Mother Receives 30 Years in Prison For Failure To Protect Children

“The mother of three children who were allegedly sexually abused while the family lived in squalid motels and behind a storefront at Merle Hay Mall has been sentenced to spend up to 30 years in prison because she did nothing to stop the alleged abuse.

Kijua Beaudrie, 35, pleaded guilty in September to three counts of neglecting a dependent person. Her husband, James Beaudrie, 37, faces a January trial on nine charges of sexual abuse and three counts of child endangerment.

Polk County prosecutor Frank Severino said Kijua Beaudrie “not only knew that the sexual abuse was going on … but at times actually allowed it to continue” by taking her other children and placing them in a different room when the alleged abuse would occur. Prosecutors say Kijua Beaudrie lied to authorities when they began to investigate her husband because she was “determined to make her marriage work.”

Several of the Beaudries’ nine children reportedly wrote now-sealed letters to Polk County District Judge Scott Rosenberg asking that their mother not be sent to prison.

“That’s ironic, that they’re standing up for her at a time when she never stood up for them,” Severino said in court.”

Children love their parents, even when they are abusing them, or even if the parent does not love the child. With a child-like innocence, they are quick to forgive.  It is perfectly normal for her children to feel as they do, but society cannot allow the forgiveness and love of a child to dictate laws which protect those very children.

“Defense attorney Laura Lockwood argued Thursday that Kijua Beaudrie’s low self-esteem due to post-traumatic stress disorder from Beaudrie’s own childhood sexual abuse could have made it more difficult for her to come forward before the couple were arrested in April.”

Low self-esteem and PTSD are common in the men who rape and abuse children. If we excuse the mother for not protecting her child from a rapist, we must also excuse the rapist.

“Kijua Beaudrie has been living at a woman’s halfway house since July and has focused on rebuilding her relationship with her children, according to court testimony. She has taken life skills classes and participated in 90 minutes per week of therapy.”

Women who allow child sexual abuse are part of the root of child sexual abuse.

“She was isolated, she was controlled,” Beacon of Life case manager Julie Bardin said of Beaudrie in court. “She had no opinion, and she was threatened many times.

“She was victimized, just in a different way.”

No, she said she was determined to make her marriage work and she lied to the authorities when they could have arrested the rapist. She is an enabler and just like in most of the cases of these women –she wanted to keep her man and was willing to sacrifice her children to do so.

“Kijua Beaudrie acknowledged in a statement to Rosenberg that “by me not getting us out of that, I let my children go through hell. And it hurts. I’m not proud of my lack of actions.”

Lockwood said her client “anxiously awaits being able to testify at trial on behalf of her children.”

But Rosenberg ultimately rejected pleas for a suspended sentence and probation, arguing that Kijua Beaudrie had failed to live up to a fundamental responsibility of being a parent.

“The protection of one’s own children is usually something that we as humans take on not only willingly but with commitment and ferocity as the danger increases or is prolonged,” Rosenberg said. Court reports show Beaudrie is obviously intelligent and “could have acted with little danger to yourself on behalf of those who were defenseless, but you did nothing.”

Beaudrie was led quietly from the courthouse in handcuffs. When she enters state prison, she immediately will be eligible for parole.”

Thirty years might be pretty harsh, but she should spend some time in prison, and these laws must be enforced. Women need to know they will be prosecuted and sentenced to prison for failure to protect the innocent.

____________________________________________________________

desmoinesregister

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Mother Receives 30 Years in Prison For Failure To Protect Children

  1. Cati says:

    I’m going to add that this book is a big trigger to people physically or emotionally abused. Not only because it describes terrible humiliations, but because (unlike other books I’ve read about this type of abuse) it talks a lot about the victim’s feelings. It’s not a simple description of what happened or how events unfolded, he talks a lot about the confusion and sense of both love and betrayal.

    • Alethea says:

      Hi Cati. I had a hard time with that book because at the time I read it, I was feeling ZERO self-worth and thought I was nothing but a piece of shit –an “it.”

      You might like my book. I am in the final stages of getting it published. I’ll post when it gets up and ready for sale. I won’t make it very expensive because many abuse survivors struggle with money. I know I did.

  2. little nel says:

    I think that the judge in this case was wise. He recognized that this woman could have acted on behalf of those who were defenseless, but did nothing.

