Paterno: “I Never Heard Of Rape and a Man. So I Just Did What I Thought Was Best.”

Are you kidding me? An 85 year-old man, who has lived a lifetime, and who is far from sheltered, has never heard that men are raped!?

It was a child Mr. Paterno, not a man.

And just because you have never heard of a certain type of sexual crime against a child, it doesn’t mean you ignore it.

Post image for Joe Paterno, Penn St., Massachusetts Asset Protection and Fraudulent Property Transfers

The Washington Post has gotten the first interview with Joe Paterno since Paterno was fired in the wake of the allegations of child rape against Jerry Sandusky.

Below is Paterno’s version of what happened in 2002 when Mike McQueary told Joe Paterno that he heard slapping sounds, saw a naked Sandusky with his arm around a naked boy in the locker room shower, and witnessed several mintues of what McQueary felt was child rape.

From the Post:

“McQueary, sitting at Paterno’s kitchen table, told him that he had been at the football building late the evening before when he heard noises coming from the shower.

“He was very upset and I said why, and he was very reluctant to get into it,” Paterno said. “He told me what he saw, and I said, what? He said it, well, looked like inappropriate, or fondling, I’m not quite sure exactly how he put it. I said you did what you had to do. It’s my job now to figure out what we want to do. So I sat around. It was a Saturday. Waited till Sunday because I wanted to make sure I knew what I was doing. And then I called my superiors and I said, ‘Hey, we got a problem, I think. Would you guys look into it?’ Cause I didn’t know, you know. We never had, until that point, 58 years I think, I had never had to deal with something like that. And I didn’t feel adequate.”

Paterno sat around? He waited until Sunday? I wonder if any more boys were raped during the time Paterno sat around on a nice Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning? When he finally decided to take action, he asked two men who were not even there, and who did not have the allegations relayed to them personally, to “look into it.”

“I didn’t know exactly how to handle it and I was afraid to do something that might jeopardize what the university procedure was,” he said. “So I backed away and turned it over to some other people, people I thought would have a little more expertise than I did. It didn’t work out that way.”

What he meant was this: “I didn’t know exactly how to handle it and I was afraid to do something that might jeopardize the university.”

Paterno’s superiors were the athletic director Tim Curley and the university vice president Gary Schultz. Curley and Schultz have both been charged with failing to report suspected child abuse, and both are charged with purgery.

“Paterno set up a meeting for McQueary with Curley and Schultz, and McQueary has said he was more graphic in his description of what he witnessed. If he’d done that while talking to Paterno, Paterno isn’t sure it would have made much of a difference — or pushed him to report the act to the authorities.”

I wonder how long it took to set up the meeting? How many more times was a child raped before the meeting even took place? and Paterno isn’t sure that being more graphic would have caused him to take different action?

“You know, he didn’t want to get specific,” Paterno said. “And to be frank with you I don’t know that it would have done any good, because I never heard of, of, rape and a man. So I just did what I thought was best. I talked to people that I thought would be, if there was a problem, that would be following up on it.”

Paterno admits right here that rape was described to himself and to his superiors. What did these men need to do something? A videotape of the rape probably would not have jarred them into action either. Did they need to be raped themselves to figure out that a child needs help, and that a sexual predator needs to be stopped immediately?

The Post reports:

“The Paternos (Joe and his wife, Sue) discuss the alleged victims of child abuse and compare them to their children. “I got three boys and two girls,” Paterno said. “It’s sickening. … Violence is not the way to handle it,” he said. “But for me, I’d get a bunch of guys and say let’s go punch somebody in the nose.” Sue went further. “If someone touched my child, there wouldn’t be a trial, I would have killed them,” she said. “That would be my attitude, because you have destroyed someone for life.”

Oh, so if it had been one of their own children, things would have been quite different! The Paternos are essentially saying that if their child had been raped by Sandusky, then they would have taken different action.

But because it was someone else’s child, they never said a word and let it go for ten years; until someone else decided to stop it.

______________________________________________________

usatoday.com

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse, Crime, rape and abuse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Paterno: “I Never Heard Of Rape and a Man. So I Just Did What I Thought Was Best.”

  1. little nel says:

    One thing is clear, mandatory reporting laws were ignored.

    The courageous mother who did call the police was treated like a bothersome “whiner” who needed to be placated.

    This shit happens all the time!!!!

  2. little nel says:

    Remember Ellie Neffler? The mother who shot her son’s rapist because he was going to get away with raping her son, just as he had done in the past.

    She had made a point.

    The rapist got the therapy, the lawyers, the doctors, the protection, and whatever else he needed. Her child got a life sentence of pain. His life was destroyed.

    Of course, it would have been different if it had been someone else’s son. Ellie would not have been so upset over someone else’s son. She had no vested interest in anyone’s child but her own. His suffering drove her to extremes.

    If Jerry had abused Nellie’s son things would have been different. Who is willing to “go the extra mile” for someone else’s child when so much protection is given to offenders? That is why we have mandatory reporting laws.

    • Alethea says:

      I remember Ellie Nesler all too well. I had not yet remembered my own experience with incest, and did not know anyone who was abused (at that time, none of my friends, who were abused, told me they were), and did not have any conscious reason to be interested in the case, but I recall feeling very happy and personally satisfied when she killed her son’s molester.

      I wrote about the case, with an update on Willy in an article. The link is below. I think you will like it.

      https://ordinaryevil.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/remember-ellie-nesler/

      But I feel differently than you do about the comparison. I feel that, even if Nellie would not shoot the molester of another child, she would probably feel outrage and maybe even take up a cause, sign petitions etc etc if another child’s molester were to be given only probation.

      The difference with Paterno, and men and women like him, is that they hear of a non-related child being molested or raped, and they simply go about their day. They might say, “oh, isn’t that terrible” and then go about their day; but they will not take out any time or energy to defend/protest/protect anyone but their own.

      I see Ellie as a woman who would rally and take up a campaign for a child that was not her own.

      • little nel says:

        I agree about Ellie Nesler, not Neffler as I was in error.

        I was thinking the same thing. She would have done more than those “men” at Penn State for that boy. She would have called the police immediately and become an alarming, bothersome, and outraged voice for the victim.

      • little nel says:

        I agree about your thoughts and conclusions about Willy. Great article, Alethea.

        I was happy to hear that Willy’s rapist was dead. It was proof that the rapist would never rape another child again.

        Maybe if that rapist had been jailed for his first rape, all of this tragedy might have been prevented.

        The repercussions of injustice always seem to foster anger/rage and more injustice. The legal system failed to protect Willy, and many other children, including you and me. It leaves us feeling sabotaged, abandoned, and abused by the legal system.

        I remember being distraught, at age 6, because a judge had “decreed” that we be expelled from our home. His decree left us homeless and destitute. My father just bought another new home and moved in his new family. He and the judge were disaffected by our plight.

        The judge/legal system was disaffected by Willey’s rape and loss of his mother/protector and it all could have been prevented if that rapist had been jailed.

Comments are closed.