Mother In Beating Video Is Just As Guilty of Felony Child Abuse and Assault

Well, I am sure most of you have seen or heard of the highly disturbing video of the Judge in Texas who used a leather strap to beat his 16 year-old daughter, who has cerebral palsy.

What a fucked up family. The mother makes me sick. I wish both the Judge and the girl’s mother could be prosecuted for felony child abuse, but apparently, the Statute of Limitations has run out.

If you have not seen the video, it is 7 minutes long, and very graphic and painful to watch. You can see it by clicking here.

“The 7 ½-minute video, uploaded by 23-year-old Hillary Adams, shows Aransas County Court-at-Law Judge William Adams viciously whipping his then-16-year-old daughter with a strap.”

Matt Lauer interviewed the mother and daughter on the TODAY show on Thursday. Hillary says:

“I think (my father) has been punished enough just by seeing this go public like this, and I think he just really needs help and rehabilitation,” she said. “I regret that some of my friends and some people close to me have kind of had trouble with this, and of course, I regret that it’s my own father. I’m having very mixed feelings about that, but at the same time people are telling me that I did the right thing, so there have been definitely different emotions.’’

Watch the interview with Hillary, I am not so certain she had any good intentions in releasing this video. I think all three of them have very serious psychological issues and Hillary had better get her reason straight for making this video public. It certainly wasn’t to help anyone. She could have turned it over to police, and to CPS to help her little sister, who still visits the father. She could have shown it to the court system to have her father investigated on his rulings in child abuse cases. She could have handled it many different ways if she “just wanted him to get help.”

What is her true motivation for putting it on Youtube? Why wait 7 years? She took the video because she was sick of the beatings, but when she was old enough to defend herself and after she moved out of the home, she still didn’t do anything with it.

“On the day of the beating, Hillary, who has cerebral palsy, was caught by her parents downloading illegal music off the Internet. Such extreme discipline at the hands of her father occurred regularly, she claimed, so she secretly set up a camera on her dresser and covered the red “on” light with a scarf. Half an hour later, she received the punishment that is shown on YouTube, as her father repeatedly barks, “Bend over the bed!’’ amidst an expletive-filled rant. He beats her with a leather switch on the legs, arms and buttocks while she cries out.

At one point, Hallie, who divorced Judge Adams four years ago, also smacks Hillary with the strap while saying, “You turn over like a 16-year-old and take it, like a grown woman!’’

Watch the video, and you will see that the mother willingly takes the strap from the father and orders her daughter to get ready to be spanked; continuously pointing her finger at her. The father then leaves the room, and the mother hits her daughter with force.

“Get on your goddamn stomach!” she says.

Later in the video, the mother totally blames the daughter, she removes all responsibility from herself so she doesn’t get blamed for her daughter downloading the music.

She then says, “Now I will leave you alone!” and slams the bedroom door shut.

“Hallie learned of the video in April of this year, and saw it for the first time this weekend. She defended her participation in the incident, saying that her husband’s physical and emotional abuse had “brainwashed’’ her.”

Bullshit. She practically enjoyed whipping her daughter. She’s no victim. The father didn’t tell her, or even order her, to take the strap and hit her daughter. She willingly took it from him and joined in, and with anger, towards her daughter.

“I lived in an environment of dysfunction, and it steadily got worse,’’ Hallie said. “I was completely brainwashed and controlled. I did every single thing that he did. When I leave the room, he’s telling me what to say, what to do.’’

Oh? We must have missed that part of the video.

“In an interview with a local news affiliate, Judge Adams responded to questions about the video and the claims of his wife and daughter.

“In my mind, I haven’t done anything wrong other than discipline my child after she was caught stealing,’’ he said. “I did lose my temper, but I have since apologized. It looks worse than it is. There is a story. It will come out in due time.’’

“I think the story that’s going to come out in due time in his mind is that he has projected his problem on to me,’’ Hallie told TODAY. “For the entire four years since I’ve left the marriage, I’ve been abused and harassed with texts (and) emails.’’

