Video Explanation of Repressed/Recovered Memory and Dissociation

This is pretty good. Give it a few seconds to load on the page.

 

This entry was posted in child sexual abuse, News, repressed memory and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Video Explanation of Repressed/Recovered Memory and Dissociation

  1. little nel says:

    Great video! I agree that there is a difference, but I am more inclined to agree with the the second doctors’ theory of distraction rather than dissociation because humans hate pain and will avoid it at all costs. I also think that frequency is a major factor. The refusal to rehearse the painful event is more realistic as children just want the event that caused the pain to go away and never come back.

    It is interesting that when someone is healed from the pain that the traumatic events caused, then the memory can be recalled without trauma. When I finally believed that I did not cause or deserve my abuse but was just an easy outlet for use for someone else’s perversion/control/rage..etc, then my perception changed about myself and my powerlessness to stop the abuse.

    It would have been nice to have had an apology and/or amends, but my parents were just too damaged and selfish.

    • Alethea says:

      Hi Little Nel.

      Research shows that the severity of the trauma, and death threats are often a huge factor in dissociation. Age is up there on the list too, but the other two seem to be more prominent.

      I think that some people repress, some dissociate, and some distract. I had total amnesia. There was no distraction for me, and I blocked my entire childhood, not just the abuse and trauma.

      My mother will never apologize either. To apologize means to admit that she did evil things to me. To apologize would mean she would have to face what she did, and to feel remorse would mean putting the blame on herself instead of me. At this point, she still resents me for what happened.

Comments are closed.