“My So-Called Miserable Life”

Lately a couple of people have come to the conclusion that because of my Blog content, I must have a  “miserable” life. I have not approved their comments because their remarks serve no purpose, but I thought I would address their so-called concern for me.

Do they actually think this Blog is my entire existence and that just because I write about uncomfortable topics, horrific crimes against children, and the suffering that victims and survivors endure it means my life is joyless?

So just for clarity, I do have a life outside this Blog, and thanks be to God, it is often a beautiful life.  Of course I still have stress, worries, and emotional situations, but that’s a part of life for everyone.

I used to be bed-ridden and so sick with multiple physical problems and psychological disturbances that my life was once hell on earth. I have overcome seemingly insurmountable suffering; but anytime I mention my suffering, it is in reference to suffering from the past.

Yes I still get angry over child abuse issues, the human denial system, perpetrators, and ignorance. But anger is merely an energy –often used for taking action, speaking truths, standing up to injustice, and defending the innocent. I would rather see more anger in this world than all the indifference and selfishness out there.

The people that made those snide comments think my Blog “doesn’t inspire” survivors of abuse, or do anything good for anyone. If that’s true, then why do I have so many readers who have thanked me for my Blog?

If I have not actually “inspired” anyone, then maybe that’s my fault. Maybe I have not presented the part of my world that is harmonious with life, love, and joy.

I live with my husband in a Sacred place, filled with nature and wildlife. We have three of the most beautiful, magical, and charismatic pets on the planet. My hobbies are photography, hiking, mountain-biking, snowboarding, snowshoeing…and I love music.

I love giving dinner parties and find a lot of joy in cooking for anyone and everyone who likes my food. I love a good film, chocolate, and baseball. My favorite time of the day is what I call the “magic hour,” when sunset is close, and it’s quiet and peaceful. I am known to capture a pretty good photo or two at “magic hour.”

Thanks to my hypno-analysis therapy, the photos below capture my life and heart as it is now. My husband of 19 years, who stuck by me through my hell, took these photos in the past two months. These photos do not capture a “miserable life.”

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to “My So-Called Miserable Life”

  1. little nel says:

    “When the road is rough the reward is great!”

    You have displayed greatness, kindness, wisdom, and truthfulness on your blog. You have been a light to us who have suffered unreasonable and horrible abuse in childhood.

    Only a dumb ass offender would have the poor perspective to accuse you of being “miserable” when in fact, you are a beautiful woman with courage and compassion.

    You also have a great husband and beautiful dog. A husband who likes looking at you and taking pictures of you because you are beautiful and a dog who wants to be your best friend. What more could a woman want?

    • Alethea says:

      Thanks so much Little Nel. I certainly fall at times and go off my center sometimes, but thank you for all of your kind words and your sincerity. It’s a powerful and painful topic, so it’s hard not to become passionate about it, and to subsequently irritate or enrage some people.

      My dog, my husband, our cats, and the wildlife are my family now. I am grateful for them all.

  2. Marjie says:

    I, for one, am encouraged by you. Thanks, Marjie

    • SurvivorSunshine says:

      Me, as well. You are GORGEOUS! I know as abuse victims we can be labeled “over-sensitive” yet that same sensitivity lets us see so many things that others ignore. I’d rather be in touch with my emotions and see all the colors of the beautiful rainbow than live a gray, joyless life where I’m so threatened by other happy people. Please don’t ever let another human being steal your god-given JOY! Stay blessed, Alethea!

      • SurvivorSunshine says:

        I just realized (in tears) the words I just wrote to you, God wants me to hear for myself. THANK YOU for this blog!

        • Alethea says:

          Sunshine, that was intuitive of you. Some people don’t get that the words they say or write are sometimes meant for them as much as the other person.

          You’re awesome.

      • Alethea says:

        “I’d rather be in touch with my emotions and see all the colors of the beautiful rainbow than live a gray, joyless life where I’m so threatened by other happy people.”

        You are a true child of God.

        “Please don’t ever let another human being steal your god-given JOY!”

        Thank you Sunshine. Sometimes I allow them to affect me, but this time I used their comments as a spring board for this post, and I am glad I did! I should thank them.

    • Alethea says:

      Thank you Marjie 🙂

  3. Shana Dines says:

    You definitely don’t look like you live a miserable life! In fact it looks very idyllic. I think you are very inspiring and that you talk about very important issues like speaking up for victims and making perpetrators accountable. Those who criticize you are probably perpetrators themselves or in denial over how damaging sexual abuse is. You are inspiring to me and to many other who are recovering, and those who need the courage to start facing their abuse.

    • Alethea says:

      Thank you Shana. You are an inspiration to me as well. I think you are talented, thoughtful, and working hard on dealing with a very difficult manner of having been abused (mother/daughter incest) You are courageous.

  4. tifed3 says:

    There is no need to defend yourself to ignorance. I am entirely thankful I found your blog. To those of us who have sexual abuse touch our lives – you are a godsend….. Thank you!

    • Alethea says:

      Boy, everyone sure came out of the woodwork with this one! Thanks so much….whoever you are! I appreciate the encouragement.

      All my best,
      Alethea

  5. psychospiritualfun says:

    If I could press “like” on this post twice, I would. 🙂

  6. julie says:

    I am sorry you have received nasty comments….i always appreciate your blog entries, and have never thought of you as having a “miserable” life. I wouldn’t subscribe to your blog if you didn’t provide thoughtful content.

    • Alethea says:

      Thank you Julie. It’s okay, those nasty comments inspired this post and it turned out to be a good thing because I have all of this encouragement, support, and love coming out of seemingly nowhere!

Comments are closed.