Well-Known Actress Says She Repressed Her Memories of Trying To Kill Her Brother

Tilda Swinton is known for her roles in films like Vanilla Sky and Michael Clayton.

https://i2.wp.com/images.huffingtonpost.com/gen/11297/thumbs/s-TILDA-SWINTON-SANDRO-KOPP-large.jpg

Recently, the 50-year-old actress has openly admitted to having repressed the memory of going into her little brother’s bedroom to kill him. The trigger for her recall was intense media coverage of the brutal murder of two-year-old James Bulgar. James was killed by 10-year-olds Jon Venables and Robert Thompson in 1993.

“According to Us Weekly, the actress told The Telegraph, “Years ago when James Bulgar was murdered, every newspaper front page was talking about evil. At that point, having suppressed it for years, I remembered when I was four or five, I tried to kill my own brother. He was newly born and I was disappointed, because he was the third baby. That was enough as far as I was concerned.”

Swinton told The Gaurdian, “I was going to kill him because he was a boy, naturally. And I already had two brothers, and that was too much to bear.” She told the paper she “hadn’t thought it through, was I was willing to wing it. And I noticed he had a ribbon from a baby bonnet sticking out from the corner of his mouth. I started to pull it out – and then was witnessed in this great act of love, of nurture!”

The actress explains that her family found her in the midst of saving his life so she developed the reputation of her brother’s savoir and no one knew she had wanted to kill him.”

_____________________________________________________________

www.huffingtonpost.com

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, Crime, Headlines, News, repressed memory and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Well-Known Actress Says She Repressed Her Memories of Trying To Kill Her Brother

  1. Wanting to kill someone and actually killing someone are not the same thing. Many of us have thoughts of killing someone who has hurt us terribly. I have actually said things like, “If _____ did this to my child, I would kill them.” “If you touch me like that ever again, I will kill you.” I was much older than 3 or 4. I was an adult. Even though I said those things, I don’t know if I would actually be able to carry them out.

    • Alethea says:

      I have never in my life said “I would kill them,” or “I could kill them” or “I will kill you.” I have never said it in the heat of a moment, or in any situation.

      However, this woman is saying that she went into her brothers room to kill him. When a person takes action to go and do it, that is serious business.

      • Ashley W says:

        Hey althea. Do you think that her hatred for males and violent behavior might have been caused by being abused by a man in her life? Especially if it was a perpetrated by a man in her household, and she was trying to prevent another man from entering her home to hurt her.

        btw, I love this site.

        • Alethea says:

          Hi Ashley. No, I think it sounds more like she was tired of all the boys in the family and another boy having arrived, just angered her more. The boys might have been given more love and attention than her by one or both of her parents. Her short, short boy-like haircuts (google her images) tells me that she was, and still is, striving to get the attention her brothers received.

          I’m happy you like my Blog!
          Have a great day.

          • Ashley W says:

            another strange thing about her is that she’s in a sexual relationship with both her husband and boyfriend, and they all live together.

            • Alethea says:

              Ah! Interesting no? People don’t realize that human beings live out their unresolved issues from childhood through their daily relationships, experiences, choices etc. It’s subconscious pain , fear, shame, trauma, and guilt disguised as conscious choices.

Comments are closed.