Boo hoo. Woe’s me.

“Hillary held on to the video for seven years until a series of small disputes with her father led her to post it on the site Reddit. It quickly went viral.

“I waited seven years because back then I was still a minor and living under his roof and releasing it then, I don’t know what would’ve happened to me and my mother and my little sister,’’ Hillary said. “So waiting until today, seven years later, was about me being able to pull away and distance myself from the consequences.

“It was the straw that broke the camel’s back. It wasn’t any huge happening. I told him I had the video, and he didn’t seem to think anything of it and basically dared me to post it.’ Judge William Adams is not fit to be anywhere near the law system if he can’t even exercise fit judgment as a parent himself,’’ a note on the video reads.

“I think wishing anybody to lose their job is not a really good thing to do,’’ Hillary said. “His being fit for the job, that’s something that I really can’t say that he is.’’

If Hillary didn’t want him to lose his job, and didn’t want justice, and thinks he “suffered enough” then why did she post it? Why didn’t she just keep it hidden like it has been all these years? What self-motivated reason is there for her to release it now? Is the mother the one who told her to do it?

I’m sorry, I know Hillary was a victim of terrible beatings, but she strikes me as not having good reasons for putting the video on Youtube, and for not taking it to authorities instead. Was she blackmailing him until now? Was the mother blackmailing him? Who knows?

“Hillary, who lives on her own, has reconciled with her mother.

“We’re very close now, and when I showed her the video, she started crying and hasn’t stopped apologizing,’’ Hillary said. “I forgive her because she knows everything that happened.’’

I don’t care if Hillary forgives her mother, and don’t know what mother and daughter’s collaboration is involved in posting the video, but mommy dearest is just as guilty of felony assault on a child, and they ALL need psychological help.

______________________________________________________________

TODAY show Interview

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse, Crime, rape and abuse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Mother In Beating Video Is Just As Guilty of Felony Child Abuse and Assault

  1. little nel says:

    Hillary’s mother stated that she has taken responsibility for her part in the beating. She has made amends to Hillary and they have been reconciled. She is divorcing “the judge” because he has not agreed that the beating was wrong and refuses counseling.

    The mother stated (I’m paraphrasing) that she knew that she would look bad on the video and that she would be scrutinized for her part but she believes that Hillary’s motives are not spiteful as they both were in counseling together.

    Hillary does not believe that she can be reconciled with her father until he changes his attitude.

  2. little nel says:

    I want to express that when I first saw the video of the “punishing judge” lashing his daughter, my first reaction was thinking that I used see God as the “punishing judge” who lashed out at his children and caused them horrible pain because they disobeyed.

    It took me a long time to understand the concept of a “loving God” because of childhood abuse, as all I understood was a “punishing God” like my parents taught me vicariously.

    • Alethea says:

      Little Nel. It took me about fifteen years of intensive therapy to stop associating God with my parents. I no longer feel “God is punishing me” whenever something unpleasant or challenging, or painful happens in my life. But my father being a police officer and my mother being a devout Catholic, embedded the image of a punishing God, even more, in my child-brain. Not to mention, the death threats on my life and the choking.

  3. little nel says:

    I watched my mother become the angry abuser after my abusive father left our home.

    My mother claimed to be “protecting” us from “him” but she soon picked up where he left off. I have seen this “phenomena” repeated many times in women who have left the abusive husband.

    They take on the attitude (excuses, alibis, justifications, denial..etc.) and behavior that they claim to hate in the spouse.

  4. Alethea says:

    Courtesy note to the “anonymous” poster who can’t seem to read anything I say about women who abuse, who are selfish, and who commit crimes against children….without taking it personally:

    As of last night, I stopped reading your comments, and stopped posting them. So if you like wasting your time, keep posting comments. But you bore me, so please go find a blog that caters to your belief system.

    Goodbye.

