Man Rapes Girlfriend’s Baby To Death

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — “Condemned killer Steven Smith’s argument for mercy isn’t an easy one. Smith acknowledges he intended to sexually assault his girlfriend’s 6-month-old daughter but says he never intended to kill the baby.”

That’s like someone saying they intended on beating an infant with a baseball bat, but did not mean to kill the baby. Just because it was his penis and not a baseball bat, should he be excused from a death sentence?

“The girl, Autumn Carter, of Mansfield, died because Smith was too drunk to realize his sexual assault was killing the child, Smith’s attorneys planned to tell the Ohio Parole Board on Tuesday. And Ohio law is clear, they say: a death sentence requires an intent to kill the victim.”

So he wasn’t drunk enough to stop violently RAPING an infant, but drunk enough to not know that his violent penetration would kill the baby???

Smith

“The evidence suggests that Autumn’s death was a horrible accident,” his attorneys, Joseph Wilhelm and Tyson Fleming, said in a written argument prepared for the board.

They continued: “Despite the shocking nature of this crime, Steve’s death sentence should be commuted because genuine doubts exist whether he even committed a capital offense.”

An accident is cutting off someone in traffic and hitting their car. An accident is dropping a glass and it breaks. This was willful intent to violently harm a 6 month old child.

“Smith, 46, was never charged with sexual assault, meaning the jury’s only choice was to convict or acquit him of aggravated murder, his attorneys say.

The Richland County prosecutor says Smith continues to hide behind alcohol as an excuse, and calls Smith’s actions “the purposeful murder of a helpless baby girl.”

Prosecutor James Mayer told the board in his own written statement that the girl’s injuries are consistent with a homicide that contradicts Smith’s claim he didn’t intend to kill the girl.

“The horrific attack upon Autumn Carter showed much more than Smith’s stated purpose,” Mayer said.

Mayer said Monday he didn’t know why Smith wasn’t charged with rape, but said it wasn’t part of a trial strategy.

The attack happened early in the morning of Sept. 29, 1998, in the Mansfield apartment of the girl’s mother, Kaysha Frye, a woman Smith had been dating about six months.

Frye was awakened after 3 a.m. by a naked Smith, who placed Autumn beside her in bed, according to records prepared for the parole board hearing. Frye realized the girl wasn’t breathing, told Smith he’d killed her, then ran to a neighbor’s house for help.

Smith, known to consume as many as 12 beers a day, had had several beers earlier in the evening and had a blood-alcohol content of .123 — well above the legal limit — when he was tested almost eight hours later, at 11 a.m., records show.

“Smith had unsuccessfully tried to have sex with his girlfriend the evening before the attack, according to records. The prosecutor argued that Smith’s assault of the girl was revenge for Smith’s failure to perform with Frye.”

Revenge? No, it wasn’t revenge. He could not get his girlfriend to have sex with him, so he went to the nearest vagina. His sexual urges were under the control of alcohol and Satan.

“Smith’s attorneys dispute this, saying the girlfriend was not upset with Smith.

Prosecutors presented evidence at trial that Smith’s attack lasted as long as 30 minutes, during which time Smith beat the girl to death.

Expert witnesses for Smith conclude he may have accidentally suffocated the girl within three to five minutes while he lay on top of her, according to Smith’s clemency petition.”

Frankly I hope he did suffocate the baby within the first three to five minutes because that means she did not have to suffer the violent trauma for the entire 30 minutes.

I don’t know that I have a whole lot of hope for the human race right now.

_____________________________________________________________

huffingtonpost.com

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse, Headlines, repressed memory, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Man Rapes Girlfriend’s Baby To Death

  1. Golgi Apparatus says:

    I would say it makes no difference imprisoning him or executing him. In both ways, he will die. I’d even say execution is more lenient than jailing for this particular case… Inmates are never kind to those who rapes infants and children.

  2. “Frankly I hope he did suffocate the baby within the first three to five minutes because that means she did not have to suffer the violent trauma for the entire 30 minutes.”

    I think like you do, but go radically further. In cases like these be it extreme physical or sexual abuse, I am happy to hear when the baby/kid dies because then they don’t have to live the rest of their lives in pain or causing more pain for others in the form of repeating the cycle of violence even though I know survivors DO heal and that not all survivors repeat the chain of abuse. My opinion is simply that of a selfish one where I’m only thinking of myself because in spite of my positive persona and happy-go-lucky ways about myself, I’d prefer to not be alive most of the time.

