Four Year-Old Girl Starved To Death By Her Mother

“The five-year-old brother of a girl who was beaten and starved to death by their mother brought food to her funeral so she would have enough to eat in heaven, it was revealed.

"Monster Mom"

“Monster Mom”

‘Monster mom’ Carlotta Brett-Pierce was found guilty of murder last month and sentenced to 32 years to life in prison yesterday.

Her four-year-old daughter Marchella died covered in bruises and open wounds and weighing only 19 pounds in September 2010. She was found drugged and beaten, tied to her SpongeBob SquarePants bed at the Brooklyn home.

The little girl, who was force-fed allergy pills, was often beaten in front of her brother Tymel.

Prosecutor Jacqueline Kagan revealed that Tymel, now seven, was deeply traumatized by the events he witnessed at home and still grieves for his sister.

When he attended her funeral, he had brought food with him so that he could help his sister.

Ms Kagan said: ‘He brought with him food because he knew she didn’t get enough. And he told his foster mother, ”I hope that she gets enough food and water in heaven,”’ according to theNew York Post.

The month-long trial of Brett-Pierce, 32, in a Brooklyn court room finished quickly on May 9 with the jury requiring only one hour to deliberate over her guilt.

When Marchella Brett-Pierce was found, she was tied to her bed with jump ropes, had been beaten, starved and drugged.

Prosecutors say she had dozens of marks and open wounds on her tiny body which was so emaciated, every rib could be seen.

article-2155853-137EAC8D000005DC-401_634x394

Carlotta Brett-Pierce was emotionless when the jury proclaimed her guilty of her daughter Marchella’s death. Her punishment did not even stop her from giving the judge some attitude when asked if she understood.

‘I heard what you said,’ the 32-year-old said.

She has refused to accept blame for the death of her daughter, blaming the jurors, lawyers and the press for her murder conviction, calling it a ‘tragedy’.

Brooklyn Supreme Court Justice Patricia DiMango said yesterday: ‘This child, at her tender age, was subjected to a hell that no one should have to endure.

‘What kind of person could do this to a child, let alone their own child?’ she said, according to DNAinfo.com

During the trial, Brett-Pierce’s answers painted a ghastly picture of their home life.

She said of her daughter near the time of her September 2010 death: ‘To me, at the time, it didn’t look bad.’

Brett-Pierce said that her daughter lost weight by running around in the heat and sustained the bruises from falling in the stairway.

article-2155853-137E557E000005DC-615_306x405

Judge DiMango also sentenced grandmother Loretta Brett to five to 15 years in prison for manslaughter in the death.

Throughout the trial, her lawyers switched between disproving the prosecutions tales of horrific beatings and arguing that Brett-Pierce was an overwhelmed mother with a sick daughter that she didn’t know how to care for.

Marchella spent the first three-and-a-half years of her life in hospital after she was born prematurely with severe breathing difficulties.

Her mother admitted on the stand that in the seven months she was in her care, she never took the four-year-old to a pediatrician.

A prosecutor showed the mother a doctor’s note indicating that her youngest boy weighed 18 pounds at nine months – roughly the same weight as four-year-old Marchella when she died.

She told the court she fed her daughter ‘potato chips, fried chicken and cheese doodles’, but an autopsy recorded that only a single corn kernel was found in her body, along with a high level of antihistamines.

Marchella should have been on a specialized diet and fed through a tube, which prosecutors say the mother totally ignored, instead feeding her junk food.

During questioning she denied certain things she had already told police and called Marchella ‘my baby’ as opposed to ‘that b***h’ – which she was heard calling her in a recorded jail conversation played for the jury saying: ‘That b***h wasn’t that f***ing light.’

When she was released from hospital seven months before her death, she weighed 26lbs- a stark contrast from her final weight of 18.9 pounds.

The Administration for Children’s Services became involved with the family after Brett Pierce gave birth to a boy who tested positive for drugs.

Two social workers from ACS who had involvement in Marchella’s case were charged separately with criminally negligent homicide for failing to prevent the tragic death.

Damon Adams and Chereece Bell were both charged with criminally negligent homicide, official misconduct and endangering the welfare of a child. Their case is due to begin.”

article-2155853-137E5583000005DC-431_634x455Rest in peace little Marchella. There is no hunger in Heaven –only a constant nourishment of God’s love.

___________________________________________________________

dailymail.co.uk
This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse, Crime, Headlines and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Four Year-Old Girl Starved To Death By Her Mother

  1. melissa lee says:

    sad…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….!

  2. Little Nel says:

    What kind of monster does this to an innocent child?

    She could have given this little one to a loving family, but chose to torture and slowly starve this baby in the cruelest of ways.

    • Jess says:

      There are all kinds of monsters out there. It’s amazing the amount of pleasure they receive from inflicting and watching suffering in children. It’s sad because when someone treats you as inhuman you start to feel inhuman.

      • Alethea says:

        Hi Jess. I was treated inhumanely, but I did not grow to feel inhuman (Thanks be to God). I grew to feel unworthy and useless. But I am grateful my parents did not take my intrinsic nature to love, to give, and to help others/animals/nature. God sustained me with those things.

        • Jess says:

          I’m not talking about growing to feel inhuman I was talking about in that moment of being abused of feeling inhuman. I felt that way when I was little and treated like garbage. I felt worthless and I was treated as if I had no feelings, like an object. My needs were completely cut off and disallowed.

          • Alethea says:

            Hi Jess. Sorry I misunderstood 🙂

            I know what you are saying now….I know all too well. I have written about it in my manuscript……which I hope to still publish one day.

            Thanks for clearing me up 🙂

            • Jess says:

              That’s ok I’m glad you understood. Sometimes I get worried that I’ll be misunderstood or others will think my feelings or whatnot are bad or bizarre. 😦

      • Little Nel says:

        “It’s amazing the amount of pleasure they receive from inflicting and watching suffering in children.”

        It is hard for me to imagine such an evil person that could get pleasure like that as it’s so counter to my natural maternal instincts. Everything in my psyche compelled me to protect my children from harm and shelter them from danger. My husband would have given his life to protect us if it had been necessary and I knew it.

        God blessed me with a loving husband because my own father was such a failure who abused children then laughed sardonically with pleasure because we were powerless to stop him. He justified his actions by saying, “If it wasn’t for you kids, I would have a good life.”

        He felt trapped so he punished us for it. He finally abdicated and abandoned us but found himself “trapped” time and again in a string of broken marriages and promises with misery and debts fleeing after him all his life.

  3. mary says:

    The look of smug indifference in the mothers eyes is horrific.

    Look into that poor child’s eyes…bags under her eyes from going through way more than a child ever should. They tell her whole story. Body malnourished from lack of food and her soul malnourished from the lack of love a child needs from their parents and care takers. RIP little one. You were too good for the hellish circumstances that evil human beings put you through.

    • Little Nel says:

      “The look of smug indifference in the mothers eyes is horrific.”

      I agree, Mary. Not one ounce of compassion for the object of her rage, her daughter. She reminds me of Casey Anthony who went on an extended party vacation after she murdered her daughter.

      Look at me, men, I am available and unencumbered now, ready to party and do the wild thing, is what I see in this vain pose.

  4. Jess says:

    This is so disgusting and evil.

Comments are closed.