  5. Alethea says:

    What good is it that she posted the video on YouTube? How does that “help” her father? All she had to do was take a copy of the tape to the court system, to authorities, to the divorce proceedings to keep him away from having visitation with her little sister. She chose to public shame him instead. Posting it to Youtube looks vindictive and ugly. If the court system felt it necessary to release the video to the world, then so be it, but she did not even attempt proper channels first. It seems she held onto it until her father dared her, or until she was cut off from something. This is based on her own words.

    ”Alethea has stated that she wants to open society’s eyes to the abuse that goes on in middle-class, ”respectable,” ”normal” families.”

    “…I feel slightly confused.”

    There is a way of going about things Serieve. There is a code of ethics, a code of moral prudence. It is this same moral law that keeps me from going around blasting my family with my blog and my books, and with my memories. I don’t use my last name here, and won’t use it when I publish my manuscripts, because there is no reason for me to do so. I do not need to publicly shame my family in order to help others.

    Hilary seems to have posted the video out of revenge or a self-centered need to show the world what an abuser he is. If she truly wanted him to get help, she could have taken it to people who can help him. What do you think, that just because she was once abused, and has cerebral palsy, that she is incapable of being an ugly, vindictive person?

    Maybe she needed to do it to relieve herself of anger, or to show everyone “hey, this is what happened to me!” and I understand those things, but when we human beings don’t use prudence, and cater only to our needs, we end up doing a lot of harm to other human beings. I waited a year before coming out to my family because I needed to speak about the incest, without a need for revenge or to harm my mother. I needed to speak my truth and talk about what happened to me from a place of center and from a place of truth and love –not from a place of anger and spite. People should rid themselves of their rage before they take very serious actions against another human being.

    There is an account of a grown woman, who was sexually abused as a child, and who got a group of her friends together, and they ganged up on her abuser at his place of work and confronted him in front of his boss and employees. Another woman announced that she was sexually abused by her grandfather, at his funeral. These things go against the golden rule. There is a time and place for everything, even for revealing child abuse. *Of course, it is different if the abuse is happening right now, and the victim has to do something drastic to stop it.*

    • little nel says:

      I was very confused for a lot of years because of childhood abuse. Hillary maybe confused and she may cherish her mother’s remorse and the reconciliation that has taken place.

      She is allowed to make mistakes considering the torture that she endured by a very very very powerful abuser. Who could fault her for her mistakes when she has suffered so needlessly because her father is cruel?

      He did the crime! Now the consequences are too harsh? The humiliation too great? He told Hillary that he didn’t care if she went public with the video. He had a choice.

      • Alethea says:

        Little Nel, I think what I am having trouble with is Hillary being hailed as a hero when I am not so sure she is.

        Quotes from a recent article: “Hallie Adams appeared with her daughter Hillary in a TV interview in which they described years of abuse in their ‘dysfunctional’ family and Hillary revealed her father dared her to post the video online.”

        It sounds more like blackmail, or “I’ll get you” than to help the court system to have a fair, upright, and honest judge.

        “Hillary Adams also told CNN’s Anderson Cooper that she uploaded the video to make it clear her father was in ‘some denial about the way you are treating me and my mother’.”

        Again, it seems to be more about ‘how you are treating us *right now*’ ….instead of, ‘I want to help him and to stop him from having visitation with my little sister.’

        “He released a three-page statement, saying his daughter posted the clip to get back at him for telling her he would be reducing the amount of financial support he gives her and taking away her Mercedes.”

        If true, then she is being dishonest about wanting to help him and didn’t really care about him sitting as a judge.

        “She added there was no one incident that caused her to post the tape but simply enduring abuse from her father over many years. ‘It was the straw that broke the camel’s back,’ she said.”

        What was the straw? Why didn’t she care enough to get him off the bench or help him until he laid out that last straw?

        “‘It wasn’t any, you know, huge happening or anything. I just told him I had the video and he didn’t seem to think anything of it and basically dared me to post it.'”