    I wish that this judge could hear the case of those in power at Penn State who refused to act on behalf of those boys who were defenseless against Jerry Sandusky, but did nothing.

    • Alethea says:

      Yes, there must be evidence in this case that the article did not mention. 30 years is a stiff penalty.

  3. seizehope says:

    I am living this nightmare and trying to find my way out. As a raped child I told my mother and Grandparents about the abuse, CPS investigated, and the police came to me asking me to confirm or deny the abuse. I told, my siblings told, and nobody helped us. My sister and brother died as teenagers when they left home trying to find safety. For years I did not understand why nobody helped, but the police could have and should have taken action but did nothing. The message from everybody was to get over it, and if not it is my fault, and my problem.

    As a child and young adult I was helpless and believed authorities when I was told statutes of limitations had run out; why would I question the very people you are supposed to go to for help. I did not know they were wrong, and the problem was compounded by the counselors that told me statutes of limitations had run out, because THEY ARE OF THE OPINION IT IS TOO TRAUMATIZING FOR VICTIMS TO PROSECUTE THE RAPIST! Apparently, when I was abused and raped for nineteen-years, somehow I did not deserve the right to make that choice MYSELF. To this day it is hurtful knowing solid evidence, in multiple undeniable forms exists, and would result in a successful prosecution, but the law protects the man who raped his three children, and was the indirect cause of two of their deaths, while expecting me to accept this slap in the face as JUSTICE.

    It has been hard trying to understand why, why, why, however, does not compare to hearing my mother say, “I wish you would have told me, ignoring that I did, and she saw it with her own eyes and did nothing. I am fighting to change the child rape statutes of limitations in WA State. My mother was wrong not to protect her children, but so were the other people who saw or knew about us being abused while they looked the other way. The Sandusky trial helped to get people talking about the fate of victims when people know and hide behind, I did not know what to do, so I did nothing. With luck and help we will be successful in drawing a clear line in the sand, putting child rapists on notice they will never be granted immunity or closure which some jerks think a child rapist DESERVES. And according to the WA Sex Offender Policy Board, grants closure to child rapists to foster a more forward looking society. This fact is online on their website along with a lot of other opinions they rely on when making decisions concerning victims rights to a fair hand in our justice system.

    I believe with my whole heart that if you do not like the way things are, than you must be willing to be art of the solution or change you want to see, or do not complain about the way things are.

    • Alethea says:

      Dear Seizehope,

      “The message from everybody was to get over it, and if not it is my fault, and my problem.”

      Thank you, because you have inspired my latest post:https://ordinaryevil.wordpress.com/2012/11/04/the-crux-of-the-continuation-of-child-sexual-abuse/

      “It has been hard trying to understand why, why, why, however, does not compare to hearing my mother say, “I wish you would have told me,” ignoring that I did, and she saw it with her own eyes and did nothing.”

      Keep up the good work on your fighting to change the child rape statutes of limitations in WA State. I would still like to work towards getting laws implemented, and enforced, that put women in prison for failure to protect.

      “I believe with my whole heart that if you do not like the way things are, than you must be willing to be art of the solution or change you want to see, or do not complain about the way things are.”

      I agree. I have always taken action when and how I could. Keep us posted on your work.

      Alethea

  4. Stacy says:

    Here is another “mother” that WAS sentenced.. but is ALREADY up for parole and will be for each year until she is paroled or her sentence is served. This is a FB link and resources/addresses to WRITE LOTS OF LETTERS to keep this piece of trash in jail. I wrote my letter, I hope lots more do too. RIP Emma.

    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Justice-For-Emma-Thompson/203731323059815

  5. little nel says:

    I felt helpless also and it made me more angry. Trying to convince someone who can’t connect with you emotionally/intimately like you crave, to give you unconditional love, when they don’t have it to give, makes a person feel like a failure.

    All I could get from my family was “conditional” love and they made the rules for that game, until I was ready to take my time, treasure, and talent with me to discovery of something better.

    It usually takes five years for a woman to emotionally detach or “get over” a relationship with a spouse, no matter how difficult they acted or how unavailable they were in the relationship. If you accomplished that in two years, kudos to you, because you must have been focused.

