Police Dismiss Rape Against 15-Year-Old Girl Because She and Her Rapists Have Low IQ

“In some of the most disturbing and sickening news of the day, New York state police have decided that a 15-year-old girl who was sexually assaulted by three boys was in fact not sexually assaulted because both she and the boys are mentally handicapped.

In May of last year, three boys attacked a 15-year-old mentally challenged student at Martin De Porres Academy, a school for students with special needs in Long Island. According to the police report, one of the boys repeatedly banged her head against the table while the other two forced her to give them oral sex and then tried to have forcible anal sex with her.

In interviews with the police, the girl explained how she repeatedly said “no” and “stop” but that the boys continued to assault her. When she came home from school that day, her mother noticed that she had blood on her underwear.

But the Nassau County Police Department recently decided to drop the case after learning that the boys also had learning disabilities and mental handicaps, which apparently made the situation far too complicated for the police department.

The department’s spokesperson told the New York Daily News , “It was more of a consensual situation with their mental capabilities.”

Of course, head-banging, blood and repeated pleas to “stop” are never consensual situations–regardless of the IQ level of the attackers. But, in this case, the police department is even further off target. As the family’s lawyer explained, the girl has an IQ of about 50 points, which puts her below the cognitive functioning level to consent to sex at all.

The school meanwhile, has played its own part in attempting to cover up the case. Only weeks after the assault occurred, the school sent a letter to the police department, that read:

“The school administration request (sic) no further police action and will handle additional behavioral and social issues with traning (sic) and additional counseling.”

The school did fire the teacher who was present in the classroom during the attack.

Women and girls with mental disabilities are frequently the targets for sexual assaults–and few of their aggressors are ever prosecuted.

According to one study, a staggering 80 percent of women with these disabilities are the targets of rape or sexual assault in their lifetimes.”

_______________________________________________________

alternet

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Police Dismiss Rape Against 15-Year-Old Girl Because She and Her Rapists Have Low IQ

  1. pes42 says:

    Err, did I read that correctly , that there was an adult present during the attack ? That is outrageous. Not only does the teacher need prosecuting but the school too. I am outraged. I work with severely autistic children, with correct management and staffing that should never have happened.

  2. little nel says:

    “Women and girls with mental disabilities are frequently the targets for sexual assaults-and few of their aggressors are ever prosecuted.”

    When they become pregnant as a result of these sexual assaults, they are made to submit to abortions without their consent. This protects the abuser who would have been caught through a DNA test. It also relieves the assailant of any financial burdens for the care of the child they sired.

    These women have less rights than a dog.

    If those boys had assaulted a dog like that, they would be in lots of trouble.

  3. Kelly says:

    I’m sorry, I thought I read that the teacher who was PRESENT IN THE CLASSROOM was fired??? Are you kidding me! How about prosecuted!!! He must have been aware of something like this unless the room is always in total chaos? Even if this were the case he is completely responsible & negligent in the assault! And that goes for every other student in the room who had endure the atrocity, because he failed to protect them as well.

    Not knowing the situation or mental capacity of the boys who did this I can see how it would be “complicated”, but she deserves justice and not to have this assault swept under the rug! I am sick to my stomach for this girl.

    • Alethea says:

      Kelly, I thought the same thing about the teacher in the room. I think I was too blown away at the time I posted this, to come up with any commentary about that fact. I cannot fathom how a teacher would not see/hear/ a sexual assault of such magnitude in the very same room. I hate to think I am becoming numb to the reality of sexual assaults on children being completely ignored, but maybe I was. Adults ignoring child rape has become too common.

      • Kelly says:

        The only thing that would explain it would be if the teacher was NOT in fact in the room, which wouldn’t make him any less responsible. OR if this teacher was a pervert and encouraged this type of sick abuse for his own gratification! Because like you said, there is no way they couldn’t have noticed it.

        You are so far from being numb to the ignorance of people not taking it seriously. Your passion shows in everything you do to bring awareness to child rape and exploitation of all kinds BECAUSE of ignorance like this. Your blog is so honest and doesn’t ever try to minimize the severity of each situation no matter how uncomfortable it may be for readers. It must be hard for you at times because of your own experience, yet you press on. Sexual assault of children can never be ok no matter what and it should make people uncomfortable and sick! I admire your bravery and tenacity! Thank you for all you do 🙂

        • Alethea says:

          Kelly, thank you so much for your awesome comment. You make great points about my stance and belief system. Sometimes it is hard to put into words what I am trying to convey.

          My knowledge that people do not always take child sexual abuse and all of its dynamics seriously.

          My desire to bring awareness to child rape and exploitation of all kinds BECAUSE of ignorance.

          My desire to have a blog that is honest and doesn’t ever try to minimize the severity of each situation no matter how uncomfortable it may be for readers.

          The difficulty in keeping this entire Blog going because of my own experiences, and yet, I press on.

          That the sexual assault of children can never be okay, no matter what, and it should make people uncomfortable and sick!

          Thank you Kelly for putting into words what my intentions and desires are, and have always been with this Blog.

          🙂

  4. Thank you. It will be a few days to a week before I get the post written. Just so busy right now. My blog is being neglected. I thought things would slow down after the New Year but they haven’t. I will come back and let you know when I post it. Have a glorious week.

  5. Do I have your permission to share this post with my readers on my blog Spiritual Journey Of A Lightworker?

    • Alethea says:

      You always have permission to share my posts.

      Thanks for asking though 🙂

      • Alethea says:

        and this one was straight from Alternet.com But anything I post, even my own articles, can always be shared for non-profit use.

Comments are closed.