        You see, this sounds more like just wanting to shock him and the world, or to defy him; not about helping him or to stop him from hearing child abuse cases or to help her little sister.

        “As a result of the furore, the video was being examined by the District Attorney and previous controversial judgements Judge Adams made in cases involving children have come to light.”

        They could have examined the video without it being posted on Youtube first. She just had to take it in.

        “Judge Adams also agreed with a lawyer who claimed all children are ‘fantasisers’ and their testimony should just be ignored.”

        Well thank God he is being examined. But the manner in which this came down, and her being hailed as a hero is what I have a problem with.

        “From her Twitter account, Hillary Adams tweeted: ‘Please spread the word that my father needs professional help and not hatred. We can offer him the tools to be a better person. ‘It is my wish that people stop threatening my father and start offering professional help. That is what he really needs.'”

        Well what on earth did she expect, other than threats and hatred towards him by posting it to youtube? She was innocent as a teenager and child while she was being beaten, but I don’t like it when society uplifts those who might very well have bad intentions. Maybe she has been so threatened and intimidated by him over the past decade that she just decided to let him have it by defying his threats. I don’t know, but based on her comments, and her mother’s comments, it appears that this is not the case. I am merely commenting on the comments made by Hillary. If there is a different story, it would be nice to hear it. I would love to hear that she decided to defy a tyrant after years of threats on her life or her well-being. I’m just not hearing that.

        Source:

        http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2057419/Judge-William-Adams-beat-disabled-daughter-Hillary-video-WONT-charged.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

      • Alethea says:

        Of course she is allowed to make mistakes. Yes, of course he did the crime. Hey, action/reaction buddy. But I am having an issue with the public shaming of a person for possible self-motivated reasons. I don’t know her true reasons, I am only going by what Hillary says herself about why and why now.

        • little ne; says:

          She never had the courage to confront him until now.

          So, she could have done things differently and more discretely, but desperation causes us to do desperate things sometimes.

          He smugly dared her to go public with the video. She took the dare. She is the weaker one who is finally sticking up for herself. It’s progress not perfection that counts.

    • Serieve Marie Elizabeth Andrews says:

      ”What do you think, that just because she was once abused, and has cerebral palsy, that she is incapable of being an ugly, vindictive person?”

      Nope, not at all, Alethea. People who have all sorts of conditions, illnesses, or diseases can be vindictive, abused or no. That is what I think.

      ”There is an account of a grown woman…” I am wondering if you got these examples from ”The Courage to Heal.” You also mentioned in a post about a woman that was sexually abused by her pediatrician, I believe, and the crime involved the doctor giving the child a lollipop. This I read in CTH. Is it that these 3 accounts are in other books and I’ve only read about them in The Courage To Heal. I’m 50/50 on that book by the way. It has it’s bad, really bad, good and very good parts, like many books.

      • Alethea says:

        Yes, those accounts were from that book. I feel many good things in the book, but some bad. This was one of them. I did not like how the authors encouraged and applauded that kind of behavior.

  6. Anonymous says:

    This girl gets the hell beat out of her on a regular basis which no doubt screwed her up BIG TIME and you find fault with the way she has responded?

    • Alethea says:

      Anonymous, you have conveniently left out that I also said the judge should have been prosecuted for a felony, and that the abuse was very disturbing.

      In addition to the fact that her father is/was a child abuser and a brutal man, I ALSO feel that the way she released this video was pretty suspicious. Am I not allowed to have two opinions about the many different facets of a case?

      You might consider me a “woman-hater” but that is the same mentality as people being called “Jew-haters” when they dare criticize Israel. It is intellectually dishonest. I don’t hate anyone, but I do hate the ACTIONS of people, and hate that so many people in society forgive, defend, excuse women –merely because they are women.

