself to the other. I know from what the girls told me he did a lot more then that. Those two acts alone should lock him up. His son told me that if I dropped the charges they would not sue me. I told him I was not bringing the charges the DA was. Also the statements could not be retracted as the girls and the parents and I would be accused of making a false police report. If they think that we would retract what we have told they are crazy. I can not forgive him. To me to forgive would mean that I would also not want retribution. I want him to admit what he did and apologize for. I want him to go to jail and I want that experience to kill him. I don’t want a divorce I want him to make me a widow. I want to not only collect his social security I want to get his pension. I am entitled to it. I cleaned up his urine and feces for years. I took good care of him. I was good to his family and his grandchildren. I gave and loaned them money when he wouldn’t. I want to go into the senior citizens center doing a dance and say I am a widow. But most of all I want my granddaughters and their parents to be free of this and heal. I want to start my life over again without this hanging over my head. I want access to my IRA money. That is being prevented by the divorce. I don’t want him to have one penny of my money. He gets almost three thousand dollars a month and I get less then a thousand. I called the police and child protective service. We finally got the district attorney to agree to take the case to the grand jury but there have been three delays that could have been avoided if they had been doing their job correctly. After our first trip to the DA we agreed that we would settle for shock probation. That is six months in jail and out in four. Plus he would have been on sex offender probation. They sent him a letter to get an attorney. His son called the DA and told them that he was too sick and they were not getting him an attorney. The district attorney said they would give him two months, and then go after him. Three months later we went down to the grand jury again. This time we were told they need pictures of my home and the girls needed forensic interviews and physicals. Then they lost the paper work for this to happen. Delay after delay. The photos interviews and physicals should have been done before the first trip to the DA. To top it all off he is suing me for divorce. He doesn’t need the money but his family wants it. His family is also threatening me with law suits saying it was my fault because I had power of attorney. They also claim it is my fault because it happened in my home. They want me to drop the charges. I am not the one who was molested. My granddaughters were molested and they have reported it. These statements can’t be taken back. They would be charged with making false statements to the police. I want him to apologize and admit what he did. I also want him to make me a widow. Just leave me alone and die. If he wasn’t trying to get my money we would not be pushing for the DA to have him prosecuted. We know he is on hospice care and will die soon and anyway. I hope that when he is indicted and picked up by the police he has another heart attack and dies. It is so hard to feel this way about a man I loved. I remember the man I thought he was. I believe pedophilia is a mental illness, but acting on it is child molestation and that is the crime.

    • Alethea says:

      Dear Kathleen,

      Many women who were sexually abused by their father or brother, will still allow their children to be alone with the perpetrator. This is because many of these women are so messed up psychologically from their own abuse that they put a child in harms way out of conditioning, or sometimes they think, “Oh, he’s old now, he wouldn’t do that anymore.” Some of these women do it for self-convenience because the perpetrator provides a babysitting service for them so they can go out and party or go to work. Not all parents are good, loving, conscientious people. Many mothers are selfish and self-centered enough to sacrifice the child they know could be harmed in order to go out and date or party.

      Forgiveness is for the soul of the person. Forgiveness does not mean you agree with the crime, that you will put a child in harm’s way, or that you will cater to the perpetrator. Forgiveness is not synonymous with “I agree with what you did and you should not be held accountable.” You can forgive him, and at the same time, keep children safe by holding him accountable and by not enabling his sickness.

      “I want him to go to jail and I want that experience to kill him. I don’t want a divorce I want him to make me a widow. I want to not only collect his social security I want to get his pension. I am entitled to it.”

      Be careful. Watch your thoughts because those kind of thoughts will only create pain for you. Selfish, self-gratifying thoughts will only cause you bad fortune. Be careful. It’s okay to want to see him go to jail because that is where he belongs, but those other thoughts are bad news for you and your soul.

      “But most of all I want my granddaughters and their parents to be free of this and heal.”

      Now this is a healthy, loving thought. This should be where your energy needs to be directed. Fight for the money to help provide good therapy for those he hurt, but don’t fight for the money because you think you earned it. You are entitled to it, but focus on his victims, not on what you feel you deserve. God gives us what we have and we humans often forget that.

      I can’t help you with your legal issues. It sounds like a big mess and that his family enables him and blames everyone but your husband. This is typical behavior of family members. Usually the wife stands by her husband, so I applaud you for seeing and encouraging the truth.

  2. Kathleen Neuland says:

    I am so glad to know there is retribution no matter what the age of the perpatrator

  3. AmericanJack says:

    I have been through something similar. The grandmother may have just been trying to save the family.

    I was the victim of sexual abuse for many years at the hands of my adult brother. My mother chose to punish me for it when it came to light, and called me a pervert, a slut, and a seductress…when I was 11! I was so shamed I never told anyone else about it for years.

    I confronted her about it recently, and she told me she had to make me believe it was my fault; did I want to imagine my brother being tried as an adult, in prison as a pedophile? Its something that haunts me now, that what he did could have destroyed our family if I chose to tell someone about it.

    I am not saying that the grandmother, or my mother was in the right here. But some people do not have the courage to stand up for victims, and instead seem to throw them under the bus to spare someone else.

    I thought there was something wrong with me; this site has shown that unfortunately, throwing the victim under the bus happens more often then not. Thank you for this site.

    • Alethea says:

      Hello AmericanJack. I am so happy to know that something you have read here has helped you in some way.

      There is NOTHING wrong with you and you are NOT alone. Hold your head high and be good to yourself.

      Alethea

Comments are closed.