    • Cati says:

      Things were complicated. It took me 2 years to be able to completely cut all communications with him, but it took quite some extra time to work with what happened. Of course I still got issues to deal with.

      • little nel says:

        You are a brave soul, Cati. I applaud you for your perseverance and determination to free yourself from the abuse.

        • Cati says:

          You are brave too!. It takes a pair to be able to speak out about incest, abuse, rape, conditional love… these are hard topics that many people don’t want to hear about.
          We’re all brave – only some don’t really know it or are told otherwise. We’re survivors.

  6. shanakd9 says:

    Amen! What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger is such bulls*it! Well maybe but it also does all of the things that you said, anger, etc.

    • Cati says:

      I didn’t say that implying that you have to be thankful or whatever for what happened. I happen to have that perspective on my failed relationship with a partner, because a relationship with a partner is not something so important in my book right now – that’s just how I feel about it at this precise moment in my life.

      • Alethea says:

        I think that if we are not thankful, in some way, for our suffering, then we have not learned from it, or grown from it.

        • Cati says:

          I agree with that and that’s what I happen to believe about my failed relationship, but I also understand the rage that a statement like this can cause in a person who is still in the first stages of recovering from any kind of abuse. It is perfectly normal to be angry and think that there’s nothing to be thankful for.

  7. little nel says:

    “I mean that even though I was ok with my ex taking drugs etc., I would’ve never been ok with him stealing or hurting people”

    The fact that someone uses drugs is evidence that they are distancing themselves emotionally from people who love them. It is painful to watch someone we love destroy themselves by abusing substances. Substance abusers exploit other people to survive.

    • Cati says:

      He did drugs on occasion, his was a recreational use (like a weekend a month he would go out and do drugs). It was not substance abuse. He didn’t do drugs to distance himself.
      I’m not an anti drug radical, although I myself do not do drugs now.
      What I meant is that while I could accept things that were not big deal for me (like doing drugs when I didn’t do them), I could have never excused a behaviour that included physical or emotionally harming other people (except, of course, myself, because that’s how I got into an emotionally abusive relationship).

      • little nel says:

        “like a weekend a month he would go out and do drugs”

        That type of behavior is called binge usage even though it is recreational in nature to the user.

        I’m sad that you had to experience an emotionally abusive relationship. Nobody deserves that type of treatment.

        • Cati says:

          well, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right?
          It was bound to happen, as I grew up in a home with an emotionally and sometimes physically abusive mom. I was just recreating patterns.

          I learnt a lot about myself and my choices, so even though it was not right I still can say I got some good things from it 🙂

          • little nel says:

            I did the same thing, Cati. I can relate to a lot of your experiences.

            You are a courageous soul to make changes and make new choices to better your life and get more happiness for yourself. You deserve good things in life.

            • little nel says:

              “well, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right?”

              Being on the receiving end of abuse did not make me stronger. It made me angry. It caused me to suffer confusion, become unstable, and unreasonable.

              The anger caused me to have a distorted perspective. The reason that I recreated patterns like my abuser was the result of trying to fix my pain.

              “If only, I had been smarter, prettier, or better then it would have been different” was my fantasy.

              I had developed an “illusion of control” to protect myself from more abuse. My inner strength enabled me to do this until I was ready to learn and accept the truth about my abusers and myself.

              • Cati says:

                I didn’t mean that it made me stronger at that point, but I feel stronger now that I’m out of that situation and can see it from a distance. Of course I went through rage, but in my case what lasted longer was that feeling of helplessness.

                I was in therapy for a long time trying to get my own self back, and it didn’t help that my ex was still trying to have control over me and tried to have me back under his thumb when he felt I was drifting away. It took me 2 years after the breakup to be able to break free from him.

                So yes, there was a lot of anger that I released in therapy. A lot of unexpressed hatred. But in the end I just realized that my ex’s abuse was nothing compared to what my mother’s abuse had done to me. It was, imo, much more important to heal the part coming from my childhood because it was the cause of the other abusive relationships in my life (friends, partners…). I was still a child trying to get mommy’s love. In a way, my ex’s abuse made me realize what the real problem was. That’s why I say it made me stronger. It made me see things, it made me analyze, it made me come clean with myself. And that is powerful.