      There are plenty of people like you out there, who defend women in nearly all situations of abuse. I happen to have chosen to have a less popular view, a less comfortable view, and a view that goes against the grain. If you have a problem with it, then why don’t you go start your own Blog that defends women and that supports your idea of things? Why do you keep posting here? You obviously aren’t going to convince me of anything, so why do you continue to post here? Why do you continue to read my Blog? Go find a Blog that defends most women and a Blog that supports the idea that most women are victims of dominant men.

      • Alethea says:

        If all child abuse actions are not evil, then what are they? An act of love? The word evil means “the absence of love.” Evil is anything that is contrary to the harmony and peace of life itself. Evil has been twisted into a religious word, or a word that requires an image of a monster, but evil, in its true connotation, is anything that is connected to the self.

        Andrea Yates systematically brutalized and terrorized her five boys. She waited until she could do the acts when she wouldn’t get caught. So what if she didn’t abuse them physically before that day? She probably abused them with her thoughts over the years. And the mind can alter chemicals and hormones in the person’s body. Andrea Yates most likely had a seed of selfish thoughts that eventually led to their murder. And it is a form of child abuse to continue having kids when you are already over-taxed with children.

        https://ordinaryevil.wordpress.com/2009/11/09/the-human-soul-lays-its-own-seeds-for-good-or-for-evil/

        • little nel says:

          All humans have the “seed of selfish thoughts.” Self will is something that wars against things that are holy, compassionate, forgiving, and loving.

          I still battle with thoughts of “getting even” with my parents for my perceived wrongs, real and unreal.

          I have days when I want to lash out and punish them for the hurt and pain, but I also have thoughts of “live and let live” in my mind. “Do not return evil for evil” is a constant friend that tempers my angry thoughts

          I am at war with my own self will. I have to constantly monitor my thoughts with the ideas of morality and goodness.

          I have to constantly consider the short term and far reaching consequences of my behavior. It isn’t easy but it is worth the effort as the reward is freedom, growth and happiness. When I consider the alternative…confusion…anxiety..and depression… which ruled my life in childhood, I remember the choice I have today and I am grateful.

          • Alethea says:

            Yes Little Nel, we all do. I never said we all don’t. I include myself in “all humans.” The battle against the self is a constant war for anyone who truly wants to be a Christ-conscious human being. I get so upset when people in America say they want to go fight “the enemy.” Our only enemy is our self.

            • litle nel says:

              I agree, Alethea, “the heart is deceitfully wicked” and mine is no exception. But by the grace of God, I am aware that my “enemy” is my own distorted self will.

              I constantly remind myself that I am “the problem” and that I need to look at my motives before I act.

              • Alethea says:

                Personal introspection is good Little Nel. Just be careful not to blame yourself for everything, or to think of yourself as the one with the problem in a society where the majority of people are fucked up. It’s almost always good to go against the grain.

        • Alethea says:

          Serieve, I have always thought that Russell Yates should have been charged too.

          As far as evil goes. We will never agree. Evil is the absence of love, it is action that breaks love. There is no word or description for things that are ‘not so evil.’ Most people are not evil, but everyone has both good and evil inside them, and therefore, sometimes commit evil actions against others. Some people are evil, as well as having both good and evil inside them.

    • little ne; says:

      I agree. Living with physical abuse like that is bound to make someone unreasonable and irritable. She was the child, he was the powerful judge “punnisher”, who was into lashing her as she screamed in pain.

  7. little nel says:

    Hillary’s mother has apologized and made amends to Hillary. She has taken responsibility for what happened in the video. Hillary has chosen to forgive her mother because her mother asked for forgiveness. Hillary is a loving, caring daughter towards a mother who f*cked up and is now trying to fix her relationship with her grown daughter.

    The judge on the other hand has disparaged Hillary and appears to have no remorse. He is down playing the abuse and blaming the victim. A typical response from a guilty party who craves power and control. This judge has no business sitting on a courtroom bench when his behavior indicates illegal and immoral actions.

    • Alethea says:

      Little Nel, I have to disagree. I do NOT see a woman who has taken responsibility at all. She makes excuses for herself and blames the man. She calls it brainwashing, but I bet having a nice home and a nice car might have had something to do with his “mind control” over her.

