Michael Jackson is Dead and Children Around the World Are All a Little Safer

Being that today is the anniversary of the death of Michael Jackson, I thought I would re-post this one from last year:

Yesterday I was in line waiting to buy a ticket for an event and I heard a man comment about Michael Jackson’s death, saying, “It’s a sad day for America.” Angered at his ignorance, I loudly said to him (so that everyone else could hear me), “Sad day? Children around the world are all now a little safer.” He agreed with me and it made me wonder what his original comment was all about. Did he need me to bring down his wall of denial and open his eyes to the truth? Or was he simply parroting what the nincompoops in the national media have been saying about Jackson?

Very few news sources have been speaking of the molestation charges, Jackson’s photo book of naked boys found in his residence, and about Jackson’s disturbing behavior with several young boys.  I have become nauseated by the commentators describing Jackson’s “talent and charm”, his legacy and the number of fans who love him. It brought back the emotions that I experienced during Michael Jackson’s 2005 molestation trial when Jackson faced multiple counts of felony lewd acts upon a child.

The charges resulted after a February 2003 documentary, in which a stunned nation watched forty-four year-old Jackson sit on a couch holding the hand of a twelve year-old boy.  Although Jackson claimed that he and the boy were just friends, many people who watched the documentary felt that Mr. Jackson and the child had a secret.

Watching the scene unfold on television as the famous pop star was booked and arraigned was surreal. The trial continued for sixty-six days, and each of those days Mr. Jackson arrived at the California courthouse surrounded by supportive family members, an entourage of body-guards, spokespeople, and even a man who held Mr. Jackson’s umbrella for him. I quickly saw the umbrella as a symbol of the many families who give an umbrella of protection to the father, mother, brother, uncle, or grandparent who has violated a child.

Over the course of the trial, it became increasingly difficult to watch Michael Jackson’s screaming fans outside the courthouse showing undying support for their idol. There was also a disturbing lack of support for victims of abuse. At first I thought this was because the media portrayed it that way in order to sensationalize the story, and I was so upset over this that I immediately made plans to drive the three hours to the courthouse.

For me to take such an action at that time of my life meant conquering deep fears. My raced and I felt sick inside as I approached the city of Santa Maria, but then I remembered the words spoken to me by the woman who had sliced my bread a few hours earlier at my local grocery store. When I told her why I was going to Santa Maria, tears welled up in her eyes, she took my hand, gently squeezed it and said “Thank you, and I mean that from a deeply personal level.” I did not know this woman, but I knew exactly what she meant, and suddenly all of my fears were gone. She had helped me remember why I had decided to stand outside the molestation trial of the most famous pop star in the world.

I was enraged that reporters had referred to the fans as “devoted,” “spirited,” and “full of character.” Labeling Jackson fans in such complimentary ways and the daily footage of their screams gave the signal that victims and survivors of abuse are not to be supported or believed, and that an adult sleeping with little boys is acceptable behavior.

When I pulled up to the courthouse with my professionally-made protest sign in the back of my car, I was shocked to see that I was the only person who had brought a sign in support of abuse victims, and I quickly discovered why. As soon as I stepped out of my car, I was harassed by the Jackson fans that outnumbered me fifty to one. They were dressed in their Jackson garb, sporting armbands and umbrellas just like their hero. Their signs read “Innocent!” and “We love you Michael!” My sign had writing on both sides. One side daringly stated, “Parents and Famous People Molest Children Too” and printed on the other said was, “Silence Allows Abuse to Continue.” I was clearly the enemy.

As I approached the front of the courthouse, the crowd immediately tried to intimidate me, and when I ignored them, they hurled personal insults. Others told me, “You don’t belong here.” I struggled with that mentality because it was a child molestation trial, not a Jackson concert.

I avoided an area near the fence that had been self-designated by Jackson fans as their territory. No outsiders were allowed. No one like me would last two minutes in that pit. After an hour of putting up with their snide remarks and vilification, the crowd suddenly took their focus off the television cameras and away from me. They unexpectedly began screaming and running to greet a large black vehicle. Michael Jackson’s SUV was entering the courthouse driveway.

I quickly positioned myself to allow Mr. Jackson to see my sign. I wanted him to know that not everyone was there in support of him. Before I was even aware of what was happening, three Jackson fans (a young man and two women) came up from behind me and shoved my sign down onto the trash cans. I held my sign tightly in my hands but they were holding it with such force that I could not move my arms. This was my warning that these people were not going to allow their icon to see that I opposed his actions. They felt it was their duty to protect him from reality. I now knew why an elderly couple had walked by me earlier and said, “You’re brave.”

