When Rape or Incest Results In Pregnancy

Dear Readers,

I am about to engage in a very disturbing subject. This article has the potential to trigger emotional, physical, or psychological reactions in anyone who has become pregnant due to rape or incest, or anyone who has ever been forced into an abortion.

Someone might ask themselves: “How can anyone block out ever having been pregnant or forced into an abortion?”

Because the mind has the ability to block out all kinds of trauma –not just rape, death threats, physical assaults, child molestation, or torture.

Pregnancy is a very possible result in cases of rape. The scientific consensus is that rape is as likely to lead to pregnancy as consensual sex. Some research suggests that rape might even result in higher rates of pregnancy than consensual sex.

When a woman finds out she is pregnant from a rape, or from incest… the discovery and pregnancy are part of the original trauma, and can be so emotionally overwhelming to her, that she can block out the pregnancy and having a traumatic procedure – like abortion- performed on her. This would be especially true if the woman’s relationship with the rapist was inter-familial.

Some women, and teenage girls, have given birth without even knowing they were pregnant. My guess is that this situation could be more common than we think in families where incest is taking place.

Last week, when I decided to write this article, I was reading the morning news, and one of the first reports I saw was “Father, accused of getting his 11-year-old daughter pregnant”

Apparently, Michael Adkins, 33, of West Virginia got his 11-year-old daughter pregnant. Both parents were involved in forcing the child to have an abortion.

Michael Adkins was originally arrested in March 2014, and charged with sexual assault, incest, sexual battery, child neglect, intimidation by a witness and conspiracy.

Michael and Amanda Adkins

Michael and Amanda Adkins

According to authorities, Michael, and his wife Amanda, the girl’s step-mother, arranged two abortions within 15 days for the eleven year-old.

Amanda had been charged with child neglect, creating risk of injury, intimidation of a witness, obstructing an officer and conspiracy. Since then, both have cut plea deals and are scheduled to be sentenced in November.

___

There are beautiful accounts of young teens who choose to give birth to their rapist’s child, some of those cases are due to incest, like Tressa Middleton, an eleven year-old girl, raped by her 16-year-old brother.

Other young girls are forced into abortions after rape or incest -forced against their will- and experience tremendous trauma and anger over being forced into aborting their child.

One brave 15 year-old, whose father had been raping her regularly, gave testimony of how her parents took her to a strange hospital after she became sick with flu-like symptoms.

At the hospital, she and her parents found out she was 19 weeks pregnant. Her father flew into a rage and demanded she abort the child.

In spite of the pain and guilt I felt, knowing who the father of the baby was, it was far better to have a baby than the alternative – to kill it. I refused to have an abortion. My father flew into an uncontrollable rage and demanded that I consent to the abortion, or that the doctor do it with or without my permission. The doctor refused because of my wishes. My father demanded that an abortionist be found – regardless of the cost.

Traumatized by being strapped down by three nurses, the teen continued to scream that she didn’t want an abortion. She was injected with muscle relaxants -against her will- and eventually placed under general anesthesia, and her child was murdered.

I was told that an abortion would solve my problem, when it was never really the problem in the first place….I grieve every day for my daughter. I have struggled to forget the abuse and the abortion. I can do neither. All I think of is, “I should have done more, fought more, struggled more for the life of my child.” My situation may not be common, but I know it’s not unique either. The emotions and problems I’ve had to deal with as a result of my abortion are common. The trauma of the rape and abuse were only intensified by the abortion. The guilt of knowing my baby is dead is something I will have to live with for the rest of my life. I was violated and betrayed over and over by my father, who God created to love and protect me. I was humiliated, hurt, and yes, violated again by the abortionist.

Her father continued to rape her after the abortion.

This young woman was twenty years-old when she wrote her account of the abortion in order to help others. She is still healing and it is still very difficult for her to share her story as there is so much shame, trauma, guilt, and depressive emotions connected to such an experience. She has not shared her story with many people, as it can feel like a horror story to the victim.

There are many beautiful human beings who were conceived from rape or incest, but each case is unique, traumatizing, and complicated.

If you were raped by a family member (or a step-father), and forced into an abortion, and cannot handle the devastation, shame, guilt, or traumatic feelings of horror…then please privately (personal and confidential) contact my therapist to help you. I promise you, that you will feel immediate relief and will continue to improve with the sessions.

Contact me (Alethea) to get in touch with my therapist…sanjuanangel7@yahoo.com

 

______________________________________________________________________________________
http://www.lucidpages.com/rmem.html
http://www.lifenews.com/2014/03/11/parents-arrested-after-taking-raped-11-year-old-daughter-for-abortion/
http://www.lifenews.com/2015/05/15/11-year-old-bravely-rejected-abortion-after-her-older-brother-raped-her/
Dellorto, Danielle (22 August 2012). “Experts: Rape does not lower odds of pregnancy”. CNN Health.
http://clinicquotes.com/15-year-old-incest-victim-forced-into-abortion/
This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse, Denial, dissociative amnesia, Headlines, Health, News, Priest Abuse, rape and abuse, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Rape or Incest Results In Pregnancy

Comments are closed.