      I do not see Hillary as a loving caring daughter, and see someone who was once a victim, but who now might be a vindictive person who is exposing her father out of revenge or self-gain, not out of wanting to do the right thing. Some people, who have been victimized, end up victimizing others, and do so by just being an ugly person to others.

      Yes, the judge is not taking any responsibility at all and blames his daughter for her “having to be beaten,” but the mother is no victim and continues to blame others.

      • little nel says:

        Why would the mother and abused daughter agree to co-operate against the father in this manner? Are they “punishing” dad with public humiliation because they want him to keep financing their lifestyle?

        Is this about a pending divorce decree? and issues of child custody? spousal support? and asset settlement?

        Is this mother guilty of emotional incest? What ever she has done to abuse her daughter is now a moot point to Hillary. I don’t see the judge being “victimized” since he had the opportunity to stop the media exposure of this video. He told Hillary that he didn’t care what she did with the offensive incriminating video. Why did he not care?

        • Alethea says:

          Yes, I think divorce proceedings, custody, etc. could very well be a motive for the mother and daughter to get the father. Maybe the daughter is getting back at him for something going on in their current lives. Regardless, I never said the judge was victimized.

          But as I understood it, he dared her to post it. Maybe he did not think she really would. But there is something more going on here than just a daughter who wants her father to get help. If that were true, she would not have done this.

      • Alethea says:

        “William Adams, 51, issued a three-page statement today saying his daughter posted the clip to get back at him for telling her he would be reducing the amount of financial support he gives her and taking away her Mercedes.”http://www.freep.com/article/20111103/NEWS07/111103003/Police-Texas-Judge-won-t-charged-over-video-beating-he-says-?odyssey=nav%7Chead

        Could be some truth there. Just because someone was abused, it doesn’t mean they are a nice person and that they will always have good intentions.

        • little nel says:

          Why did he give Hillary gift offerings? Hush money? Guilt offering? I’ll pay you to keep your mouth shut?
          If you persevere, then I will say you blackmailed me and then I’m the victim and you will look like a spiteful bitch.

          What if that was his pre-approved prepared alibi when he told Hillary he didn’t care if she went public with the video?

  8. Anonymous says:

    i’m as surprised as yourself that her mother was not accused, she was clearly in the video forcing her child to be beaten..

    • little ne; says:

      The mother made amends and said that she was sorry for her part in the beatings. She can’t change what she did, but she showed remorse and regret, unlike “the judge” who spitefully dared Hillary to show the video. The mother knew that she was on the video and part of the problem and still backed Hillary.

      “The Judge” is still an angry “punnisher” bully who is not sorry.

      • Alethea says:

        Little Nel, when I originally posted my article, it was more about the mother having been a brutal beater of the child as well, not so much that Hillary did what she did. This whole topic has spun out of control because I questioned Hillary’s motives and made some personal observations. So I want to get back to my original intent (hence the title of the original post) here. You keep saying that the mother has made amends and shown regret etc. but I disagree. She cannot show regret or make full amends unless, and until, she admits that she brutally beat and abused her daughter, and allowed it to continue, out of her own free will.

        Her daughter accepts her mother’s excuses because that is what we humans do with regards to our mothers. But this woman brutally abused a child and allowed a tyrant to abuse a child. She is, in my mind, criminally and morally liable. However, she is not legally liable because of the Statute of Limitations, but she is still morally liable until she comes clean with herself, society, and her daughter.

        • litle nel says:

          What does this mother need to do to come clean with herself, society, and her daughter?

          • Alethea says:

            She needs to take full responsibility and stop blaming the man. She needs to stop blaming “his addiction” and take full responsibility for her actions. She has done nothing but blame the man.

            • little nel says:

              So true, Alethea. Until she acknowledges and accepts her own part, she will continue to play the “blame game.”

              Great observation and wisdom on your part.

Comments are closed.