I calmly withstood more verbal assaults throughout the day, but the next morning one of Jackson’s faithful followers recognized me while standing in the local drugstore making a purchase and minding my own business. The man with dark sunglasses slowly walked by me and whispered in a threatening tone, “Not guilty, bitch.”

Fear ran through my blood. I did not show it outwardly, but I couldn’t even think straight. I somehow managed to make my purchase and was contemplating on getting in my car and heading back home where I could watch the circus on television from the safety of my own living room, but I knew I could not cater to my fear.

In an act of defiance, I bought some masking tape and a big black felt pen. I went out to my car and changed one word on my sign. One side now read “Denial Allows Abuse to Continue.” I drove to the courthouse with my sign in tow, parked my car, and walked right by the Jackson fans with my sign turned towards them. I had decided that, like my family, I was not going to allow the Jackson fans to beat me. Similar to my abuser and my family, the goal of the Jackson fan brigade was to intimidate me into silence.

These faithful fans have a collective denial system that equals the one shared by many people in this country –the refusal to believe that incest and child sexual abuse can be perpetrated by externally “good” people. Jackson fans want people like me to remain silent, and they use the same tactics as family members who threaten children to keep the family secret, and who ostracize or punish adults who dare to point out the truth.

Fans of stars, and family members of abuse victims, often hang onto absurd explanations for obvious child abuse or inappropriate behavior. They don’t want to believe that their beloved family member, close friend, or adored pop star is capable of harming a child in a sexual way.

By returning to the courthouse that day I shocked the Jackson fans. They thought they had managed to send me home cowering. Instead, I turned my sign deliberately in their direction, and marched right by. I let them know that the new word on my sign, “Denial,” was meant for them. I had not given in, and they knew it because there was no further harassment and I was not even spoken to that day. My act of rebellion was worth twenty therapy sessions for me. I showed them, just like I showed my father, mother, and sisters, that I would not be silenced.

Victims and survivors need to know that it is safe to tell their story and that they will be believed. They do not need to be drowned out by people like those screaming Jackson fans, who are devoid of reality. Michael Jackson’s devotees have no idea what their blind support does to the psyche of those who have been victims of child sexual abuse.

This entry was posted in child sexual abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Michael Jackson is Dead and Children Around the World Are All a Little Safer

  1. David says:

    If you’re open minded enough to actually take the time to thoroughly research the allegations against MJ, I would suggest reading the following articles:

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/charles-thomson/one-of-the-most-shameful_b_610258.html

    http://writ.lp.findlaw.com/commentary/20050615_spilbor.html

    If, after reading those articles, as well as my previous comment, you have a chance of heart about MJ’s guilt, I think you should consider writing another post to your readers to let them know how and why you came to that decision.

    Thank you.

    • Alethea says:

      I don’t have time to engage in a M.J. debate. Maybe one day I will have time to read those articles. Not now.

      But for now, I do want to say, that had it been any other 44 year-old man who was trying to look like a woman, holding the hand of a young boy…….. and having children over for sleepovers in his bedroom, you would be screaming to have those children protected. But because it was Michael Jackson, you defend him.

  2. David says:

    To the author of this post, and the people who commented and agreed with her, I’d like to ask you some questions about the allegations against Michael Jackson, since you guys seem adamant that he was guilty!

    First, I will ask you about the 1993 case:

    1. If Michael Jackson was guilty of child molestation in 1993, why was he not arrested and charged with a crime?

    2. If District Attorneys Sneddon and Garcetti had so much inculpatory evidence against Jackson, then why were they unable to secure an indictment from two independent grand juries, located in two different counties? (Los Angeles and Santa Barbara counties.)

    3. If Michael Jackson “paid off” the Chandlers, then why was he not arrested and charged with obstruction of justice?

    4. If Michael Jackson was guilty, then why didn’t he capitulate into Evan Chandler’s demand of a $20 million dollar film deal on August 4th, 1993? He could have avoided the entire media circus had he done so!

    5. Why did Michael Jackson fight to have the case tried in criminal court first (where Jackson could be sentenced to prison if convicted), while the Chandlers fought to have the case tried in civil court first (where Jackson could be ordered to pay millions if found liable)? Wouldn’t Jackson want to avoid criminal court at all costs? (See question #4.)

    6. Why did Jackson’s legal team cite the case of “Pacers, Inc. v. Superior Court” as legal precedent in their motion to get the civil trial delayed until after the pending criminal trial?