    About humanity, not too much is reported about what good people do. I feel they don’t get enough exposure so I tend to think “Is that all there is?” However, when I hear of cases like this, it does feel a bit hopeless, doesn’t it? But maybe there is something wrong with me for expecting that people would behave better? I battle my own self with these thoughts.

    • Alethea says:

      There are good people out there who do get some exposure, but in my own life, I experience so much indifference and selfishness on a daily basis that I find it hard to think the entire human race, or even most, will ever change. It seems to be getting worse, not better.

      • tifed3 says:

        I don’t think it is getting worse as much as we are bringing about the change by open discussion and making it a topic to be dealt with versus hiding it so perpetrators can continue their reign of terror on the vulnerable.

  3. Grace says:

    Stories like this make me physically ill. I have to say, Alethea…though it was difficult to admit at first, I agree with you in saying “I hope he did suffocate the baby within the first three to five minutes because that means she did not have to suffer the violent trauma for the entire 30 minutes.” If this angel had not been fortunate to leave her physical body, I’m inclined to say she would continue to be raped over and over again by this man, her mother’s boyfriend.

    It’s wrong on so many levels…and I also agree that his sexual urges were under the control of Satan. He (the human) however let it get there, and now is hiding behind alcohol because of his own selfish fear of being incarcerated. If he would never get caught, I bet he wouldn’t give a flying shit if he killed her or not. The “written arguments” coming from this man’s attorney are motivated in self-protection. I only want to think of this angel child in Heaven dancing and free, truly reunited with her own purity.

  4. Marjie says:

    speechless. not really but…OMG I hope they do kill him in prison. Six months old!! Sickening!

  5. little nel says:

    “How could anyone possibly represent this monster”?

    This man raped a baby to death and yet he is entitled to all the protections under the law as the “accused”.
    I’ll wager that this man’s attorney was repulsed by this man’s behavior, also. This monster’s attorney will most likely feel relieved when this guy gets the jailhouse justice he has earned. How many times did this perp commit the crime of rape on other children before he got caught?

    No one wants to see a man like this go free because he didn’t get a fair trial. This monster gets to bend over and spread his cheeks against his will and face death at the hands of men who hate child sexual predators in jail. A fitting justice for a monster who might escape the death penalty sentence in court, unlike his tiny helpless innocent victim who received no mercy or compassion when he decided that she was fit to get the death penalty in a drunken spree.

  6. he murdered this baby in a horrific way.drinking or not he did it.makes me sick ,there is no excuse for what he done.

  7. tifed3 says:

    He will be taken care of once he is sentenced. The prisoners will see to it. I agree with you all the way Alethea. Granted mom did not encourage but I left my ex because of his bad behavior and I did not want around my children and I had enough ill wills to protect my children even within my house. The sad piece is that the worse demise you can’t fathom because there was a time my ex took my baby into the bedroom and said he was putting her to sleep and she continued to cry and my heart felt it was wrong and now I know it never should have happened. I guess my main point is that we do not know what these people are capable of and we really have to follow our instinct. This man needs to pay for what he did and I have strong sense he will not be around very long.

  8. jessicanix says:

    Don’t worry about the death sentence thing, my friend knows about stuff like this, if he goes to prison, and I can’t imagine that he won’t, he won’t survive. Alternatively he’ll suffer a fate worse than death, which is probably a greater justice anyway. There are certain crimes even other criminals don’t take kindly to and they tend to be firm believers in an eye-for-an-eye sort of thing.

  9. melissa lee says:

    Sick to my stomach…….

  10. Kristin Morrill says:

    OMG! I feel devastated by this post.

    • Alethea says:

      I’m sorry Kristin. I know this is tough on us to read…but I have to keep people aware that 6 month-old children are sometimes raped. If I don’t post it, not too many others will know about it. My intent is to continue to penetrate the human denial system, not to upset those who have been sexually abused. I am sorry.

      Just know that the little girl is in Heaven, in peace, and she is dancing around with animals and butterflies.

  11. kellbabs says:

    This is one of the most disgusting things I have ever heard… that poor child. The only thing that I wish is that they could kill him slowly several times… while painfully torturing him.

    And how could anyone possibly represent this monster? I cannot understand how this person could live with knowing they saved the life of a baby rapist and murderer! Makes me so angry!!!

    • Alethea says:

      Hi Kellbabs. Try to transform that anger into action. Take action by continuing to make others aware that even infants can be raped, and can even be raped by men who are in a sexual relationship with an adult woman.

      “Hope has two beautiful daughters; Anger and Courage. Anger at the way things are, and the Courage to change them.” ~ Saint Augustine

Comments are closed.