Free to Be Who I Am

When I posted the Mother’s Day article, I neglected to write that I don’t feel like shit on Mother’s Day anymore. This is how I used to feel. I posted the article to help others who have been through what I used to experience every Mother’s Day. I had a beautiful Mother’s Day this year. I spent the day in nature, and took some great photos (my form of creative expression).

I was inspired to write the article because I want to help others to know they are not alone, to honor their true feelings, and to know it is normal to feel badly on a day that is hammered at us as a ‘wonderful day for families and loving mothers.’

After posting the article, I received a comment by someone who wrote that I am “miserable and narcissistic” for writing the article.

It was my mistake for not making it clear that I have healed the Mother’s Day issue. So I want to say thank you to the anonymous commenter for bringing that to my attention.

I value my time more than money. I could be doing hundreds of things with my time -things that would not involve the tough subjects discussed on my Blog, and things that would make me feel much more self-satisfied. The only reason I spend my time and efforts on this Blog is to HELP others who have suffered, are suffering, need validation, need resources, need information, or just need to know they are not alone.

I was given a gift by God and my therapist. I was given life. I was given joy and freedom and the end of years of suffering. My Blog is to now help others to be able to experience the same thing by providing her contact information.

Yes, I was once miserable. Thanks be to Jesus I have healed 95% of my problems and very close to being fully healed.

If it is considered “narcissistic” to post what I do, then so be it. I will continue to be whatever it is I am. I will continue to be true to myself, and with that, to happily accept the labels and name-calling.

This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Free to Be Who I Am

  1. mglvsjc says:

    Althea…Please know that this web site is a Godsend to so many of us. Half of mothers day was very painful for me…I just realized that this a-hole who molested me…among so many other things…also corrupted my relationship with my mom. I have never in my life felt close or affectionate to her…she really did not protect me . Yesterday I spent half the day in tears
    grieving the loss of a normal wholesome relationship with my Mom. I think this was very healthy. We have to grieve to get past it. Right?

    • Alethea says:

      Mglvsjc,

      There is no other way to heal than to grieve out the pain. It has to be expelled, but in my experience, it has to be released at the subconscious level, or the pain will always haunt a person in some way. The subconscious mind holds repressed emotional pain and trauma that cannot be released, in its entirety, in the conscious level.

      Tears are an emotional cleansing to a degree, and a good thing to release, but until the root problem –the original sensitizing event, which is usually not consciously recalled by the person– is rooted out and removed at the SC level, the person will always carry their pain around like a suitcase attached to their ankle, and when something, or someone, triggers that pain, the suitcase opens and all the unhealed emotions come flooding out. Eventually, that repressed pain can cause physical problems, labeled as “disease and illness” but often that disease is merely just the result of the unhealed pain manifesting in the physical body.

  2. little nel says:

    I have to say, Alethea, that your blog has furnished me with the “missing link” to my past that I considered to be dislodged and lost in childhood because of the abuse I experienced.

    I have been restored to wholeness because you pointed the way that I needed to go, in order to recover what was lost or taken from me against my will, when I was too small to resist and win.

    I thank you and Dr. Saint-Simone with all of my heart for all your goodness.

  3. little nel says:

    Walt Disney said, “It’s never too late to have a happy childhood.”

    I found out that he was right.

    I too, was once miserable, but found peace and happiness. I wouldn’t change a thing because my misery brought me to the realization that I needed spiritual guidance and a powerful God that could fix my broken heart and restore me to health.

    I too, now experience the joy of seeing my dreams become a reality. I find wonder and adventure in each new day. I have a feeling of wholeness now, coupled with harmony for creation and my Creator.

  4. Michelle says:

    I want to thank you Althea for your blog. I am still involved in court hearings to protect my daughters against their incestous father. I have learned and gained much information from your blog/website. Keep up the good work.

    • Alethea says:

      Thank you Michelle. Your comment means a great deal to me right now 🙂 Keep up the good fight!

  5. Kristin Morrill says:

    Hi Alethea

    Shame on those who cast stones…and Hooray for you!

  6. Marjie says:

    thank you. I am trying to give myself the childhood I didn’t have. Sometimes I do better than others. I have to try really hard not to shush my self.

    • Alethea says:

      Keep trying Marjie. Make time for joy every day. Treat yourself with a little something every day. Make sure to take time to be in nature. Ride a bike, go rollerskating, do what you love.

  7. Alethea says:

    I forgot to write that the person also derogatorily told me, “move on, you are not a child anymore.” I never had a childhood, and thankfully I am now a child again; experiencing life as it should be experienced…with gratitude, joy, personal freedom, health, and a will to move forward with all my dreams.

Comments are closed.