    Here are some questions on the 2005 trial:

    In the Statement of Probable Cause, dated November 17th, 2003, Det. Paul Zelis described an interview he did with Star Arvizo, who claimed the following he was abused by MJ:

    “When asked, Star said Michael Jackson touched him inappropriately. The incident occurred when they were in a golf cart. Star was driving the golf cart and Michael was next to him. Michael then reached over and touched Star’s “testicles and penis” over his clothes with Michael’s left hand. He did not say anything to Michael and continued driving the golf cart.”

    Yet, Michael Jackson was never charged with molesting Star Arvizo! Instead, when Tom Sneddon filed his initial felony complaint against Michael Jackson on December 18th, 2003, it consisted of the following allegations by Gavin Arvizo, which allegedly occurred from February 7th through March 10th, 2003:

    7 counts of lewd acts upon a child
    2 counts of administering an intoxicant

    However, in the grand jury indictment that was filed on April 21st, 2004, the dates of the alleged offenses shifted to February 20th through March 12th, 2003, and the charges were materially altered as follows:

    4 counts of lewd acts upon a child
    1 count of an attempted lewd act upon a child
    4 counts of administering an intoxicant
    1 count of conspiracy to commit child abduction, false imprisonment, and extortion

    Based on those facts, can you please answer these questions?

    1. How do you explain the discrepancy in the alcohol and molestation charges between the initial felony complaint and the grand jury indictment?

    2. How do you explain the addition of the conspiracy charge, especially in light of the fact that the Arvizos went on numerous shopping sprees while at Neverland, and constantly asked to be returned to Neverland after leaving?

    3. Why wasn’t Michael Jackson charged with conspiracy in the initial complaint? Sneddon investigated Michael Jackson for almost 6 months before raiding Neverland in November 2003. Shouldn’t he have known then about the alleged conspiracy?

    4. Why weren’t the 5 unindicted co-conspirators charged, even after they refused immunity for their testimony against Michael Jackson?

    5. Why wasn’t Michael Jackson charged with molesting Star Arvizo, in addition to Gavin Arvizo? In the statement of probable cause, he claimed to have been molested while riding a golf cart. Wouldn’t Sneddon want to use as many accusers as possible against Jackson?

    6. Why did the start date of the alleged crimes suddenly shift by almost 2 weeks, and the end date shift by 2 days?

    7. Why would Michael Jackson begin to molest Gavin and Star only AFTER the documentary aired? Why didn’t he molest them between 2000 and 2002?

    8. Why would Michael Jackson begin to molest Gavin and Star AFTER he hired Mark Geragos in early February 2003? Why would he hire a lawyer to defend him for a crime that he had not committed yet?

    If Michael Jackson was as guilty as you claim he was, then answering those questions should be a piece of cake!

    Thank you!

    • Alethea says:

      I am much too busy with more important issues than to answer your questions. If you want someone to answer them for you, please look elsewhere. This isn’t a MJ oriented Blog. The problem of child sexual abuse is too urgent than to spend my time on MJ.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Ana says:

    i agree that people who seem like “good” people, and famous celebrities who are beloved worldwide, can have secret lives and do horrible things like molesting children. I would never deny that. But if there’s something worse than molesting a child, it’s falsely accusing an innocent person of molesting a child, which destroys their entire life forever.

    I’ve researched Michael Jackson very, very thoroughly, and very objectively, including all the allegations, all the evidence, all the testimony, and all the facts. I discovered that MJ was innocent, and that the media had lied, twisted, exaggerated and distorted everything for ratings and money. It’s so blatantly clear and obvious that Michael Jackson was never guilty of child molesting, and it’s tragic that the public is not aware of the true facts in evidence.

    You mentioned the scene in Martin Bashir’s documentary in which Gavin Arvizo was sitting close to MJ and squeezing his hand while resting his head on MJ’s shoulder. I agree, that looks weird. But, I understood it when I saw another video of Gavin Arvizo sitting very close to his mother, squeezing her hand, and resting his head on her shoulder in EXACTLY the same way he did to Michael Jackson. Gavin Arvizo did that with people he loved and trusted, probably because he had spent a couple of years fighting cancer, afraid of death, and enduring chemo, which made him kind of clingy and childlike for his age.

    • Alethea says:

      I watched every minute of every day of that trial, and I have also read and researched the case. I have also been sexually abused as a child, and have read and researched child sexual abuse for over 14 years. I come to a different conclusion than yourself.

