Child Sexual Abuse Doesn’t Take a Christmas Break

Out of respect for the suffering of the countless victims, who continue to be sexually abused, even on Christmas Day, I am posting this article:

Karen Beeson described her Christmas mornings as a day in which the rapes and sexual abuse began even before the children were allowed to open presents.

Karen’s mother used to make Karen serve her step-father, Jesse Beeson, coffee in bed on Christmas Day. Karen was then made to have sex with him. According to Karen, she was her mother’s Christmas present to her husband.

Karen’s sister Kathy would sometimes offer to take Karen’s place, but their mother would not allow it.

The sexual abuse began when the girls were four or five years old and continued for years, until Karen finally told her track coaches. She then called a child abuse hotline.

After Jesse Beeson’s arrest, the mother of the three victims paid the perpetrator’s bail and fled with him. The television program America’s Most Wanted aired an episode which highlighted the Beeson escape and the parents were eventually caught when telephone tips began pouring into the program’s hotline.

After the arrest of the parents, Jesse Beeson pleaded guilty and received twenty years in prison. The victim’s mother sat behind her husband in court, and in total support of him. To my knowledge she has not served a day in prison for her crime.

In 1994, when the sisters were 18, 19 and 21, the oldest daughter said, “It was a secret that caused me so much pain and shame that it is still hard for me to talk about it today. I also found myself having to deal with the fact that my mother has made the choice to forgive and support my stepfather instead of me.”…”I just can’t bring myself to accept her as part of my life. The first step in rebuilding my life is that I’m in the process of changing my name to my natural father’s name.”

______________________________________________________________

America’s Most Wanted

Chicago Tribune 1994

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse, Crime, rape and abuse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Child Sexual Abuse Doesn’t Take a Christmas Break

  1. Andre' says:

    I find it ironic that we celebrate the Prince of Peace’s “Birthday” yet there is so much suffering in the world.
    Your work is appreciated and it doesn’t go unnoticed by me.
    Peace and Goodwill on Earth, Lady

    • Alethea says:

      Yes, much suffering, but as Jesus said…. He did not come to change the world. His Kingdom is not of this world. This is Satan’s paradise.

Comments are closed.