              • Alethea says:

                Sounds like you had a good therapist Cati. It is never the bad relationships, abusive employers, divorces, conflicts with friends etc. that is the real problem. The underlying root problem is always what needs to be dealt with, and the root issue is what causes all the other poor choices and self-abuse in our lives.

              • Alethea says:

                I think that it made you stronger today than you would have been without having been abused. I find you to be very strong and courageous, more so than many people who were not abused as children.

  8. little nel says:

    Mothers like Kijua will not accept the idea that they are criminals by allowing their children to be used as sex slaves to keep a man unless they are put in jail.

    Jail time has a way of making people think about the behavior that got them there. Sometimes they get it, sometimes they fake getting it.

    As devoid of love as Kijua is towards her children, I don’t see her accepting her criminal activity as wrong without jail time that keeps her permanently apart from the man she is protecting.

  9. shanakd9 says:

    She absolutely deserves to spend time although I am glad that at least she did say that she shouldn’t have allowed it. I don’t know if you saw the woman on Dr. Phil yesterday, I wanted to punch her lights out myself. She made herself out to be the victim and is upset because she is now a registered sex offender. Said she didn’t see the signs, although her daughter and two of her daughter’s friends mothers told her about the abuse. I hate people that do that shit.

    • little nel says:

      Hi Shana,

      I wish that I could have seen that Dr. Phil program. Offenders are so typical in that they twist the facts and become the “victim” to garner sympathy without any real concern to the severe damage that they caused their children.

      She is a sex offender and deserves the label. She used her children as sex slaves in agreement with her lecherous husband then covered it up and that makes her an accomplice.

    • Alethea says:

      Hi Shana. I stopped watching Dr. Pill after he did the interview with George and Cindy. I caught a glimpse of a couple of his shows since then, and it looks like he has taken an even more major dive. He never truly helps anyone.

  10. Cati says:

    This is a very complicated topic. Touches many sensitive areas of my soul.
    On one hand, I honestly believe that enabling mothers have to serve jail time too. They’re as guilty as the perpetrator.
    On the other hand, I experienced an abusive relationship and I know how out of touch with yourself, with the world, you become. I did things for this man that I’m now very ashamed of (intelectually and sexually speaking), I watched him go in a downward spiral of paranoia and madness and did nothing. Didn’t leave. I was so not myself.

    That said, I truly believe I would have snapped out of it had I had children that were endangered by his behaviour. I’m not a mom, but as an victimized child I swore to myself that I would never allow the same thing to happen to my kids. There’s a side of me that understands not thinking straight, but I would by no means justify this or any other mom covering up for abuse. I believe that there are things in your beliefs or moral system that are TOO BIG to ignore them. I mean that even though I was ok with my ex taking drugs etc, I would’ve never been ok with him stealing or hurting people. It was ok for me to sacrifice myself, parts of me that I thought were small and wouldn’t make a difference if I let them go, but I would have never been able to let go my belief that it’s not ok to harm another person.

    • Alethea says:

      That’s the difference between you and these other women Cati, and statistics show that most of the women who do not protect the children, do it out of self-need and self-gain, not that they are victimized themselves to the point of being unable to make the right decision.

      • Cati says:

        I know, I’ve read many of the stories posted here and it always makes me mad when they say they had to “put food on the table” or they “wanted to make marriages work” as an excuse for not acting. They put their comfort over their children. I understand being manipulated, being a zero in your own life, but I can say that’s not an excuse for allowing abuse to go on.
        I just finished reading Dave Pelzer’s “A child named It” and I felt the same way towards the dad – he kept telling the child that he was making his life miserable, when the child was the one being abused.

        • little nel says:

          My mother went to a psychic who told her that the reason that her children were making her life so “miserable” was because we were draining her of “special spiritual energy” by blocking “the flow” of it and preventing her from achieving her “real life’s plan” like she was “meant to do.”

          We were interfering with her life according to her “spiritual guides.”

          • Sunshine says:

            My mother used to consult psychics, too, and I am convinced they opened up the floodgates of Hell to come into our lives. The Bible is very clear on what will happen if you mess around with the occult. However, many people are deceived it somehow helps them when the exact opposite happens. I’m spiritual and connected to God now so I feel protected. But I know that evil that my mother played around with is very REAL. I’m sorry your mother engaged with them and believed their lies.

Comments are closed.