Lena Dunham Tweet: “My Sister Says I Made Her Gay”

“My sister @simongdunham is coming on #NotThatKindOfTour to manage our partnership with @PPact AND constantly remind me that I made her gay

https://twitter.com/lenadunham/status/490665796730101760

“I leaned down between her legs and carefully spread open her vagina, she didn’t resist…”  Admitted child molester Lena Dunham

“I leaned down between her legs and carefully spread open her vagina, she didn’t resist…”  ~Lena Dunham, describing part of what she did to her little sister for ten years

So why would Grace say Lena made her gay, back in July, long before I began writing about Lena Dunham? (meaning, Grace Dunham could not have been joking about seeing something I wrote in a public forum)

Was Grace being facetious? There is often truth to every joke. There are also things called “Freudian slips.”

There are very few people who truly grasp my opinion, (and my reader, Grace’s experience). Far too many people think all homosexuals were “born that way.” Even straight people have criticized me for saying that child sexual abuse -especially same sex child sexual abuse- can create sexual confusion in the victim –to the point of the victim growing into adulthood, thinking they are gay.

“Without getting into specifics, most of our fights have revolved around my feeling like Lena took her approach to her own personal life and made my personal life her property.”

~Grace Dunham

I find it to be far too much of a ‘coincidence’ that Grace Dunham has said that Lena ‘made her gay.’

In my experience there are no coincidences.

______________________________________________________________

afterellen.com
This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse, Headlines, rape and abuse, repressed memory and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Lena Dunham Tweet: “My Sister Says I Made Her Gay”

  1. Red says:

    Here is the thing. I do not really know how much of an influence Lena has had on her sister’s sexuality.

    I do know that it is not nice to say things like this about your sibling in the middle of a feature interview in Rolling Stone:
    “I told my little sister [what sexual intercourse was] when she was five, so I wouldn’t have to be alone with it. And now she’s a lesbian. So there, we’ve nailed it! That and the fact that I used to make her make out with me through my grandmother’s dialysis mask. No, that’s not why someone’s gay, but it’s a funny theory.”

    Read more: http://www.rollingstone.com/movies/news/lena-dunham-girl-on-top-20130228#ixzz3M8nMPsUu

    Of course, that also means that Lena was thirteen to Grace’s five at the time. Healthy, n’est-ce pas?

    • Alethea says:

      Red, you are awesome. Child on Child sexual abuse is very serious, and highly common, and people need to stop making it out out be “playing doctor” or ‘mutual exploration,’ or ‘sibling curiosity.

      I am thinking of ways to take more action on this situation.

      THANK YOU BEYOND WHAT WORDS CAN EXPRESS. Any other tidbits would be amazing…you seem to be a great researcher!

  2. I agree 100 percent..the more support groups I attend, the more I hear about the therapists help in recovering long lost body memories,the stories from 12 steps groups are clear . At some point you have to connect the dots. the bottom line , the hidden shame ,the dark hidden secret is
    a major percent of the time…childhood sexual abuse, same sex or opposite.. It makes sense. Many gay people will admit..it is a choice.

    • Alethea says:

      Yes, but a subconscious choice. People do not understand the power and depth of the subconscious mind. thy think it is a ‘conscious decision’ but the unhealed emotions/pain/sexual feelings –usually always from childhood– drive our choices…they DRIVE our conscious choices, operated and directed by the subconscious mind.

      • Little Nel says:

        “the unhealed emotions/pain/sexual feelings…drive our choices…etc.”

        How true!

        I was clueless as to how powerful this was until I got into therapy.

    • Alethea says:

      Thank you Marion. This needs to be said. The truth is to help the soul of others.

  3. melissa lee says:

    I found this in my healing practice with clients and many that are gay, have repressed major parts of their abuse or only remember one perpetrator, when there is in fact much more to their story they need to access in order to have an understanding about their sexual orientation and how it came to be…. Melissa Lee

  4. mary says:

    I happen to be a person who throughout the years has befriended alot of gay and lesbian friends. Every time I had gotten to know them deeply enough to learn about their childhoods, I always found out about some sort of molestation that occurred by a much older child or adult. I would not say that you were off at all in saying that early sexual abuse CAN cause sexual confusion.

    I had one friend of mine who publicly identified as a very flamboyant homosexual male. His family and his friends FULLY ACCEPTED AND SUPPORTED HIM. But for what ever reason, in private after a night of heavy alcohol drinking, he told me in a very candid and sober way “Everybody calls me gay, thinks I am gay, but really I am not. They see this image of myself and this identity that is false. Deep down inside I want to be with a woman. Maybe one day I’ll leave this life behind, my family, my friends, change my name and start a new life so I can be the person I really want to be. So I can love a woman and start a family”

    He admitted to being molested in grade school by a child of the same sex who was 4 years older than him, the child telling him to keep it a “secret”. He stated he didn’t feel like he was traumatized by the situation because he physically enjoyed the molestation. He had also stated that emotionally abusive early relationships with females pushed him to want to be with men instead and he had also mentioned having an affair with a much older female teacher. He also didn’t think he was traumatized by that situation but….. it is obvious to me that all of these experiences led to an extremely sexually confused and tormented individual.

    • Little Nel says:

      Hi Mary,

      I have heard that same story from other people who called themselves “gay.”
      They usually had domineering/controlling mothers and fathers who were unavailable in addition to the child abuse.

      They are left confused, afraid, and alone without a clue as to what happened to them in childhood, so they pretend they are OK within themselves, and take on an image of what they think will make them appear healthy, happy and confident.

      I wasn’t gay, but I had to over achieve to prove myself worthy of love and acceptance. I postponed marriage out of fear.

      It took me years of therapy before I could love and accept myself enough to admit to the abuse and neglect.

    • Alethea says:

      Thank you Mary, It’s so refreshing when someone is honest, and not afraid to speak their mind about this. I grow so tired of the ‘politically correct’ crowd, and the ‘socially acceptable’ crowd. Most people want everyone else to lie to them, and to lie to themselves, in order to make everyone else “feel good” or “feel good” about themselves, even while they are going down the road to self-destruction, depression, RX drugs, addictions, etc. They all want to hear lies, not anything that is truthful, and that can actually HELP the soul of another person.

      Your friend could change his life, and really benefit from my therapist. You should tell him about her (that is, if you have read my articles on her work).

      • mary says:

        There is this film that I think you will enjoy as a Catholic. “The Third Way” by Blackstone films. Please take the time to watch it and pass it on. It is about Catholicism and its views on homosexuality,. It is told with much grace.

        • Alethea says:

          Thank you Mary. I will check it out at a later time. I am too sensitive right now, and issues dealing with same-sex sexual contact, or a discussion of it, might trigger me.

    • Grace says:

      Mary,
      The fact that your friend confided those things to you is significant. He can benefit from working with Alethea’s therapist, I think it is important (considering how lost he seems to feel based on what he said – feeling that lost is painful and depressing; I speak from experience) that you try to help him out, you could save his life by offering the name of Alethea’s therapist. She has posted about her a few times, please check it out.

      If Alethea wasn’t open about the therapy, I would not have found this blog and would still be feeling just like your friend…please help him.

      Thank you.

  5. Little Nel says:

    When I read the quote from Grace Dunham, all I could think of was how utterly used Grace must feel.

    Lena Dunham made a mockery Grace in private, then made a mockery of Grace publicly.

    Oh, this thing called “love.” It is really contempt, not love in this case when a child is used so savagely.

  6. susashushan says:

    I know that this does happen. It may not be politically correct to talk about it and expose it, but the truth rarely ever is.

Comments are closed.