Would You Turn in Friends or Family If You Caught Them Sexually Abusing Children?

Isn’t it sad that this question even has to be asked?

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse, Crime, rape and abuse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Would You Turn in Friends or Family If You Caught Them Sexually Abusing Children?

  1. Libby says:

    Without question or a shred of doubt I would, if I didn’t kill them myself first.

  2. little nel says:

    I’d call 911 right away and report a crime in progress on my cell and ask for help. Then proceed as LE instructs.

    Or, I’d scream out in anger, “Stop, you’re hurting them!” Then call for help.

    I know because I have reacted like that in the past. I have no sympathy for offenders.

    I reported a family member for elder abuse, and the Adult Protective Services did an investigation. They removed the victim, my mother, and placed her in protective custody. I was assaulted for reporting the abuse even though I had a protective order in force, at the time, because the APS thought that it was necessary.

    I take bodyguards with me to the nursing home to visit my mother now because the APS told me that the violent offender who attacked me, who is now out of jail, is more dangerous to me now than ever before.

    It is all worth it to me because the abuse was exposed and it ended, because I reported what I saw even though I faced violent repercussions.

  3. SurvivorSunshine says:

    I LOVE this! But it’s still not as simple as these guys are making it, though I love their no nonsense way of discussing this issue. Cognitive dissonance is real, so you can say how you would react and still do nothing when placed in that position. I’m in no way excusing the Penn State officials, I REPEAT- I’m not excusing them and I’m so glad they are under fire. All of them. But I think it’s really easy to claim how you would turn someone that you respect or love in immediately, regardless of the consequences you face. I would do it and not care what happens to me because protecting a child would be my primary concern. Especially if I saw it with my own eyes and there was no way for the abuser to spin it. But I have personal experience to back up my claim.

    I’ve been in a position of being the whistle-blower on secondhand info and got vilified repeatedly by people unwilling to admit or face the truth about the abuse. It’s disgusting how many nice, loving and seemingly compassionate people are silent partners to abusers. That is EXACTLY why it’s so prevalent. People will always want to give the abuser the benefit of the doubt or look the other way, without giving the victims a second thought. If I have concrete proof or a child confesses to me, I’m going straight to the cops. But most of the time, we don’t have proof or the victim recants or minimizes, then we are left with nothing but scorn and accusations of meddling. I lost my marriage and a decades long friendship because I could NOT stay quiet about the abuse. My husband wanted to stay codependent with his abuser and my best friend preferred the company of a man over her daughter’s safety. Very sick but very real.

    • Alethea says:

      In spite of the fact that you “lost” him and went through hell, I see that you stood up for truth and when we do that, 99% of the time, we stand alone. But I do not think that you lost anything. You gained your self-respect and kept it.

      • little nel says:

        So true, Alethea.
        Integrity and self-respect go hand in hand and after the “dust settles” we can know that we did something courageous in spite of the “roadblocks.”

      • SurvivorSunshine says:

        True. Everyone in my husband’s family KNOWS how I feel about his adopted father and that he is a pedophile. I was pretty much vindicated about him being a sick man after their mom died and he refused to come to the hospital or funeral but was calling around about the insurance policy beneficiaries. Yeah, he’s a psychopath hidden in plain sight. The brothers stopped speaking to him for a while but now I hear he’s back in their good graces.

        I hope that one day my actions towards my former best friend’s daughter are also vindicated. I’m almost certain she or her sister may be in an abusive situation with her mother’s new man but I have no more proof than a hunch. I know my daughter keeps in touch with them on Twitter (she forbid them to talk to her when our fallout happened). Hopefully, one day they will get away from their mom and get healed. Their mom was abused by her dad and brothers so it’s the usual sick cycle repeating itself.

  4. Andre' says:

    “Id beat them up, then call the police.” They are not family/friends at that point. I second that

Comments are closed.