FYI (if you’re a teenage girl)

This entry was posted in Child Abuse. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FYI (if you’re a teenage girl)

  1. Little Nel says:

    I agree, Stacy.

    The reason that Facebook post was noticed was because the photo of the shirtless boys was attracting attention, trying to get people to look at their physical attributes.

    Scantily clad attractive young people are “eye candy” to get an advertisement’s message across to onlookers. Too bad that this mother exposed herself as the biggest hypocrite by using a double standard.

    This mother failed to require the same standards of conduct and dress of her own children to the standards that she required of others. Not cool.

    • Alethea says:

      I agree to some degree Little Nel. But having grown up in So. Cal., and on the beach for some time, beach life is like that. I am so used to seeing little boy surfers and young male teen surfers running around in nothing but their board shorts, that the photo was very innocent and child-like fun to me. I did not take it as seductive, just a bunch of healthy kids having fun in their summer trunks.

      Young teenage girls taking sexy photos of themselves in their PJ’s or in bras is quite different.

      But I can see how a pedophile would love that first photo the mother put up.

      Yet, how oppressive/prudish/conservative do we go in this society? Are young boys not allowed to be photographed by their mom on the beach and have it put on the Internet?

      • Little Nel says:

        I grew up in a beach city in Southern California. The beach is one of the most popular places to “pick up” on someone for a date.

        There were “photographers” constantly looking for young girls to photograph next to the shore line.

        When I was a teenage girl I was constantly being “hit on” by adult males in their 30’s and 40’s at the beach. I would politely tell them that I was only 15 and they would comment, “Oh, I thought you were older.”

        They knew damn well that I was jail bait, but it didn’t stop them. I learned to stay away from the beach unless I was with a group of friends.

  2. Stacy says:

    I’ve seen this shared around Facebook. I’m glad the photos of the shirtless teenage boys were replaced with something more conservative and modest. It seems most of these PSA’s target the girls or women. The female gets called out over not being modest enough, being “a skank”. The male counterpart gets a free pass to “do what men do”. I felt that way with the Miley Cyrus hubba-balloo last week. It was all bad Miley, skank Miley, should have known better Miley…. Robin Thicke was either ignored in commentary/blogs/news or given the free pass cause, well, he has a dick and a dick don’t know no better. Nothing amiss there, move along… oh, look at Miley. And pick HER apart.
    Just throwning that out there. It bothers me.
    Have a great weekend!

    • Lull LTD says:

      I felt that way with the Miley Cyrus hubba-balloo last week. It was all bad Miley, skank Miley, should have known better Miley…. Robin Thicke was either ignored in commentary/blogs/news or given the free pass cause, well, he has a dick and a dick don’t know no better. Nothing amiss there, move along… oh, look at Miley. And pick HER apart.
      Just throwning that out there. It bothers me.

      >I agree totally. Even Robin Thicke’s mom was like, I am good with his performance but not with Miley’s. What an awful double standard. I can’t fathom that she sees his performance with her as okay and not bad and sees miley’s as bad. Robin is a sad person to get on stage and do this nasty dance with her. He did something disgusting too. Same old thing…condemn the girl and praise the guy for being a stud or wanna be.

Comments are closed.