      If it had been any other 44 year-old man who was trying to look like a woman, holding the hand of a young boy…….. and having children over for sleepovers in his bedroom, you would be screaming to have those children protected. But because it was Michael Jackson, you defend him.

      • CHERYL WILSON says:

        OOPS I keep getting a response so here goes…. NO ONE CAN BE 100% TRUSTED!!! A sad statement but think about it! I was once told child abuse was no different now than many, many yrs ago but because of Media, Computers etc we hear more about it. My problem with this is we live in a different time, people are taking different drugs, our elements I feel have caused different mental problems, try to find a safe town or city to live in, we have such a greater population that alone causes crime to go up!
        There are three sides to every story, what you see, what the other person sees, then what actually happened….

  4. stacy says:

    I applaud your bravery. Denial. I like the change on your sign.

    I’ve gotten my hand slapped for using the phrase “a child doesn’t lie” in sexual abuse cases. But I will stand by it probably 99% of the time.
    What those that have never lived through that don’t seem to realize is how HARD it is for a young person, a child, to make those very graphic words come out of their mouth. To speak the words “my father put his tongue in my mouth, my father put his penis in my butt,…..” those words are so hard to SAY OUT LOUD. It feels and taste so dirty, and is so embarrassing.
    A child BRAVE enough to SPEAK is rarely the LIAR.

    Again. You are brave.

    P.S. did you ever hear the little ditty about MJ right after he died? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tVACUjHn6yU It’s a good one.

    Hate that pedo freak.

    • aletheamarinanova says:

      Stacy, I watched this video for a few minutes but it seemed only to call the media hypocrites. It seemed very pro-Jackson.

      • stacy says:

        I didn’t see/hear it as pro-jackson. I took from it that Jackson was a freak, portrayed as a freak by the media and marketed as a freak. He was a big joke for comedians, etc.,…. but once he died he was lifted up in glory and declared untouchable.

        I thought it was calling all the dead-Michael-love hypocritical.

  5. Cheryl Wilson says:

    Who knows? But maybe they are safer! It sure did not look or sound good for Michael! Living on the Central Coast and close to Never Land ya tend to of seen a lot…

    • CHERYL WILSON says:

      Beings I was sexually abused as a child by a family member, who by the way was a Fireman and respected! Its so hard to know if all are true? I do not see any child saying they were abused if they where not, whos to say if the Parents in MJ case didnt see the chance to make money? Each case is different! We need to realize this and take a great deal of time to not to dismiss each one! I myself, would not trust ANYONE with a child! As I said I was abused and thought I protected my sons 100% come to find out when my youngest turned 18 I was told my sisters husband molested him! When I asked WHY I wasnt told? They both said because they KNEW I would of killed the man!!! But back to MJ hes now gone but would I of trusted him with one of my Grandson`s the answer is NO, he was so strange besides the accusations!

      • Alethea says:

        Hi Cheryl. It’s good to see you commenting again 🙂

        MJ paid off his first accuser. No innocent man pays off a guilty person falsely accusing them of child sexual abuse. MJ’s first accuser’s mother testified that MJ slept with her boy every night for a year. She testified that MJ begged her to allow it, and paid her off with jewelry and gifts.

        The MJ jury was as stupid as the Casey Anthony jury.

  6. Carol in VA says:

    Just a small comment to applaud you. So many people need to worship these icons. If MJ was innocent he sure did look guilty. Something was wrong and I think there was truth to the charges.

    • aletheamarinanova says:

      Thank you Carol!

    • Cheryl Wilson says:

      Thank you Carol, it seems when ANYONE makes a statement about MJ or OJ and its not in the possitive then we are a rasist! When in fact we are not, I read OJ~S written confession on how he killed his wife and Ron and the Sheriff who let me read it was not only black but his wifes sister (who I worked with`s)sister babysat OJ`S older children! He confessed and gave full detail, but because hes a celeb, just like Michael was then the Media came forward and Money walks and money talks!
      Because I feel the punishment should fit the crime, then Im considered a person whos against the innocent, I will fight for the innocent just as hard or strong as I fight for the Victims, and the innocent children! Thanks Cheryl

      • Cheryl Wilson says:

        PS. that confession by OJ was tossed out when he fired his attorney then and hired the dream team…
        Thats the ONLY reason it was never made public!!!

    • CHERYL WILSON says:

      I agree with you!!! And now that MJ is gone we may NEVER KNOW the TRUTH! Yes he looked and acted guilty, and there was a great deal of problems with him, but can we trust anyone? NO!!! Sad to say but how can we?

Comments are closed.