Jerry and Dottie Sandusky Call Themselves Victims in Letters to Judge

Two weeks before the judge sentenced Jerry Sandusky to thirty years, Sandusky and his wife, Dottie, wrote a letter trying to influence the judge about how much time Jerry should spend in prison.

“I was supposed to be David but failed to pick up the sling shot. Goliath won, and I must deal with the outcome. Just like preparing for an athletic contest, I am trying to prepare for what comes.”

Sandusky also said in the letters that he virtually blamed his adopted son, Matt, for his conviction. He said that when Matt “switched sides,” Sandusky gave up his plan to defend himself on the stand.

Sandusky wrote: “My trust in people, systems and fairness has diminished. In my heart I know I did not do these disgusting acts. However, I didn’t tell the jury. Our son changed our plans when he switched sides.”

This is an admission of guilt in my mind. “In his heart” he didn’t commit the crimes?

An innocent person knows damn well they did not commit the crime charged against them. A guilty person says, “in my heart I didn’t do it.” This means that a person “feels” they did nothing wrong, but knows that society considers their acts as criminal.

Perpetrators of children often say, “He liked it,” or, “I was only helping her to get used to having sex,” or “He wanted it; he came to me, so it was okay in my mind.”

Dottie Sandusky joined her husband in the letter by stating the couple were victims of a “mass conspiracy.”

Dottie wrote about Matt Sandusky:

“People need to know what kind of person he is. We have forgiven him many times for all he has done to our family, thinking that he was changing his life, but he would always go back to his stealing and lies….He has been diagnose (sic) Bipolar, but he refuses to take his medicine.”

In 1996, Matt took an aspirin overdose, thought to be an attempted suicide. Matt, who was once a part of the Second Mile program, is now legally represented by the law firm handling the other cases of sexual abuse perpetrated by Jerry Sandusky.

Did Dottie ever consider the fact that stealing, lying, bipolar disorder, and suicide attempts are all linked to child sexual abuse?

The letters the couple addressed to Judge John Cleland, which have now been made public, tried to paint all the boys Sandusky abused as emotionally scarred liars from unstable homes. Instead of apologising or offering any kind of defence, the disgraced coach and his wife claimed to be victims of a huge conspiracy across Penn State University, the justice system and the media.

“I spent many hours reliving this ordeal. I looked at me, my vulnerability, my naivety (some say stupidity), and my trust in people.

There were so many people involved in the orchestration of this conviction (media, investigators, prosecutors, ‘the system’, Penn State, and the accusers). It was well done. They won!

What would be the outcome if all the accusers and their families who were investigated? All their issues would surface. They would no longer be these poor, innocent people as portrayed. I have been blamed for all of their failures and shortcomings… Nobody mentioned the impact of abandonment, neglect, abuse, insecurity and conflicting messages that the biological parents might have had in this.” ~Jerry Sandusky

Read: ‘If those boys had good parents and lots of love and attention growing up, then I would not have been able to groom them into becoming my victims.’

______________________________________________________________________________________________
This entry was posted in Child Abuse, child molestation, child sexual abuse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jerry and Dottie Sandusky Call Themselves Victims in Letters to Judge

  1. Casey says:

    That evil wife should be in prison with her husband. I have a feeling she knew and was also getting some sort of perverse gratification from it. If he were my husband, I’d have left him, if I was truly innocent, and tell him to take his punishment for his crimes.

    But they do come from a time where things were kept hush-hush and children with all sorts of problems were shipped off to mental institutions, or, in my dad’s case with his ADHD, military school.

  2. little nel says:

    This is so typical of perps. No compassion for the child victims, only false confessions of how they feel so cheated and so bad because they were unjustly “used” by other people and didn’t realize it until it was too late.

    “In my heart, I know that I did not do these disgusting acts”

    Oh, please, Jerry, you have proven time and time again that you don’t have a heart. You are a fake, a fraud, and a manipulative monster, who believes that little boys are suitable lovers for you so anything you do to them in secret is OK.

  3. shanakd9 says:

    They make me want to puke, what monsters! What gall, sounds so familiar! They turn themselves into victims.

Comments are closed.